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79-32,107. Penalties	and	interest	for	noncompliance,	exception	to	penalty	imposition	for	certain
underpayments;	failure	of	employer	to	deduct	and	withhold;	failure	to	collect,	account	for	and	pay	tax;
attempts	to	evade	or	defeat	tax.	(a)	All	penalties	and	interest	prescribed	by	K.S.A.	79-3228,	and
amendments	thereto,	for	noncompliance	with	the	income	tax	laws	of	Kansas	shall	be
applicable	for	noncompliance	with	the	provisions	of	the	Kansas	withholding	and
declaration	of	estimated	tax	act	relating	to	withholding	tax	which	shall	be	enforced	in	the
same	manner	as	the	Kansas	income	tax	act.	A	penalty	at	the	same	rate	per	annum
prescribed	by	subsection	(b)	of	K.S.A.	79-2968,	and	amendments	thereto,	for	interest	upon
delinquent	or	unpaid	taxes	shall	be	applied	and	added	to	a	taxpayer's	amount	of
underpayment	of	estimated	tax	due	from	the	date	the	estimated	tax	payment	was	due	until
the	same	is	paid	or	until	the	15th	day	of	the	fourth	month	following	the	close	of	the	taxable
year	for	which	such	estimated	tax	is	a	credit,	whichever	date	is	earlier,	but	such	penalty
shall	not	be	added	if	the	total	amount	thereof	does	not	exceed	$1.	For	purposes	of	this
subsection,	the	amount	of	underpayment	of	estimated	tax	shall	be	the	excess	of	the	amount
of	the	installment	which	would	be	required	to	be	paid	if	the	estimated	tax	were	equal	to
90%	of	the	tax	shown	on	the	return	for	the	taxable	year	or,	if	no	return	was	filed,	90%	of	the
tax	for	such	year,	over	the	amount,	if	any,	of	the	installment	paid	on	or	before	the	last	date
prescribed	for	payment.	Amounts	due	from	any	employer	on	account	of	withholding	or
from	any	taxpayer	for	estimated	tax	may	be	collected	by	the	director	in	the	manner
provided	for	the	collection	of	state	income	tax	in	K.S.A.	79-3235,	and	amendments	thereto.
For	purposes	of	this	subsection,	"underpayment	of	tax"	means	the	difference	between	the
amount	of	tax	actually	paid	and	the	amount	of	tax	which	would	have	been	required	to	be
paid	to	avoid	penalty	pursuant	to	subsection	(b)	or	(c).
(b) No	penalty	or	interest	shall	be	imposed	upon	any	individual	with	respect	to	any
underpayment	of	any	installment	if	the	total	amount	of	all	payments	of	estimated	tax	made
on	or	before	the	last	date	prescribed	for	the	payment	of	such	installment	equals	or	exceeds
the	amount	which	would	have	been	required	to	be	paid	on	or	before	such	date	if	the
estimated	tax	were	whichever	of	the	following	is	the	least:
(1) The	tax	shown	on	the	return	of	the	individual	for	the	preceding	taxable	year,	if	a
return	showing	a	liability	for	tax	was	filed	by	the	individual	for	the	preceding	taxable	year;
(2) zero	if	no	return	was	required	to	be	filed	or	if	the	tax	liability	on	the	individual's	return
was	less	than	$200	for	the	preceding	taxable	year;
(3) an	amount	equal	to	66 2/3%,	in	the	case	of	individuals	referred	to	in	subsection	(b)	of
K.S.A.	79-32,102,	and	amendments	thereto,	and	90%,	in	the	case	of	all	other	individuals,	of
the	tax	for	the	taxable	year	computed	by	placing	on	an	annualized	basis,	pursuant	to	rules
and	regulations	adopted	by	the	secretary	of	revenue,	the	taxable	income	for	the	months	in
the	taxable	year	ending	before	the	month	in	which	the	installment	is	required	to	be	made.
(c) No	penalty	or	interest	shall	be	imposed	upon	any	corporation	with	respect	to	any
underpayment	of	any	installment	of	estimated	tax	if	the	total	amount	of	all	payments	of
estimated	tax	made	on	or	before	the	last	date	prescribed	for	the	payment	of	such
installment	equals	or	exceeds	the	amount	which	would	have	been	required	to	be	paid	on	or
before	such	date	if	the	estimated	tax	were	whichever	of	the	following	is	the	least:
(1) The	tax	shown	on	the	return	of	the	corporation	for	the	preceding	taxable	year,	if	a
return	showing	a	liability	for	tax	was	filed	by	the	corporation	for	the	preceding	taxable
year,	or	zero	if	no	return	was	required	to	be	filed,	or	if	the	tax	liability	on	the	corporation's
return	was	less	than	$500	for	the	preceding	taxable	year;	or
(2)	(A) an	amount	equal	to	90%	of	the	tax	for	the	taxable	year	computed	by	placing	on	an



annualized	basis	the	taxable	income:	(i)	For	the	first	three	months	of	the	taxable	year,	in	the
case	of	the	installment	required	to	be	paid	in	the	fourth	month;	(ii)	for	the	first	three
months	or	for	the	first	five	months	of	the	taxable	year,	in	the	case	of	the	installment
required	to	be	paid	in	the	sixth	month;	(iii)	for	the	first	six	months	or	for	the	first	eight
months	of	the	taxable	year	in	the	case	of	the	installment	required	to	be	paid	in	the	ninth
month;	and	(iv)	for	the	first	nine	months	or	for	the	first	11	months	of	the	taxable	year,	in	the
case	of	the	installment	required	to	be	paid	in	the	12th	month	of	the	taxable	year.
(B) For	purposes	of	this	subsection	(2),	the	taxable	income	shall	be	placed	on	an
annualized	basis	by	(i)	multiplying	by	12	the	taxable	income	referred	to	in	subsection	(2)(A),
and	(ii)	dividing	the	resulting	amount	by	the	number	of	months	in	the	taxable	year	(three,
five,	six,	eight,	nine,	or	11,	as	the	case	may	be)	referred	to	in	subsection	(2)(A).
(d) If	the	employer,	in	violation	of	the	provisions	of	this	act,	fails	to	deduct	and	withhold
under	this	chapter,	and	thereafter	the	tax	against	which	such	withholding	may	be	credited
is	paid,	the	amount	otherwise	required	to	be	deducted	and	withheld	shall	not	be	collected
from	the	employer.	This	subsection	shall	in	no	case	relieve	the	employer	from	liability	for
any	penalties	or	additions	to	the	tax	otherwise	applicable	in	respect	of	such	failure	to
deduct	and	withhold.
(e) Any	person	required	to	collect,	truthfully	account	for,	and	pay	over	any	tax	imposed	by
this	act,	who	willfully	fails	to	collect	such	tax,	or	truthfully	account	for	and	pay	over	such
tax,	or	willfully	attempts	in	any	manner	to	evade	or	defeat	any	such	tax	or	the	payment
thereof,	shall	in	addition	to	the	other	penalties	of	this	section	be	liable	to	a	penalty	equal	to
the	total	amount	of	the	tax	evaded,	or	not	collected,	or	not	accounted	for	and	paid	over.	As
used	in	this	section,	"willfully"	has	the	same	meaning	as	such	term	has	for	federal	tax
purposes	in	26	U.S.C.	§	6672.
(f) In	case	of	failure	by	any	employer	required	by	subsection	(b)	of	K.S.A.	79-3298,	and
amendments	thereto,	to	remit	any	amount	of	withheld	taxes	by	the	date	prescribed
therefor,	unless	it	is	shown	that	such	failure	is	due	to	reasonable	cause	and	not	due	to
willful	neglect,	there	shall	be	imposed	upon	such	person	a	penalty	of	15%	of	the	amount	of
the	underpayment.	For	purposes	of	this	subsection,	the	term	"underpayment"	means	the
excess	of	the	amount	of	the	tax	required	to	be	withheld	and	remitted	over	the	amount,	if
any,	remitted	on	or	before	the	date	prescribed	therefor.	The	failure	to	remit	for	any
withholding	period	shall	be	deemed	not	to	continue	beyond	the	last	date	prescribed	for
filing	the	annual	return	as	required	by	subsection	(d)	of	K.S.A.	79-3298,	and	amendments
thereto.	Penalty	and	interest	as	prescribed	by	K.S.A.	79-3228,	and	amendments	thereto,	shall
not	begin	to	accrue	under	subsection	(a)	of	this	section	on	the	amount	of	any	such
underpayment	until	the	due	date	of	the	annual	return	for	the	calendar	year	in	which	such
failure	to	remit	occurs.
(g) Whenever	the	secretary	or	the	secretary's	designee	determines	that	the	failure	of	the
taxpayer	to	comply	with	the	provisions	of	subsections	(a),	(e),	or	(f)	of	this	section	was	due	to
reasonable	causes,	the	secretary	or	the	secretary's	designee	may	waive	or	reduce	any	of	said
penalties	and	may	reduce	the	interest	rate	to	the	underpayment	rate	prescribed	and
determined	for	the	applicable	period	under	section	6621	of	the	federal	internal	revenue
code	as	in	effect	on	January	1,	1994,	upon	making	a	record	of	the	reasons	therefor.
History: L.	1965,	ch.	525,	§	14;	L.	1977,	ch.	343,	§	1;	L.	1979,	ch.	320,	§	1;	L.	1980,	ch.	316,	§	9;
L.	1981,	ch.	385,	§	4;	L.	1983,	ch.	326,	§	2;	L.	1984,	ch.	351,	§	16;	L.	1989,	ch.	296,	§	3;	L.	1993,
ch.	22,	§	1;	L.	1994,	ch.	95,	§	2;	L.	1997,	ch.	126,	§	27;	L.	2010,	ch.	123,	§	10;	Apr.	29.


