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40-2,105. Insurance coverage under individual or small employer group policies for services rendered in
treatment of mental illness, alcoholism, drug abuse or substance use disorders; limitations; exceptions.
(a) On or after the effective date of this act, every insurer that issues any individual policy of
accident and sickness insurance or group policy of accident and sickness insurance to a
small employer as defined in K.S.A. 40-2209d, and amendments thereto, that provides
medical, surgical or hospital expense coverage for other than specific diseases or accidents
only and that provides for reimbursement or indemnity for services rendered to a person
covered by such policy in a medical care facility, must provide for reimbursement or
indemnity under such individual policy or under such small employer group policy, except
as provided in subsection (d), that shall be limited to not less than 45 days per year for in-
patient treatment of mental illness in a medical care facility licensed under the provisions of
K.S.A. 65-429, and amendments thereto, and not less than 30 days per year when such
person is confined for treatment of alcoholism, drug abuse or substance use disorders in a
treatment facility for alcoholics licensed under the provisions of K.S.A. 65-4014, and
amendments thereto, a treatment facility for drug abusers licensed under the provisions of
K.S.A. 65-4605, and amendments thereto, a community mental health center or clinic
licensed under the provisions of K.S.A. 39-2001 et seq., and amendments thereto, or a
psychiatric hospital licensed under the provisions of K.S.A. 39-2001 et seq., and amendments
thereto. Such individual policy or such small employer group policy shall also provide for
reimbursement or indemnity, except as provided in subsection (d), of the costs of treatment
of such person for mental illness, alcoholism, drug abuse and substance use disorders
subject to the same deductibles, copayments, coinsurance, out-of-pocket expenses and
treatment limitations as apply to other covered services, limited to not less than $15,000 in
such person's lifetime, with no annual limits, in the facilities enumerated when in-patient
treatment is not necessary for the treatment or by a physician licensed or psychologist
licensed to practice under the laws of the state of Kansas.

(b) For the purposes of this section "mental illness, alcoholism, drug abuse or substance
use" means disorders specified in the diagnostic and statistical manual of mental disorders,
fourth edition, (DSM-IV, 1994) of the American psychiatric association.

(c) The provisions of this section shall be applicable to health maintenance organizations
organized under article 32 of chapter 40 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, and amendments
thereto.

(d) There shall be no coverage under the provisions of this section for any assessment
against any person required by a diversion agreement or by order of a court to attend an
alcohol and drug safety action program certified pursuant to K.S.A. 8-1008, and amendments
thereto, or for evaluations and diagnostic tests ordered or requested in connection with
criminal actions, divorce, child custody or child visitation proceedings.

(e) The provisions of this section shall not apply to any medicare supplement policy of
insurance, as defined by the commissioner of insurance by rule and regulation.

(f) Treatment limitations include limits on the frequency of treatment, number of visits,
days of coverage or other similar limits on the scope or duration of treatment.

(g) Utilization review for mental illness shall be consistent with provisions in K.S.A. 40-
22a01 through 40-22a12, and amendments thereto.
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