Adam C. Proffitt, Director



Phone: (785) 296-2436 adam.c.proffitt@ks.gov http://budget.kansas.gov

Laura Kelly, Governor

January 19, 2024

The Honorable Shannon Francis, Chairperson House Committee on Transportation 300 SW 10th Avenue, Room 582-N Topeka, Kansas 66612

Dear Representative Francis:

SUBJECT: Fiscal Note for HB 2503 by House Committee on Transportation

In accordance with KSA 75-3715a, the following fiscal note concerning HB 2503 is respectfully submitted to your committee.

HB 2503 would require motor vehicle drivers to exercise due caution when passing a stationary vehicle that displays caution signals such as hazard lights, traffic cones, or reflective triangles. Drivers would be required to change lanes if possible or reduce their speed when approaching such vehicles. The bill would establish a \$75 fine for unlawful passing of a stationary vehicle.

The Kansas Department of Transportation indicates that HB 2503 would increase agency revenues by a negligible amount. The agency's Traffic Records Enhancement Fund receives 2.23 percent of all district court fines, penalties, and forfeitures, and the Seat Belt Safety Fund receives 2.2 percent of all district court fines, penalties, and forfeitures. Enactment of the bill would presumably increase the number of fines collected by adding a new traffic infraction.

The Judiciary indicates that by creating a new traffic violation, the bill could increase agency operating expenditures due to a greater number of cases filed in district court. However, the agency is unable to provide an exact estimate of this fiscal effect. The Judiciary indicates that the bill's enactment could result in the collection of docket fees and fines in those cases filed under

The Honorable Shannon Francis, Chairperson Page 2—HB 2503

the bill's provisions, which would be credited to the State General Fund and other state funds. Any fiscal effect associated with HB 2503 is not reflected in *The FY 2025 Governor's Budget Report*.

Sincerely,

A- C. - +

Adam C. Proffitt Director of the Budget

cc: Brendan Yorkey, Department of Transportation Trisha Morrow, Judiciary William Hendrix, Office of the Attorney General Scott Schultz, Kansas Sentencing Commission Sherry Macke, Kansas Highway Patrol