2021 Kansas Statutes

2-1004. Sale of commercial feeding stuffs; inspection fee; annual fee; permit; tonnage report; delinquency
fee. (@) (1) On and after the effective date of this act through June 30, 1999, each
manufacturer, importer, jobber, firm, association, corporation or person, manufacturing or
selling any commercial feeding stuffs, shall pay to the Kansas department of agriculture an
inspection fee of $.105 per ton of 2,000 pounds, or fraction thereof, for each commercial
feeding stuffs sold, offered or exposed for sale or distributed in this state.

(2) On and after July 1, 1999, each manufacturer, importer, jobber, firm, association,
corporation or person, manufacturing or selling any commercial feeding stuffs, shall pay to
the Kansas department of agriculture an inspection fee of $.10 per ton of 2,000 pounds, or
fraction thereof, for each commercial feeding stuffs sold, offered or exposed for sale or
distributed in this state.

(b) Each manufacturer, importer, jobber, firm, corporation, association of persons or
person shall report to the Kansas department of agriculture the tonnage of commercial
feeding stuffs sold and shall pay the inspection fee on the basis of such report.

(c) Inthe case of specialty pet foods or pet foods which are distributed in the state in
packages of 10 pounds or less, an annual fee of $25 shall be paid in lieu of the inspection fee.
(d) In the case of specialty pet foods which is distributed in the state in packages of one
pound or less, an annual fee of $15 shall be paid in lieu of the inspection fee.

(e) The minimum inspection fee shall be $15 and shall be paid semiannually.

(f) The applicant shall keep such records as may be necessary to indicate accurately the
tonnage of commercial feeding stuffs sold, and as are satisfactory to the secretary, and
granting the secretary or the secretary's duly authorized representative permission to verify
the statement of tonnage. The report shall be filed with the secretary of agriculture, and the
report of tonnage and inspection fee shall be due semiannually on the first day of January
and the first day of July, covering the tonnage of commercial feeding stuffs sold the
preceding six months.

(g) If more than one manufacturer, importer, jobber, firm, association, corporation or
person is involved in the chain of distribution, the manufacturer, importer, jobber, firm,
association, corporation or person who first sells or distributes a commercial feeding stuff
for further sale or distribution in this state shall be responsible for payment of the
applicable inspection fee for each commercial feeding stuff sold or distributed by the
manufacturer, importer, jobber, firm, association, corporation or person.

(h) No inspection fee shall be required for any commercial feeding stuff sold under the
name and label of another licensee if the inspection fee has or will be paid by a prior
manufacturer, importer, jobber, firm, association, corporation or person in the chain of
distribution as evidenced by an invoice or sales receipt.

(i) No inspection fee shall be required for any commercial feeding stuff on which the
inspection fee has or will be paid by a prior manufacturer, importer, jobber, firm,
association, corporation or person in the chain of distribution as evidenced by an invoice or
sales receipt.

(j) If inspection fees, which are due and owing, have not been remitted to the secretary
within 30 days following the due date or if the report of tonnage is not accurate, the
secretary shall impose a delinquency fee equal to 10% of the amount due or $50, whichever
is greater. Such delinquency fee shall be in addition to the amount due.

History: L. 1923, ch. 105, § 4; R.S. 1923, § 2-1004; L. 1925, ch. 4, § 1; L. 1945, ch. 2, § 2; L.
1971, ch. 2,8 1; L. 1979, ch. 4, § 2; L. 1983, ch. 2, § 1; L. 1994. ch. 233, § 2; L. 1994, ch. 336, § 2;
L. 2004, ch. 101, § 16; July 1.



