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65-170d. Public water supply systems; pollution violations; penalties; procedure; hearings. (a) Any
person who violates: (1) Any term or condition of any sewage discharge permit issued
pursuant to K.S.A. 65-165, and amendments thereto; (2) any effluent standard or limitation
or any water quality standard or other rule or regulation promulgated pursuant to K.S.A. 65-
171d, and amendments thereto; (3) any filing requirement made pursuant to K.S.A. 65-164
or 65-166, and amendments thereto; (4) any reporting, inspection or monitoring
requirement made pursuant to this act or K.S.A. 65-166, and amendments thereto; or (5) any
lawful order or requirement of the secretary of health and environment shall incur, in
addition to any other penalty provided by law, a civil penalty in an amount of up to $10,000
for every such violation. In the case of a continuing violation, every day such violation
continues shall, for the purpose of this act, be deemed a separate violation.

(b) The director of the division of environment, upon a finding that a person has violated
any provision of subsection (a), may impose a penalty within the limits provided in this
section, which penalty shall constitute an actual and substantial economic deterrent to the
violation for which it is assessed.

(c) No such penalty shall be imposed except upon the written order of the director of the
division of environment to such person stating the violation, the penalty to be imposed and
the right of such person to appeal to the secretary of health and environment. Any such
person may, within 15 days after service of the order make written request to the secretary
of health and environment for a hearing thereon. The secretary of health and environment
shall hear such person or persons in accordance with the provisions of the Kansas
administrative procedure act within 30 days after receipt of such request.

(d) Any action of the secretary pursuant to this section is subject to review in accordance
with the Kansas judicial review act.

History: L. 1973, ch. 244, § 4; L. 1974, ch. 352, § 33; L. 1986, ch. 318, § 86; L. 1988, ch. 356, §
180; L. 2010, ch. 17, § 112; July 1.



