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65-3415b.  Solid waste tonnage fees. (a) There is hereby imposed a state solid waste tonnage fee
of $1.00 for each ton or equivalent volume of solid waste disposed of at any solid waste
disposal area in this state other than solid waste enumerated in subsection (c) or solid waste
disposal authorized by the secretary pursuant to subsection (a) of K.S.A. 65-3407c, and
amendments thereto.

(b) There is hereby imposed a state solid waste tonnage fee of $1.00 for each ton or
equivalent volume of solid waste transferred out of Kansas through a transfer station, other
than waste enumerated in subsection (c).

() The fees imposed by this section shall not apply to:

(1) Any waste tire, as defined by K.S.A. 65-3424, and amendments thereto, disposed in or at
a permitted solid waste disposal area;

(2) sludges from public drinking water supply treatment plants, when disposed of at a
monofill permitted by the secretary;

(3) clean rubble;

(4) solid waste solely consisting of vegetation from land clearing and grubbing, utility
maintenance and seasonal or storm-related cleanup but such exception shall not apply to
yard waste;

(5) construction and demolition waste disposed of by the federal government, by the state
of Kansas, or by any city, county or other unit of local government in the state of Kansas, or
by any person on behalf thereof; and

(6) industrial waste disposed of at a solid waste disposal area which is permitted by the
secretary, and is owned or operated by or for the industrial facility generating the waste
and which is used only for industrial waste generated by such industrial facility.

(d) The operator of a solid waste disposal area or transfer station shall pay the fee imposed
by this section.

(e) The secretary of health and environment shall administer, enforce and collect the fee
imposed by this section. The secretary shall have the authority to waive such fee when large
quantities of waste are generated due to major natural disasters such as floods, tornados
and fires unless persons paying such fees are able to recover such fees from the federal
government. Except as otherwise provided by subsections (a) and (b), all laws and rules and
regulations of the secretary of revenue relating to the administration, enforcement and
collection of the retailers' sales tax shall apply to such fee insofar as they can be made
applicable. The secretary of health and environment shall adopt any other rules and
regulations as necessary for the efficient and effective administration, enforcement and
collection thereof.

(f) The secretary of health and environment shall remit all moneys collected from fees
imposed pursuant to subsections (a) and (b) to the state treasurer in accordance with the
provisions of K.S.A. 75-4215, and amendments thereto. Upon receipt of each such
remittance, the state treasurer shall deposit the entire amount in the state treasury to the
credit of the solid waste management fund created by K.S.A. 65-3415a, and amendments
thereto.
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