
Child Death Records—Child Death Review Board and Coroner; HB 2629

HB 2629 amends provisions in law pertaining to the State Child Death Review Board 
(SCDRB or “Board”). The bill eliminates certain reporting requirements by a coroner involving 
the  investigation  and  autopsy  of  a  child  death  and  requires  the  Secretary  of  Health  and 
Environment to provide the SCDRB with a copy of the child’s death certificate. The bill also 
requires a coroner to immediately notify the parent or legal guardian that an autopsy of their 
child had been completed and to provide information on how to obtain the autopsy results.

The  bill  also  increases  SCDRB  membership,  outlines  its  responsibilities,  allows  for 
member compensation,  addresses the disclosure and maintenance of  SCDRB records,  and 
removes the limit on the SCDRB’s access to Department for Children and Families (DCF) and 
other social service agency records involving services provided to the child or the child’s family.

Coroner’s Report of a Child Death

The bill eliminates the requirement that a coroner complete and sign a nonsuspicious 
child death form if, after investigation and autopsy, the coroner determines the death of a child 
does not include any suspicious circumstances or unknown cause. 

The bill  also eliminates the requirement  that  a coroner  notify  the chairperson of  the 
SCDRB within 30 days after an investigation and autopsy determines that the death of a child 
includes  any  suspicious  circumstance  or  unknown  cause.  [Note:  The  requirement  that  the 
coroner notify the county or district attorney of the county where a child death involving any 
suspicious  circumstance  or  unknown  cause  occurred  within  24  hours  of  the  coroner’s 
investigation and autopsy remains in law.]

Parental Notification of Autopsy

The bill removes a requirement a coroner attempt to notify a parent or legal guardian of 
the results of the autopsy. Instead, once the autopsy is completed, the coroner is required to 
immediately notify the parent or legal guardian of its completion and provide information on how 
a parent or legal guardian may obtain the autopsy results.

Sudden Unexplained Infant Death Syndrome

The bill  replaces the term “sudden infant death syndrome” with “sudden unexplained 
infant death syndrome.” 

Death Certificate Provided to Board

The bill requires the Secretary of Health and Environment to provide the SCDRB with a 
copy of the child’s death certificate that meets the requirements developed by the SCDRB.

Kansas Legislative Research Department 1 2024 Summary of Legislation



Increase in Board Membership

The bill increases the number of members appointed to the SCDRB by the State Board 
of Healing Arts from three members to four. The bill increases the number of members who are 
physicians licensed to practice medicine and surgery from two members to three and requires 
that two of such members specialize in pediatrics.

Board Responsibilities

The bill requires the SCDRB, when informed of a child death, to review all child deaths 
of:

● Kansas residents who are less than 18 years of age, regardless of where the 
deaths occurred; and

● Non-Kansas residents who are less than 18 years of age if the death occurred in 
Kansas.

Board Member Compensation

The  bill  allows  SCDRB members  to  receive  compensation,  subsistence  allowances, 
mileage,  and expenses for  attending meetings and subcommittee  meetings  of  the SCDRB, 
subject to approval of the chairperson of the Board and the Attorney General.

Exceptions for Disclosure of Board Records

The bill adds the following to the list of those to whom disclosure of information acquired 
by and records of the SCDRB is allowed:

● Any person or entity, if the information and records being disclosed are statistics 
or  conclusions of  the SCDRB and provided for  the purpose of  procuring and 
maintaining financial grants; and

● The Governor and Legislature, if the information and records being disclosed are 
statistics  or  conclusions  of  the  SCDRB  and  provided  for  the  purpose  of 
supplementing the SCDRB’s annual report.

Board Access to Agency Records

The bill removes the limit on SCDRB’s access to records of DCF or any other social 
service agency that provided services to the child or the child’s family. Under  former law, the 
SCDRB only had access to records if the child or the child’s family received services from that 
agency within three years preceding the child’s death.
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Transmittal of Written Report 

The bill removes the requirement that the SCDRB complete and transmit a copy of its 
written report to:

● The county or district attorney of the county in which the child’s death occurred;

● The county or district attorney of the county in which the child resided if different 
from where the death occurred; or 

● The child protective services agency of the state where the child resided if the 
child resided in another state.

Maintenance of Records

The bill requires the SCDRB to maintain records of all written reports concerning child 
deaths for at least 15 years after the date a case investigated by the Board is closed, rather 
than maintaining the records permanently. 
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