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65-1645. Applications	for	registrations	and	permits;	renewals;	forms;	establishment	of	fees;
establishment	of	retail	dealer	classes;	display	of	registrations	and	permits;	expiration	dates;	penalty	fee
for	renewal	after	lapse;	proration	of	fees.	(a)	Application	for	registrations	or	permits	under	K.S.A.
65-1643,	and	amendments	thereto,	shall	be	made	on	a	form	prescribed	and	furnished	by	the
board.	Applications	for	registration	shall	contain	such	information	as	may	be	required	by
the	board	in	accordance	with	the	provisions	of	K.S.A.	65-1655,	65-1655a	and	65-1655b,	and
amendments	thereto.	The	application	shall	be	accompanied	by	the	fee	prescribed	by	the
board	under	the	provisions	of	this	section.	When	such	application	and	fees	are	received	by
the	secretary	on	or	before	the	due	date,	such	application	shall	have	the	effect	of	temporarily
renewing	the	applicant's	registration	or	permit	until	actual	issuance	or	denial	of	the
renewal.	If,	at	the	time	of	filing,	a	proceeding	is	pending	before	the	board	that	may	result	in
the	suspension,	probation,	revocation	or	denial	of	the	applicant's	registration	or	permit,	the
board	may	declare,	by	emergency	order,	that	such	application	for	renewal	shall	not	have
the	effect	of	temporarily	renewing	such	applicant's	registration	or	permit.	Separate
applications	shall	be	made	and	separate	registrations	or	permits	issued	for	each	separate
place	where	there	is	carried	on	any	of	the	operations	for	which	a	registration	or	permit	is
required	by	K.S.A.	65-1643,	and	amendments	thereto.
(b) An	application	for	a	registration	or	permit	under	K.S.A.	65-1643,	and	amendments
thereto,	submitted	for	a	facility	physically	located	outside	of	the	state	of	Kansas	shall	be
accompanied	by	an	additional	non-resident	fee	prescribed	by	the	board	by	rules	and
regulations	pursuant	to	this	section.	Such	fee	shall	not	exceed	$350	for	a	new	registration
and	$250	for	a	renewal.
(c) The	nonrefundable	fees	required	for	the	issuing	of	the	licenses,	registrations	or	permits
under	the	pharmacy	act	of	the	state	of	Kansas	shall	be	fixed	by	the	board	as	provided	in	this
section,	subject	to	the	following:
(1) Pharmacy,	new	registration	not	more	than	$150,	renewal	not	more	than	$125;
(2) pharmacist,	new	license	by	examination	not	more	than	$350;
(3) pharmacist,	reinstatement	application	fee	not	more	than	$250;
(4) pharmacist,	biennial	renewal	fee	not	more	than	$200;
(5) pharmacist,	evaluation	fee	not	more	than	$250;
(6) pharmacist,	reciprocal	licensure	fee	not	more	than	$250;
(7) pharmacist,	penalty	fee,	not	more	than	$500;
(8) manufacturer,	new	registration	not	more	than	$500,	renewal	not	more	than	$400;
(9) wholesale	distributor,	new	registration	not	more	than	$500,	renewal	not	more	than
$400,	except	that	a	wholesale	distributor	dealing	exclusively	in	nonprescription	drugs,	the
manufacturing,	distributing	or	dispensing	of	which	does	not	require	registration	under	the
uniform	controlled	substances	act,	shall	be	assessed	a	fee	for	registration	and	re-registration
not	to	exceed	$50;
(10) special	auction	not	more	than	$50;
(11) samples	distribution	not	more	than	$50,	renewal	not	more	than	$50;
(12) institutional	drug	room,	new	registration	not	more	than	$40,	renewal	not	more	than
$35;
(13) retail	dealer	selling	more	than	12	different	nonprescription	drug	products,	new
permit	not	more	than	$12,	renewal	not	more	than	$12;
(14) certification	of	grades	for	each	applicant	for	examination	and	registration	not	more
than	$25;
(15) veterinary	medical	teaching	hospital	pharmacy,	new	registration	not	more	than	$40,



renewal	not	more	than	$35;
(16) durable	medical	equipment	registration	fee,	not	more	than	$300,	renewal	not	more
than	$300;
(17) third-party	logistics	provider,	new	registration	not	more	than	$500,	renewal	not	more
than	$400,	except	that	a	third-party	logistics	provider	exclusively	providing	nonprescription
drugs,	the	manufacturing,	distributing	or	dispensing	of	which	does	not	require	registration
under	the	uniform	controlled	substances	act,	shall	be	assessed	a	fee	for	registration	and	re-
registration	not	to	exceed	$50;
(18) outsourcing	facility,	new	registration	not	more	than	$500,	renewal	not	more	than
$400;
(19) repackager,	new	registration	not	more	than	$500,	renewal	not	more	than	$400;	or
(20) automated	dispensing	system	registration	fee,	not	more	than	$40,	renewal	not	more
than	$35.
(d) For	the	purpose	of	fixing	fees,	the	board	may	establish	classes	of	retail	dealers'	permits
for	retail	dealers	selling	more	than	12	different	nonprescription	drug	products,	and	the
board	may	fix	a	different	fee	for	each	such	class	of	permit.
(e) The	board	shall	determine	annually	the	amount	necessary	to	carry	out	and	enforce	the
provisions	of	this	act	for	the	next	ensuing	fiscal	year	and	shall	fix	by	rules	and	regulations
the	fees	authorized	for	such	year	at	the	sum	deemed	necessary	for	such	purposes.	The	fees
fixed	by	the	board	under	this	section	immediately	prior	to	the	effective	date	of	this	act	shall
continue	in	effect	until	different	fees	are	fixed	by	the	board	by	rules	and	regulations	as
provided	under	this	section.
(f) The	board	may	deny	renewal	of	any	registration	or	permit	required	by	K.S.A.	65-1643,
and	amendments	thereto,	on	any	ground	that	would	authorize	the	board	to	suspend,	revoke
or	place	on	probation	a	registration	or	permit	previously	granted	pursuant	to	the	provisions
of	K.S.A.	65-1643,	and	amendments	thereto.	Registrations	and	permits	issued	under	the
provisions	of	K.S.A.	65-1643	and	65-1644,	and	amendments	thereto,	shall	be	conspicuously
displayed	in	the	place	for	which	the	registration	or	permit	was	granted.	Such	registrations
or	permits	shall	not	be	transferable.	All	such	registrations	and	permits	shall	expire	every
year.	The	expiration	date	shall	be	established	by	rules	and	regulations	adopted	by	the
board.	All	registrations	and	permits	shall	be	renewed	annually.	Notice	of	renewal	of
registrations	and	permits	shall	be	sent	by	the	board	to	each	registrant	or	permittee	at	least
30	days	prior	to	expiration	of	the	registration	or	permit.	If	application	for	renewal	is	not
made	prior	to	expiration,	the	existing	registration	or	permit	shall	lapse	and	become	null	and
void	on	the	date	of	its	expiration,	and	no	new	registration	or	permit	shall	be	granted	except
upon	payment	of	the	required	renewal	fee	plus	a	penalty	equal	to	the	renewal	fee.	Failure
of	any	registrant	or	permittee	to	receive	such	notice	of	renewal	shall	not	relieve	the
registrant	or	permittee	from	the	penalty	hereby	imposed	if	the	renewal	is	not	made	as
prescribed.
(g) In	each	case	in	which	a	license	of	a	pharmacist	is	issued	or	renewed	for	a	period	of
time	less	than	two	years,	the	board	shall	prorate	to	the	nearest	whole	month	the	license	or
renewal	fee	established	pursuant	to	this	section.
(h) The	board	may	require	that	fees	paid	for	any	examination	under	the	pharmacy	act	of
the	state	of	Kansas	be	paid	directly	to	the	examination	service	by	the	person	taking	the
examination.
History: L.	1953,	ch.	290,	§	31;	L.	1962,	ch.	37,	§	5;	L.	1967,	ch.	342,	§	4;	L.	1974,	ch.	252,	§	4;	L.
1975,	ch.	319,	§	31;	L.	1979,	ch.	195,	§	1;	L.	1979,	ch.	196,	§	1;	L.	1982,	ch.	263,	§	4;	L.	1986,	ch.
235,	§	5;	L.	1987,	ch.	236,	§	5;	L.	1988,	ch.	356,	§	199;	L.	1991,	ch.	187,	§	4;	L.	1991,	ch.	189,	§	2;
L.	1998,	ch.	98,	§	5;	L.	2000,	ch.	89,	§	3;	L.	2002,	ch.	184,	§	3;	L.	2007,	ch.	177,	§	34;	L.	2014,	ch.
49,	§	6;	L.	2017,	ch.	34,	§	10;	L.	2021,	ch.	106,	§	11;	June	3.




