SESSION OF 2022

SUPPLEMENTAL NOTE ON HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 5030

As Amended by House Committee of the Whole

Brief*

HCR 5030 makes findings concerning antisemitism in Kansas and the United States and the adoption of a definition of the term by the International Holocaust Remembrance Alliance (IHRA).

The resolution states the State of Kansas adopts the non-legally binding IHRA working definition of antisemitism and requires the Kansas Department of Administration to ensure the definition is available as an educational resource for all state agencies. The resolution further states nothing in the resolution shall be construed to diminish or infringe upon any right protected by the First Amendment to the *United States Constitution*.

The resolution requires the Secretary of State to send enrolled copies of the resolution to the Jewish Community Relations Bureau/American Jewish Committee, the Combat Antisemitism Movement, Senator Corson, and Representatives Osman, Croft, Timothy Johnson, and Poskin.

Background

HCR 5030 was introduced in the House of Representatives by Representatives Osman, Alcala, Amyx, Anderson, Arnberger, Ballard, Barker, Bergkamp, Bergquist, Blex, Borjon, Burris, Burroughs, Byers, Carlin, Carlson, Will Carpenter, Clark, Clayton, Clifford, Coleman, Collins,

^{*}Supplemental notes are prepared by the Legislative Research Department and do not express legislative intent. The supplemental note and fiscal note for this bill may be accessed on the Internet at http://www.kslegislature.org

Concannon, Corbet, Croft, Curtis, Delperdang, Dodson, Donohoe, Ellis, Eplee, Esau, Estes, Fairchild, Featherston, Finch, Francis, French, Garber, Gartner, Haswood, Hawkins, Helmer, Henderson, Highberger, Highland, Helgerson, Hoffman, Hoheisel, Houser, Howell, Howerton, Hoye, Huebert, Humphries, Jacobs, Steven Johnson, Timothy Johnson, Kessler, Kuether, Lee, Long, Lynn, Mason, Meyer, Miller, Minnix, Moser, Murphy, Neelly, Neighbor, Newland, Ousley, Owens, Patton, Penn, Poskin, Probst, Proctor, Proehl, Rahjes, Ralph, Resman, Rhiley, Louis Ruiz, Susan Ruiz, Ryckman, Sanders, Sawyer, Schmidt, Schreiber, Seiwert, Adam Smith, Chuck Smith, Eric Smith, Stogsdill, Sutton, Tarwater, Thomas, Thompson, Turner, Vaughn, Victors, Waggoner, Wasinger, Waymaster, Weigel, Wheeler, Williams, Winn, Wolfe Moore, Woodard and Xu.

The resolution was referred to the House Committee of the Whole, appeared on General Orders in the House, and was adopted on February 23, 2022.

The House Committee of the Whole adopted a technical amendment concerning the recipients of the enrolled copies of the resolution.

Antisemitism; harassment; International Holocaust Remembrance Alliance