
K-12—Education Appropriations and Other Provisions; House Sub. for SB 387

House Sub.  for  SB 387  makes appropriations  for  the Kansas State Department  of 
Education (KSDE) for  FY 2024,  FY 2025,  and FY 2026;  makes adjustments to the Kansas 
School Equity and Enhancement Act (KSEEA); establishes the Education Funding Task Force; 
repeals authorization for the Special Education and Related Services Funding Task Force; and 
amends various provisions of law related to K-12 education. 

Appropriations for FY 2024, FY 2025, and FY 2026 

The bill makes the following appropriations for KSDE.

FY 2024

For KSDE, the bill:

● Lapses  $714,470  from  the  State  General  Fund  (SGF)  in the  Kansas  Public 
Employees Retirement System (KPERS) non-USDs account;

● Lapses $341 SGF from the KPERS USDs account;

● Lapses $81.9 million SGF from the State Foundation Aid account;

● Lapses $14.6 million SGF from the Supplemental State Aid account; 

● Lapses $40,000 SGF from the Career Technical Education Pilot account; 

● Lapses $300,000 SGF from the Juvenile Transitional Crisis Center Pilot account; 
and

● Adds $87,297 SGF to accommodate the pay plan shortfall.

With these changes, the appropriation for FY 2024 is $6.7 billion, including $4.6 billion 
SGF.

FY 2025

For  KSDE,  the bill  appropriates $6.6 billion,  including $4.9 billion SGF. This  amount 
includes $5.8 billion,  including $4.9 billion SGF,  for  the major  categories of  school  finance, 
KPERS USDs, and KPERS non-USDs.

State General Fund. Appropriations from the SGF include the following:

● $15.2 million for operating expenditures;
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● $80,000 for the Center for READing;

● $25.2 million for KPERS non-USDs;

● $506.3 million for KPERS USDs;

● $2.8 million for the ACT and WorkKeys Assessments Program;

● $1.5 million for Career and Technical Education Transportation;

● $67,700 for Education Commission of the States dues;

● $10,000 for the School Safety Hotline;

● $5.0 million for School Safety and Security Grants;

● $5.1 million for School District  Juvenile Detention Facilities and Flint Hills Job 
Corps Center Grants;

● $2.5 million for school food assistance;

● $2.0 million for the Virtual Math Education program;

● $1.3 million for the Mentor Teacher program;

● $110,000  for  Educable  Deaf-Blind  and  Severely  Handicapped  Children’s 
Program Aid;

● $65.5 million for Special Education Services Aid;

● $360,693 for the Governor’s Teaching Excellence Scholarships and Awards;

● $29.6 million for State Foundation Aid;

● $1.8 million for Professional Development State Aid; and

● $1.0 million for the Computer Science Education Advancement Grant.

Special revenue funds.  The bill also appropriates funding from fee funds and several 
no-limit special revenue funds, including federal funds. The bill appropriates the following from 
the Children’s Initiative Fund (CIF):

● $375,000 for the Children’s Cabinet Accountability Fund;
● $23.7 million for CIF grants;
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● $9.4 million for the Parent Education program (i.e., Parents as Teachers);
● $4.2 million for the Pre-K Pilot program;
● $1.4 million for early childhood infrastructure;
● $1.5 million for the Dolly Parton Imagination Library; and
● $5.0 million for the Children’s Cabinet Public-Private Partnership Pilot program.

In addition, the bill appropriates $276,533 from the Kansas Endowment for Youth (KEY) 
Fund for the administration of the Children’s Cabinet. It also appropriates $42.8 million from the 
Expanded Lottery Act Revenues Fund (ELARF) for KPERS non-USDs.

Transfers. The bill provides for the following transfers:

● $50,000 on July 1, 2024, or as soon as moneys are available, from the Family 
and Children Trust Account of the Family and Children Investment Fund of KSDE 
to the SparkWheel program fund of KSDE;

● $550,000 on March 30, 2025, and $550,000 on June 30, 2025, from the State 
Safety Fund to the SGF to reimburse costs associated with services provided by 
other state agencies on behalf of KSDE;

● $81,250,  quarterly,  from  the  State  Highway  Fund  of  the  Department  of 
Transportation to the School Bus Safety Fund of KSDE;

● An  amount  certified  by  the  Commissioner  of  Education  from  the  Motorcycle 
Safety  Fund  of  KSDE to  the  Motorcycle  Safety  Fund  of  the  State  Board  of 
Regents on July 1, 2025, to cover costs of driver’s license programs conducted 
by community colleges;

● $70,000  from  the  Universal  Service  Administrative  Company  (USAC)  E-rate 
Program  Federal  Fund  of  the  State  Board  of  Regents  to  the  Education 
Technology Coordinator Fund of KSDE; and

● All moneys from the Communities in Schools program fund to the SparkWheel 
program fund,  on  July  1,  2024.  All  liabilities  of  the  Communities  in  Schools 
program  fund  will be  transferred  to  the  SparkWheel  program  fund,  and  the 
Communities  in  Schools  program  fund  will be  abolished.  [Note: Statutory 
provisions would be updated to reflect this change of reference; see Section 19.]

The  bill  authorizes  the  Commissioner  of  Education  to  transfer  any  part  of  an  SGF 
appropriation for KSDE to another SGF appropriation for KSDE for FY 2025.

Additional Provisions Regarding Appropriations in FY 2025

The bill includes proviso language directing certain FY 2025 expenditures. The bill also 
adds proviso language lapsing $65.5 million SGF in Special Education State Aid on July 1, 
2025, if the excess costs sections of the bill are not enacted into law. The bill also adds proviso 
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language that the $5.0 million CIF for the Children’s Cabinet public-private partnership is one-
time funding.

FY 2026

For KSDE, the bill appropriates the following from the SGF:

● $3.0 billion for State Foundation Aid;
● $601.8 million for Supplemental State Aid; and
● $601.0 million for Special Education State Aid.

The bill authorizes expenditures from the State School District Finance Fund and the 
Mineral Production Education Fund.

Additional Provisions Regarding Appropriations in FY 2026

The bill includes proviso language directing certain FY 2026 expenditures.

Education Funding Task Force; Repeal of Special Education and Related Services 
Funding Task Force

The bill establishes the Education Funding Task Force, which will be required to review 
several elements associated with the current school finance system and academic reporting and 
achievement goals and to report recommendations to the Governor and the Legislature on or 
before January 11, 2027, that provide for the establishment of a new school finance formula to 
replace the formula (Kansas School Equity and Enhancement Act [KSEEA]) that will expire on 
July 1, 2027. The bill also repeals authorization for the Special Education and Related Services 
Funding Task Force.

Membership and Appointments

The  bill  establishes  the  Education  Funding  Task  Force  (Task  Force),  which  will  be 
composed of the following 11 voting members:

● Two members of the House of Representatives appointed by the Speaker of the 
House;

● One member of the House of Representatives appointed by the Minority Leader 
of the House of Representatives;

● Two members of the Senate appointed by the President of the Senate;

● One member of the Senate appointed by the Minority Leader of the Senate;

● One member of the State Board appointed by the State Board;
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● One member who must be a parent of  a K-12 student  who attends a school 
district in Kansas, appointed by the Speaker of the House;

● One member who must be a current or retired public school teacher, appointed 
by the President of the Senate;

● One member who must be a superintendent of a rural school district, appointed 
by the State Board; and

● One  member  who  must  be  a  superintendent  of  an  urban  school  district, 
appointed by the State Board.

The bill  specifies that  any superintendent  member of  the Task Force is  permitted to 
designate another individual to attend any or all meetings of the Task Force as the member’s 
designee.

Ex officio, non-voting members. The bill also provides for four non-voting ex officio 
members of the Task Force:

● The  KSDE  Deputy  Commissioner  of  Fiscal  and  Administrative  Services  or 
designee;

● The chairperson of the Kansas Children’s Cabinet or designee;

● The Director of the Budget or designee; and 

● The KSDE Director of Special Education and Title Services or designee.

Review of School Finance System

The bill requires the Task Force to review the:

● Current  school  finance  system  in  Kansas  including,  but  not  limited  to,  the 
KSEEA;

● Current methods for determining and disbursing Special Education State Aid;

● Inputs of the current school finance system, including, but not limited to, funding 
levels, funding sources, and funding impacts;

● Outputs  of  the  current  school  finance  system,  including,  but  not  limited  to, 
academic achievement outcomes and other measures of student success;

● Current academic reporting requirements with respect to state assessments and 
student achievements; and
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● Achievement  goals  established  by  KSDE  in  the  Consolidated  State  Plan 
submitted to the U.S. Department of Education pursuant to the Elementary and 
Secondary Education Act of 1965, as amended by the Every Student Succeeds 
Act, including, but not limited to, the goal to have 75 percent of all students and 
student subgroups achieve proficiency on the statewide assessments in English 
language arts (ELA) and mathematics by 2030, which has been defined by the 
State  Board  as  requiring  students  to  score  in  performance  levels  3  and  4 
combined on such assessments.

Reporting of Recommendations

The bill requires the Task Force to prepare and submit a report to the Legislature and the 
Governor  on  or  before  January  11,  2027.  The  bill  requires  the  report  to  include 
recommendations regarding:

● The establishment of a school finance formula that will replace the KSEEA after 
its  expiration.  When  making  such  recommendations,  the  Task  Force  will be 
required to pursue the following goals for a school finance formula:

○ The formula shall be reasonably calculated to have all students meet or 
exceed the education goal established in KSA 72-3218(c) [Note: This goal 
is also known as the Rose capacities; this statute lists subjects and areas 
of instruction to be designated by the State Board to achieve the goal 
established  by  the  Legislature  to  meet  the  graduation  requirements 
adopted by the State Board];

○ The  formula  shall  provide  adequate,  consistent,  and  reliable  school 
funding;

○ The formula shall provide equitable school funding; and

○ The formula shall provide meaningful accountability measures;

● Whether revisions to the current methods for determining and disbursing Special 
Education State Aid are advisable or necessary; and

● Any other recommendations related to school finance.

Designation of Chairperson; Quorum; Meeting Information

The bill requires Task Force members to be appointed on or before November 30, 2024. 
The bill further requires, in even-numbered years, the Task Force chairperson to be designated 
by the Speaker of the House and the vice-chairperson to be designated by the President of the 
Senate. In odd-numbered years, the chairperson will be designated by the President, and the 
vice-chairperson will be designated by the Speaker of the House. The bill  provides that any 
vacancy in the Task Force membership will be filled in the same manner prescribed for that 
member’s original appointment.
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The bill states that a quorum for the Task Force is six voting members. All actions of the 
Task Force are permitted to be taken by a majority of members present when there is a quorum. 
If  the  meeting  is  approved  by  the  Legislative  Coordinating  Council  (LCC),  the  Task  Force 
members will be paid for expenses, mileage, and subsistence as provided in a statute governing 
board member compensation (KSA 75-3223(e)). The Task Force is permitted to meet at any 
time and any place within the state upon the call of its chairperson.

The  bill  also  provides  that  the  staff  of  the  Office  of  Revisor  of  Statutes,  Legislative 
Research  Department,  and  Division  of  Legislative  Administrative  Services  will  provide 
assistance as requested by the Task Force.

The Task Force provisions of the bill expire on July 1, 2027.

Special Education Excess Costs; Determination and Formula 

The bill amends and creates law governing the excess costs formula for K-12 education 
Special Education State Aid by requiring school districts to transfer the funding attributable to 
the  special  education  funding within  the  district’s  local  option  budget  (LOB)  to  the  district’s 
special education and related services fund; determine each individual school district’s excess 
costs,  using  the  same calculation  methodology  as  for  statewide  excess  costs;  report  each 
school district’s excess costs amount and publish these amounts on the KSDE website; and 
provide an annual report to the designated legislative committees on or before January 31 of 
each year detailing the individual school district’s excess costs and how the Special Education 
State Aid will be distributed.

Excess Cost Determination

The bill  creates law requiring KSDE to determine each school district’s  excess costs 
before  distributing  Special  Education  State  Aid.  The  process  for  determining  each  school 
district’s excess costs will be the following:

● Calculate weighted full-time equivalent (FTE) students without At-Risk, Bilingual, 
Career Technical Education, Special Education, and Transportation weightings;

● Multiply the weighted FTE by BASE (base aid for student excellence);

● Divide this sum by unweighted FTE to find general education aid per student;

● Calculate Special Education FTE enrolled;

● Multiply  the  general  education  aid  per  student  by  the  number  of  Special 
Education FTE students;

● Multiply  the  product  immediately  above by  the  school  district’s  LOB authority 
percentage;
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● Add the two previous amounts together for total general education funding for 
Special Education students;

● Calculate federal aid for Special Education;

● Calculate Medicaid and state hospitals funding for Special Education students;

● Add total general education funding for Special Education students, federal aid, 
and Medicaid and state hospitals funding together for the total deductions;

● Calculate estimated special education and related services expenditures; and

● Subtract total deductions from estimated special education and related services 
expenditures to determine Total Excess Costs.

The bill also directs the State Board to assign the costs of providing special education 
and related services by interlocal agreements or as members of cooperatives to each school 
district based upon the expenditures of a school district in comparison to the expenditures of all 
school districts within the interlocal or cooperative.

The bill also requires the State Board to annually:

● Report each school district’s excess costs to the school district;

● Publish the excess costs determinations on the KSDE website; and

● Prepare and submit a report to the House Committee on K-12 Education Budget 
and Senate Committee on Education that includes school district excess costs 
and the Special Education distribution schedule.

Determination of State Aid for the Provision of Special Education

The bill modifies how statewide Special Education State Aid is determined as follows:

● Calculate  weighted  FTE  student  enrollment  as  provided  on  the  Legal  Max 
calculation from the KSDE without At-Risk, Bilingual, Career Technical Education, 
Special Education, and Transportation weightings;

● Multiply weighted FTE by BASE;

● Divide product by unweighted FTE to find general education aid per student;

● Calculate Special Education FTE enrolled;
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● Multiply  the  general  education  aid  per  student  by  the  number  of  Special 
Education FTE;

● Multiply the product by the statewide average LOB authority percentage;

● Add  the  two  previous  steps  together  for  total  general  education  funding  for 
Special Education students;

● Calculate federal aid;

● Calculate Medicaid and state hospitals funding;

● Add total general education funding for Special Education students, federal aid, 
and Medicaid and state hospitals funding together for the total deductions;

● Calculate estimated Special Education expenditures;

● Subtract total deductions from estimated Special Education expenditures for total 
excess costs; and

● Multiply total excess costs by 92.0 percent.

Appropriation and distribution; maintenance of effort. The bill amends law governing 
Special Education State Aid and its computation to require the Legislature to appropriate at least 
$601.0 million for special education for FY 2025 and every fiscal year thereafter. The bill also 
requires the State Board to distribute $528.0 million, as was approved for FY 2024, based upon 
the  statewide  distribution  system continuing  in  law  and  creates  an  equalization  distribution 
schedule  for  any  Special  Education  State  Aid  appropriated  above  the  $528.0  million  and 
distribute the difference under the State Board’s distribution system.

Local Option Budget

The bill amends law governing School District State Aid and the LOB to require  each 
school district to transfer a portion of its LOB fund to the district’s special education fund. This 
amount would be proportionally equal to the amount of the school district’s Total Foundation Aid 
that is attributable to the special education weighting.

At-Risk Accountability Plan and Improvement Goals, Reporting

The bill establishes requirements for school districts, starting in school year 2024-2025 
for school districts selected for a two-year pilot program and in 2026-2027 for all school districts, 
to  establish  at-risk  student  accountability  plans  and  annually  report  on  at-risk  student 
performance and show longitudinal  academic improvement  for  those students.  The bill  also 
amends law governing a school district’s at-risk education fund and reporting to the State Board 
to require the State Board to publish an online at-risk best practices resource list instead of 
publishing a list of approved evidence-based best practices; removes authorization of at-risk 
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funds for provisional at-risk programs; adds and modifies existing definitions, including “above 
and  beyond”  and  “evidence-based  instruction”; requires summary  reporting  to  legislative 
committees; and prohibits the State Board from revising or updating the ELA or mathematics 
curriculum standards until the state meets the State Board’s goal of having 75.0 percent of all 
students score levels 3 or 4 on the ELA and mathematics assessments.

At-Risk Accountability Plan

The bill requires each participating school district to create and annually submit an at-
risk  accountability  plan  to  the  State  Board,  starting  in  school  year  2024-2025  for  the  pilot 
program (and in school year 2026-2027 for the statewide program). The bill requires the plan to:

● Demonstrate the use of evidence-based instruction for at-risk students; 

● Measure longitudinal academic progress in a quantitative manner;

● Establish  and  meet  the  quantitative  student  improvement  goals  for  certain 
identified student cohort groups;

● Ensure that at-risk education fund moneys are expended in accordance with law 
by providing services above and beyond regular education services; and

● Continue  the  process  of  identifying  certain  student  cohort  groups  (described 
below)  and  providing  evidence-based  instruction  above  and  beyond  that  of 
regular education to such identified cohort groups until the school districts meet 
the State Board’s goal of having 75.0 percent of all students score levels 3 or 4 
on the ELA and mathematics state assessments.

Quantitative Measures

The bill requires the quantitative measures approved by the State Board to include only 
the following:

● ELA and mathematics state assessments;
● A formative assessment approved by the State Board;
● A summative assessment approved by the State Board; or
● The ACT or ACT WorkKeys assessments.

Student Cohort Groups; Pilot Program

The bill requires each participating school district, beginning in school year 2024-2025 
for the pilot  program (described below) and in school year 2026-2027 for all  school districts 
(including those participating in the pilot program), to have two student cohort groups for its at-
risk accountability program. 
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Pilot  program  for  select  school  districts;  State  Board  of  Education. The  bill 
establishes a two-year pilot  program, commencing in school year 2024-2025, for ten school 
districts selected by the State Board for participation in the at-risk accountability plan program 
and cohort group metrics and reporting specified in the bill. The bill requires the State Board to 
select  a diverse array of  school  districts with consideration given to a school district’s  size, 
location, student demographics, and level of staff participation and prior training in the science 
of reading. 

Requirements for the cohort groups for both the pilot program and statewide program 
include:

● One cohort group will be in 3rd grade and an additional cohort group will be from 
any other grade K-8;

● One cohort group will be free lunch unless such cohort group is fewer than ten 
students, in which case another cohort group may be chosen;

● The other cohort group could be any cohort group used for state assessment 
purposes or at-risk students under the at-risk criteria;

● Each cohort group will have two, three, or four targeted supports or interventions 
chosen by the school district. The bill requires these supports or interventions to 
be chosen from the State Board’s list of approved at-risk educational programs;

● Evaluations for the 3rd grade cohort group will be on two quantitative measures, 
one of which would be the ELA and mathematics state assessments and the 
other will be from the list of approved quantitative measures; and

● Evaluations for the other cohort group will be on two quantitative measures, one 
of which would be the ELA and mathematics state assessments if the grade will 
take the assessments, and the other will be from the list of approved quantitative 
measures.  If  no  state  assessments  are  being  taken,  the  bill  requires  both 
measures to be from the list of approved quantitative measures.

Longitudinal Study

The bill  requires  each school  district  to  conduct  a four-year  or  five-year  longitudinal 
evaluation of each cohort group in ELA and mathematics. Each school district is directed to 
establish a quantitative goal for each cohort group and track the progress of the two cohort 
groups using state assessment scores and an additional goal chosen by the school district to 
determine whether the goals are being met or exceeded. Additionally, the school districts will not 
be able to revise the stated quantitative goals once set.

The bill also requires each school district to continue the practice of identifying cohort 
groups and providing evidence-based instruction to those cohort groups until the school district 
achieves the State Board’s goal of having 75.0 percent of all students score a level 3 or 4 on the 
state assessments for ELA and mathematics.
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Failure to Achieve Stated Goals

The bill  outlines consequences for the failure to achieve the goals set by the school 
district. Beginning in school year 2030-2031, these consequences will include:

● If the cohort group did not meet or exceed the goals, the State Board will  be 
required  to  deem  the  school  district  as  not  meeting  at-risk  improvement 
requirements on the district’s at-risk student achievement report published on the 
State Board’s website. This determination would remain until a new cohort group 
in the applicable starting grade level meets or exceeds the goals;

● If  the cohort  group did not meet or exceed the quantitative goals in the initial 
evaluation period, the school district will have one more year to further evaluate 
that cohort group’s progress;

● If  one cohort  group fails  to meet  or  exceed the goals  at  the end of  the one 
additional school year, the school district will not be entitled to receive the full 
amount of state aid attributable to the at-risk and high-density at-risk weightings. 
Instead, the school district would receive half of the BASE aid increase plus the 
prior year’s BASE aid amount for the at-risk and high-density at-risk weightings 
for funding purposes; and

● If  both cohort  groups fail  to meet  or  exceed the goals  at  the end of  the one 
additional school year, the at-risk and high-density at-risk weightings would use 
the prior year’s BASE aid amount for funding purposes.

Reporting by School Districts to the State Board of Education

The bill requires each school district to annually report to the State Board the following 
information:

● The school district’s at-risk accountability plan;

● Current progress on achieving the at-risk accountability plan;

● A report  of  the expenditures made from the school  district’s  at-risk  education 
fund, which must be submitted:

○ In  school  years  2024-2025  and  2025-2026  by  the  school  districts 
participating in the pilot program; and

○ In school year 2026-2027 and each subsequent school year, by all school 
districts;

● An  estimate  of  whether  the  school  district  expects  to  meet  or  exceed  the 
longitudinal academic improvement goals established by the school district;
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● The  at-risk  programs,  services,  resources,  and  targeted  support  and 
interventions from the list  of  approved programs that  are used by the school 
district to provide evidence-based services above and beyond regular education 
services;

● The number of at-risk students identified and served; and

● The data and research the school district used to determine the at-risk programs 
and services.

The bill also permits each school district to submit a narrative with the district’s at-risk 
student achievement report.

For  the  statewide  program,  the  bill  requires  the  State  Board  to  publish  information 
reported  by  school  districts  on  the  KSDE  website,  underneath  a  link  titled  “accountability 
reports.” Each school district is also be required to provide the individual school district’s at-risk 
accountability plan on the school district’s website.

Reporting by the Kansas State Department of Education to the Legislature

The bill requires KSDE to prepare and submit a summary of the reports from the school 
districts  to  the  House  Committee  on  K-12  Education  Budget  and  Senate  Committee  on 
Education on or before January 31 each year.

Expenditures of At-Risk Funding

The bill amends law pertaining to at-risk funding to require provisional at-risk programs 
to be subject to school district review while the program is implemented to evaluate whether the 
program is producing or is likely to produce measurable success and, if the program satisfies 
the  State  Board’s  requirements,  it  will  be  added  to  the  list  of  approved  at-risk  educational 
programs.

The bill further provides if the State Board removes any program or service from its list, a 
school district that is implementing such program or service may apply to the State Board to 
continue to make expenditures from the district’s at-risk education fund to continue to implement 
such  program  or  service.  The  bill  directs  the  State  Board,  when  considering  a  district’s 
application to continue such program or service, to require a district to demonstrate that either of 
the following improvements are directly attributable to the program or service:

● Academic improvement in either mathematics or ELA has occurred; or

● There has been an improvement in attendance, college and career readiness 
measures, or the education climate through a showing of a measurable decrease 
in  detentions,  expulsions,  tardiness,  or  other  behavioral  issues  that  hinder 
student learning.

The bill amends and establishes definitions for terms including:
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● “Above and beyond,” to mean an at-risk education program or evidence-based 
instruction or practice that is provided in excess of regular educational services 
and based on the  needs of  students  identified  as  at-risk  and may provide a 
collateral  benefit  to  students  who  are  not  identified  as  at-risk  without  any 
additional costs;

● “At-risk  educational  program,”  to  mean  an  at-risk  program  or  service  that  is 
identified  and  approved  by  the  State  Board  as  providing  evidence-based 
instruction to students who are identified as eligible to receive at-risk programs 
and services above and beyond regular educational services;

● “Evidence-based instruction,” to mean an education delivery practice based on 
peer-reviewed research that consistently produces better student outcomes over 
a one-year period than would otherwise be achieved by the same students who 
are identified as eligible for at-risk programs and services; and

● “Provisional at-risk educational program,” to mean an education delivery practice 
that is identified or developed by a school district as a program or service that is:

○ Provided to  students  who are  eligible  to  receive  at-risk  programs and 
services above and beyond regular educational services;

○ Producing or is likely to produce better student outcomes;

○ Subject  to  school  district  review  to  evaluate  whether  such  program 
provides evidence-based instruction; and

○ Placed on the State Board’s list of approved at-risk educational programs 
if  the  provisional  at-risk  educational  program  is  shown  to  provide 
evidence-based instruction to students who are identified as eligible for 
at-risk programs and services.

Maintaining Current ELA and Mathematics Standards

The bill amends statewide assessment law to prohibit the State Board from substantially 
revising or updating ELA or mathematics standards in effect as of July 1, 2024, in a manner that 
would require developing new statewide assessments in ELA or mathematics subject areas until 
the Board’s goal of having 75 percent of all students score a level 3 or 4 combined on the ELA 
and mathematics state assessments by 2030 is met.

School District Open Enrollment, Priorities

The bill creates law supplemental to open enrollment provisions in the KSEEA to require 
school districts to give priority to non-resident students who reside in Kansas over non-resident 
students from another state, except in certain circumstances, provides for continued enrollment 
for non-resident students in a school district until the student graduates from high school, and 
amends the timeline for applications and responses by school districts to applying students.
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The bill also specifies that neither the resident or receiving school district is responsible 
for  transportation unless required by applicable law, excludes virtual  schools  from the open 
enrollment  statutes,  directs  the  Legislative  Post  Audit  Committee  to  call  for  audits  of  non-
resident student transfers only if certain committees request such audit, modifies the definition 
of “non-resident student,” and requires student transfer policy revisions to be published on a 
school district’s website.

Non-resident Open Enrollment Priority

The bill requires school district boards of education to prioritize non-resident students 
who reside in Kansas for open enrollment applications. If there are open seats in the school 
district after the Kansas non-residents have applied for a transfer, then students from outside 
Kansas will be permitted to apply for those remaining open spots. The bill includes an exception 
for certain students who are residents of other states: if a parent, or person acting as a parent, 
is employed by the school district, that student would be allowed to enroll and attend said school 
district without going through open enrollment.

The bill also amends the open enrollment application period for the next school year to 
be between January 1 of the preceding school year and June 15th of such school year. It also 
adds July 30 of each school year as the last day for school districts to notify parents of the 
reason for non-acceptance or denial of a non-resident student.

The bill  also provides that any student enrolled as a non-resident in a school district 
during the school year 2023-2024 will be permitted to continue their enrollment and attendance 
in that school district as long as the student is deemed to be in good standing. Such students 
would not be required to go through the lottery process to remain enrolled at the school district 
in  the 2024-2025 school year.  These provisions apply to both students who are enrolled in 
schools outside their school district and for students who are enrolled in a different school within 
their school district instead of their school of residency in the 2023-2024 school year. The bill 
also clarifies that a non-resident student who is deemed to be not in good standing could be 
denied enrollment or continued enrollment in the school district.

Additionally, the bill specifies that neither the receiving nor the resident school district of 
a  non-resident  student  is required to provide transportation to the student  unless otherwise 
required  by  applicable  law  and  would  exclude  virtual  schools  from  the  open  enrollment 
requirements.

The  bill  amends  law  requiring  that  the  Legislative  Post  Audit  Committee  direct  the 
Legislative Division of Post Audit (LPA) to conduct an audit of non-resident student transfers in 
calendar year 2027 to instead state the Legislative Post Audit Committee would direct LPA to 
perform this  review in  2027 upon the request  of  the  House Committee on K-12 Education 
Budget or the Senate Committee on Education.

The  bill  also  requires  student  transfer  policy  and  any  revisions  to  the  policy  to  be 
published on a school district’s website. The bill also changes the definition of “non-resident 
student” to specify that it is a child of school age pursuant to school attendance requirements in 
law (KSA 72-3118) who resides in Kansas and wishes to attend a school located in a school 
district where the student is not a resident.
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School District Building Closure and Land Acquisition Process

The  bill  amends  law  governing  the  disposal  of  a  school  district  building  and  the 
procedures  and  notification  requirements  on  school  district  boards  of  education  seeking  to 
dispose of  or  sell  a school  district  building.  The bill  also modifies the definition of  a  school 
“building.”

Definition of Building

The bill defines “building” to mean any building that was used in any prior school year as 
an attendance center for students enrolled in K-12.

Notice of Disposition; Legislature’s Right of First Refusal

Legislative process. Under continuing law, a school district is required to submit written 
notice to the Legislature when the school district intends to dispose of a school district building. 
If such notice is received during the regular legislative session, the Legislature has 45 days to 
adopt a concurrent resolution stating its intention for the State to acquire the building. When the 
Legislature is not in regular session, the law provides the Legislature has 45 days from the 
beginning of the next regular session to declare its intent. If the Legislature does not adopt a 
concurrent resolution within the applicable 45-day period, the school district  is  authorized to 
proceed with disposition of the building.

The bill provides that when the Legislature is not in regular session, the LCC, within 45 
days of receiving notice to the Legislature, may deny the legislative option specified in law to 
acquire  the  school  district  building.  If  the  LCC denies  the  legislative  option,  the  provisions 
pertaining to adoption of a concurrent resolution and a state agency’s completion of acquisition 
of  the  building  will  not  apply,  and  the  school  district  would  be  permitted  to  proceed  with 
disposing of the building in accordance with state law.

Further, if  the LCC does not deny the legislative option within the 45-day period, the 
Legislature would have 45 days from the commencement of the next regular session to adopt a 
concurrent resolution as prescribed in continuing law.

State agency acquiring the building pursuant to adopted concurrent resolution. 
Under continuing law, if the Legislature adopts a concurrent resolution within the 45-day period, 
the state agency named in the resolution has 180 days to complete the acquisition of the school 
district  building  and  take title  to  the  real  property.  Upon the  request  of  the  acquiring  state 
agency, the LCC is permitted to extend the 180-day period for a period of no more than 60 days.

The bill provides when the Legislature does not adopt a concurrent resolution within the 
45-day period or when the state agency does not take title to the property within the 180-day 
period (or its extension), the school district board may dispose of the property in such manner 
and upon such terms and conditions as the school board deems to be in the best interest of the 
school district.
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Disposition of School Buildings

Prohibition. The bill prohibits a school district board of education disposing of a building 
from refusing to sell, lease, or convey any interest in a building or property to a prospective 
buyer or lessee solely because the prospective buyer or lessee may use or intends to use the 
building or property as a nonpublic school building.

Virtual School State Aid Determinations; Adult Learners 

Virtual School State Aid, Ages 19 and Under

The bill changes the formula for determining Virtual Student State Aid as follows:

● Determine the number of FTE enrollment rather than the headcount of students 
enrolled in the virtual school, excluding those over the age of 19 who qualify for 
virtual school state aid and those who are 19 years or younger who qualify for 
virtual  school  state  aid  as  a  dropout  diploma  completion  virtual  student  and 
multiply that FTE count by $5,600;

● Determine  the  number  of  one-hour  credit  courses  reported  on  the  Kansas 
collection KCAN report for students who are 19 years  of age  or younger who 
qualify  for  virtual  school  state  aid  as  a  dropout  diploma  completion  virtual 
student, not to exceed 6 hours for each student, and multiple the total by $709; 
and

● Add the two amounts together to get Virtual Student State Aid.

For the purposes of funding, a virtual student who is a non-resident of Kansas will not be 
counted in the FTE enrollment of the virtual school. The bill requires the virtual school to record 
the permanent address of each student enrolled in the virtual school.

The bill  removes definitions for  “full-time”  and “part-time”  applicable  to  virtual  school 
students.

Virtual School State Aid Determination—Adult Learners

The bill amends provisions of the Virtual School Act to establish additional requirements 
related to the determination of Virtual School State Aid for adult learners. The bill requires the 
State Board, when determining Virtual School State Aid for certain adult students, to:

● Determine  the  number  of  one-hour  credit  courses  reported  on  the  Kansas 
collection  KCAN  report  that  students  have  passed  to  meet  the  minimum 
graduation  requirements  established  by  the  State  Board  of  the  local  school 
district board of education;

● Validate course completion using official student transcripts; and
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● Multiply the total number of courses by $709, not to exceed six credit courses per 
school year.

The bill prohibits the State Board from deducting any Virtual School State Aid for adult 
students and dropout diploma completion students for courses completed by students in the 
school year that precedes the school year in which such state aid is determined. The bill further 
provides that if the State Board does deduct any Virtual School State Aid, such deductions could 
only be made with respect to individual courses. The State Board will also be required to publish 
any  audit  methodology  used  to  determine  and  verify  Virtual  State  Aid  entitlements  on  its 
website.

Public School Financing System; Financing Resources

The bill updates a reference in the statute governing the public school financing system 
that  addresses  appropriations  to  programs  that  provide  individualized  support  to  students 
enrolled in unified school districts and assist with achievement of the goal stated in the statute 
addressing accredited schools and mandatory subjects and areas of instruction and educational 
capacities (Rose capacities).  The bill  also modifies one of  the three examples of  programs 
specified in the law to replace “Communities in Schools” with “SparkWheel.”

Virtual School Participation in KSHSAA Activities 

The bill permits a virtual student to participate in Kansas State High School Activities 
Association (KSHSAA) activities as long as the student:

● Is a resident of the school district;

● Is enrolled and attending a virtual school as defined in continuing law;

● Complies  with  health-related  requirements  (KSA  72-6262 and  amendments 
thereto);

● Meets applicable age and eligibility requirements set forth by KSHSAA;

● Pays any fees required by the school district for participation in such activity; and

● Seeks  to  participate  at  the  appropriate  school  within  the  school  district 
corresponding to where the student resides.

Enrollment 

A virtual student will not be required to enroll or attend a minimum number of courses at 
the resident school district unless the school district board has that requirement for all other 
students who participate in the activity.
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The bill also removes the July 1, 2023, sunset for provisions authorizing participation in 
KSHSAA activities by certain students.
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