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Re: Testimony in Support of 2021 H.B. 2377 Relating to Driving Under the 
Influence 

The Kansas Judicial Council supports the passage of 2021 H.B. 2377. Due to a request 
from then-House Judiciary Chairman, Representative Blaine Finch to study topics related to 
driving under the influence, the Judicial Council formed the DUI Advisory Committee (the 
Committee). The Committee began meeting in December 2018 and continued to meet 
through 2020. A list of the Committee’s members is included at the end of this testimony. A 
copy of the Committee’s full report and recommendations to the Judicial Council can be found 
on the Judicial Council’s website, kansasjudicialcouncil.org/studies-and-reports. This written 
testimony only provides the Committee’s explanation of the specific amendments contained 
in H.B. 2377. 

In February 2021, this bill was heard by the House Judiciary Committee, which 
amended the bill to add a deadline date of March 1, 2022, for adoption of rules and 
regulations required by the bill. 

In order to correct a drafting issue, the Judicial Council asks the Senate Judiciary 
Committee to amend the sentencing statutes in the bill. In order to qualify for federal funding 
under 23 C.F.R. 1275.4, language requiring a minimum of 240 hours of confinement for any 3rd 
or subsequent offense needs to be added in Section 4(b)(1)(C), Section 7(b)(1)(D), and Section 
7(b)(1)(E). This language was mistakenly left out of the DUI Advisory Committee’s draft of its 
proposed amendments. The Committee’s goal is to maintain compliance with all federal 
funding requirements. 
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DUI law has two different penalty types – criminal and administrative. The criminal 
penalties involve the prosecution of the crime of driving under the influence. The sentence for 
the crime of DUI is ordered by the court and is independent from any administrative penalty 
imposed by the Kansas Department of Revenue Division of Motor Vehicles against a person’s 
driver’s license. A driver may be stopped by a law enforcement officer, fail a preliminary 
breath test, be arrested for DUI, and fail the evidentiary breath test. The local prosecutor will 
evaluate whether to charge the driver with the crime of DUI and the case will be handed 
through the court. At the same time, based on the driver’s failure of the evidentiary breath 
test, the division will take administrative action against the person’s driver’s license. The 
administrative actions are not dependent on the criminal proceeding or whether the person is 
ever convicted of DUI. This bill contains amendments to both the criminal and administrative 
penalty systems. 
 

ADMINISTRATIVE PENALTIES 

MOTORIZED BICYCLE LICENSES - SECTION 2 
 
 K.S.A. 2020 Supp. 8-235(d)(3) allows a first-time DUI offender the opportunity to 
receive a license to drive a motorized bicycle.1 According to the Kansas Department of 
Transportation, because first-time DUI offenders can receive this license, Kansas is ineligible to 
receive $250,000 in federal funding for the KDOT State Highway Safety Office to support the 
state’s ignition interlock program. The Kansas Department of Revenue Division of Vehicles 
reports that there are only 29 motorized bicycle licenses currently issued in Kansas, which has 
over 2,300,000 active driver’s licenses and identification cards. H.B. 2377 deletes K.S.A. 2020 
Supp. 8-235(d)(3) and (e) to eliminate motorized bicycle licenses for first-time DUI offenders in 
order to allow the state to qualify for the additional federal funding. 
 
IGNITION INTERLOCK RESTRICTED DRIVERS 
 
Current Law 
 If a law enforcement officer requests a driver take a breath, blood, urine or other 
bodily substance test to determine the presence of drugs or alcohol, and the driver refuses to 
submit to the test, the Kansas Department of Revenue’s Division of Vehicles (the division) will 
take administrative action against the person’s driving privileges. The division will suspend the 
person’s driving privileges for one year. At the end of the suspension, the division then 
restricts the person’s driving privileges for two to ten years depending on the driver’s history 
of test refusal. During the restricted period, the driver may only drive a motor vehicle 
equipped with an ignition interlock device (IID).  
 

A similar process applies when a driver fails a breath, blood, or bodily fluid test, or is 
convicted of an alcohol or drug-related conviction.2 The driver is suspended for a period of 

 
1 Motorized bicycle is defined in K.S.A. 8-126. 
2 “Alcohol or drug-related conviction” is defined in K.S.A. 8-1013(b). 
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time and then restricted to using an IID for another period. The required IID restricted period 
can range from 6 months to 10 years depending on the type of offense.3 

 
An IID is a tool that separates drinking from driving and allows impaired driving 

offenders to maintain conditional driving privileges. The purpose of the IID is to prevent 
drivers, who have consumed alcohol, from operating a motor vehicle if their breath alcohol 
content exceeds a set point (typically 0.02). Drivers must provide a breath sample by blowing 
into the IID and if the driver’s breath alcohol level is over the set point, the vehicle will not 
start. If the driver’s breath alcohol level is below the set point, the vehicle will start; however, 
while the vehicle is in operation, the IID will prompt the driver to provide additional breath 
samples (rolling retest). 
 

Compliance-Based Removal – Section 5 
 

 Under current law, a licensee who installs an IID in his or her vehicle and maintains the 
IID for the required timeframe may remove the IID and have unrestricted driving privileges at 
the end of the IID period. The IID may show that the licensee drank alcohol and then tried to 
start his car every day for the last month of the IID required period; however, as long as the IID 
has been installed for the required number of months, the licensee may have the device 
removed and unrestricted driving privileges restored. The IID program is to prevent people 
from driving while impaired, and to help drivers modify their behavior. Continuing to drink 
alcohol and then attempting to start a vehicle despite having and using the IID for months, 
demonstrates that the driver has not yet learned not to drink and drive.  
 

Kansas should adopt the compliance-based removal system set out in H.B. 2377. 
Before the IID can be removed and the person’s unrestricted driving privileges restored, the 
person must show that (1) he or she has had the IID installed for the required length of time, 
and (2) the driver has not had more than three standard violations and no serious violations in 
the 90 consecutive days prior to the driver’s application for reinstatement of unrestricted 
driving privileges. Standard and serious violations are defined in Section 5 of the bill. 

 
At the end of the required IID period, the driver would request a certification from the 

IID provider certifying that the driver has not had more than three standard and no serious 
violations in the last 90 days. The driver would then provide the IID provider’s certification to 
the division along with the driver’s application for reinstatement of the person’s driving 
privileges. This system would put the burden on the driver to show a successful completion of 
the program, rather than requiring the division to develop a program to continually monitor 
the driver’s performance. This system also allows for the automatic extension of the driver’s 
IID period without intervention by the division. Even if the driver’s IID period is over, the IID 
restriction will remain on the driver’s licenses until the driver can show a period of 90 days 
without more than three standard violations and no serious violations.  

 

 
3 K.S.A. 8-1014. 
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The legislature considered the Committee’s compliance-based removal proposal during 
the 2020 legislative session.  The compliance-based removal proposal did not receive any 
opposition nor was it amended by the House Judiciary Committee. However, due to the 
COVID-19 pandemic, the bill did not pass. 

 
Removal of Waiting Period & Route Restrictions – Section 5 
 

 Under K.S.A. 2020 Supp. 8-1015, when the division administratively suspends a 
person’s driving privileges for either 30 days or a year after a test refusal, test failure, or DUI 
conviction, the statute provides a way for the person to regain limited driving privileges while 
serving the required suspension time. After serving either 45 or 90 days of the suspension, as 
specified by the statute, the person may apply to the division for a license allowing the person 
to drive a vehicle with an ignition interlock device installed to a limited number of locations.  
The statute generally limits the person to driving to work, school, alcohol treatment programs, 
and to the ignition interlock provider. This is commonly referred to as “route restrictions.” 
Imposing route restrictions is an unenforceable restriction that is unnecessary if the driver is 
driving a vehicle with an ignition interlock device. 
 
 Serving a period of suspension can be very hard for Kansans, especially those in rural 
communities or those without access to public transportation. In order to decrease the burden 
on Kansans and reduce the complexity of the administrative driver’s licenses sanctions, H.B. 
2377 removes the 45- or 90-day waiting period and eliminates the route restrictions in K.S.A. 
2020 Supp. 8-1015(a). Drivers are still subject to the 30-day or one-year suspension period 
followed by the ignition interlock restricted period. However, at any time during the 
suspension period, including right at the beginning, the person could apply to the division for 
the privilege of driving with an ignition interlock device during the suspension period. While 
some people may choose to serve the suspension period without driving, for those who need 
to continue driving, eliminating the 45- or 90-day waiting period will allow people to meet 
their needs while safely driving with the assistance of an ignition interlock device.  
 
Affordability Program – Section 6 

 
The goal of Section 6 of H.B. 2377 is to enable as many people as possible to use and 

successfully complete the IID program. According to the Kansas Department of Revenue’s 
Division of Vehicles only about half of all Kansas drivers required to complete a period with an 
IID restricted license will successfully complete the IID program requirements and have their 
driver’s license privileges reinstated. The other half of drivers will remain either suspended or 
restricted indefinitely. The Committee reviewed the compliance data for drivers whose 
licenses were suspended or restricted due to an alcohol or drug related offense in 2014.  
Forty-eight percent of the drivers failed to install the IID as required. Of the drivers who failed 
to install the IID, 75% received a subsequent driving offense, indicating that they were 
continuing to drive without the required IID. The division estimated that about half of the 
drivers who fail to complete the IID program do so because of the financial cost of the IID. 
Depending on the IID provider, the annual cost of an IID ranges from $950 to $1,215. The 
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annual cost does not include any fees incurred due to non-compliance, including a lockout, 
tampering, or circumvention of the device. 
 

Currently, K.S.A. 2020 Supp. 8-1016(a)(5) requires the division adopt rules and 
regulations requiring all IID providers operating in Kansas to provide a credit of at least 2% of 
the gross program revenues in the state as a credit for those who are required to have an IID 
and who are indigent as evidenced by qualification for the federal food stamp program. In 
2018, there were eight IID providers operating IID programs in Kansas. Each provider sets its 
own fees and manages its own indigency program. In 2018, there were 10,206 IID devices in 
operation in Kansas. The eight IID providers reported that only 290 people participated in the 
providers’ indigency programs. Each IID provider administered its indigency program 
differently. Some waived one-time fees (such as installation or removal fees) while others 
merely reduced the one-time fees. All providers reduced the monthly leasing and monitoring 
fee. None waived it completely. Therefore, even for those who qualified for the indigency 
program, the set annual cost of the IID ranged from $494 to $915.4 

 
In order to enable more people to use and complete the IID program, Kansas should 

move from an indigency-based program, one which only helps individuals who qualify for the 
food assistance program, to an affordability-based program, one which utilizes a sliding scale 
of payment based on the IID user’s household income. The Committee reviewed other states’ 
IID affordability program structures and received input from the Coalition of Ignition Interlock 
Manufacturers (CIIM). CIIM explained that in states with affordability programs where all IID 
related costs are waived, people are more likely to damage the IID, not take the program 
seriously, and fail to follow program requirements. Therefore, the affordability program 
should offer a sliding scale of discounts based on a user’s household income rather than waive 
fees entirely.  

 
H.B. 2377 expands who qualifies for the program to persons whose household income 

is up to 300% of the federal poverty level. People with a household income between 200% and 
300% of the federal poverty level would receive a mere 10% discount from the ignition 
interlock provider. However, the Committee agreed that even a small discount might serve to 
allow a hard-working single parent of three making $53,000 a year to successfully complete 
the IID program; thereby enabling that parent to internalize the separation between drinking 
and driving, as well as obtain fully restored driving privileges.  
  

 
4 All information regarding the 2018 IID usage and indigency programs provided by the Kansas Highway Patrol. 
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Proposed IID Affordability Program Sliding Scale 

Household Income Percentage of Program Costs User Must 
Pay 

Less than or equal to 300% but greater 
than 200% of the federal poverty level 

90% of the program costs (i.e. a 10% discount) 

Less than or equal to 200% but greater 
than 150% of the federal poverty level 

75% of the program costs (i.e. a 25% discount) 

Less than or equal to 150% but greater 
than 100% of the federal poverty level 

50% of the program costs (i.e. a 50% discount) 

Less than or equal to 100% of the federal 
poverty level 

25% of the program costs (i.e. a 75% discount) 

Persons enrolled in the food assistance, 
childcare subsidy or cash assistance 
program pursuant to K.S.A. 39-709 

25% of the program costs (i.e. a 75% discount) 

Persons eligible for the low-income 
energy assistance program. 

25% of the program costs (i.e. a 75% discount) 

 

The legislature considered this proposal during the 2020 legislative session.5 CIIM 
opposed the Committee’s recommendation to provide a discount to users up to 300% of the 
federal poverty level. Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the 2020 legislative session ended early 
and the bill did not pass. After the legislative session ended, the Committee invited CIIM to 
present its objections to the Committee; however, the Committee decided to maintain its 
proposal because the Committee sees this program as a way to increase the number of IID 
users.  The Committee unanimously agreed that it does not want to put Kansas IID providers 
out of business; however, if providing a 10% or 25% discount to more users reduced revenue, 
the Committee anticipates the reduction will be offset by an increase in the total number of 
overall users due to the reduction of the financial barrier.  

 
The current IID affordability program is based on a person’s eligibility for the food 

assistance program. H.B. 2377 expands that category to include individuals who are enrolled in 
the food assistance program, the childcare subsidy program, cash assistance (TANF), or are 
eligible for the low-income energy assistance program (LIHEAP). These are programs that 
often benefit the working poor. In the interest of expanding the program to serve the working 
poor, H.B. 2377 allows anyone enrolled in these programs to pay 25% of the IID program 
costs.  

 
H.B. 2377 avoids defining the term “program costs” in its statutory recommendations. 

The Committee thought that the specific definition regarding what costs should be included in 
the term “program costs” should be left to the division to work out through regulations in 
order to allow greater input from stakeholders, including the ignition interlock companies. 

 

 
5 2020 S.B. 405. 
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Currently, the IID providers receive the IID affordability program application and 
determine whether an individual qualifies for the program. In order to centralize management 
of the program, H.B. 2377 requires the division, not the IID providers, to determine eligibility 
for the program and the individual’s household income for the purposes of the sliding scale.  
 

Ignition Interlock Period for Drivers Under 21 – Section 8 
 

There is an odd discrepancy with how the current statutes treat persons under 21 
years old who drive with a blood or breath alcohol content (BAC) between 0.02 and 0.0799. 
On a first offense, if a person under 21 years old drinks and drives, the person will have a 
shorter ignition interlock period if the person is more intoxicated (BAC of 0.08 to 0.1499). If an 
under-21 driver’s BAC is between 0.02 and 0.0799, the required ignition interlock period is 330 
days. If the person consumed more alcohol and the person’s BAC is higher, 0.08 to 0.1499, the 
required ignition interlock period is only 180 days.6 H.B. 2377 corrects this error and makes 
the ignition interlock period for a driver under the age of 21 with a lower BAC (0.02-0.0799 
match the length of the ignition interlock period for the same driver with a higher BAC (0.08 – 
0.1499). 

  
Driver’s License Reinstatement – New Section 1 
 
 If a person’s driver’s license is administratively suspended and then restricted under 
K.S.A. 2020 Supp. 8-1014, the person’s license will remain in a suspended or IID restricted 
status until the person can complete the IID program. Under the compliance-based removal 
program, if a person continues to drink and drive and fail the IID tests, the person’s license 
could remain under the IID restriction indefinitely. However, there are also people remain 
under the IID restriction indefinitely because they are unable to fulfill the IID restriction period 
requirements for other reasons, such as not having consistent access to a vehicle. 

 IIDs play an important role in helping people disconnect drinking alcohol from driving. 
In the compliance-based removal program, the IID is the main tool used to show that a driver 
is not drinking and driving and is no longer a threat to public safety. Because people are 
sometimes unable to complete the IID program due to the financial burden or lack of a 
vehicle, H.B. 2377 provides an alternative way for people to demonstrate they are no longer 
driving under the influence and not a threat to public safety.  

 Under New Section 1, a person whose license is restricted to operating only a motor 
vehicle with an ignition interlock device installed may apply to the division of motor vehicles 
for reinstatement of his or her driver’s licenses if (1) the person has served the length of time 
of the original IID restriction period, plus an additional five years, excluding any period of 
incarceration; (2) during the IID restriction period and the additional five years, the person has 
not had any alcohol or drug related convictions, occurrences, or pending proceedings; and (3) 
during the IID restriction period and the additional five years, the person has not been 
convicted of, or has a pending charge or proceeding related to: transportation of liquor in 
opened containers, buying or consuming alcohol by a minor, vehicular homicide, DUI, driving 

 
6 K.S.A. 8-1567a. 
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while suspended, perjury, fraudulent registration of a vehicle, any felony if a motor vehicle 
was used in the perpetration of the crime, failing to stop at the scene of an accident, failure to 
maintain motor vehicle liability insurance, two or more moving traffic violations, or 
revocation, suspension, cancellation or withdrawal of driving privileges due to another action. 

 New Section 1 sets a high bar for individuals that will neither allow nor encourage 
people to choose to avoid installing the IID in order to utilize this new option while continuing 
to drive unlawfully. The requirements for reinstatement are designed to demonstrate that the 
individual has not been driving illegally during the IID restricted period and for at least five 
additional years. If someone can satisfy these requirements, it is important that the individual 
be allowed to restore his or her driver’s license status. 

COMMERCIAL DRIVER’S LICENSE (CDL) DISQUALIFICATION 

Lookback Period for Determining Lifetime Disqualification – Section 3 

 If a commercial driver’s license (CDL) holder commits certain offenses,7 including 
alcohol and drug related offenses while operating a vehicle, the driver may be disqualified 
from driving a commercial motor vehicle for a specified period of time. If the driver commits 
two or more of these offenses arising from two or more separate incidents, the driver shall be 
disqualified for life from holding a CDL.8 K.S.A. 2020 Supp. 8-2,142 does not limit the lookback 
period. Disqualifying offenses committed anytime in the driver’s life are reviewed. The federal 
regulation9 governing disqualifications for commercial motor vehicle drivers took effect July 1, 
2003; however, because Kansas’ statute does not specify the time period for when the CDL 
holder’s offenses must have occurred, Kansas disqualifies drivers based on conduct that 
occurred prior to July 1, 2003.  H.B. 2377 limits the lookback period to offenses occurring on or 
after July 1, 2003.  

 H.B. 2377 amends K.S.A. 2020 Supp. 8-2,142 to authorize the department of revenue 
to create a system to allow currently disqualified drivers to request a review and possible 
modification of a lifetime disqualification when at least one of the disqualifying offenses 
occurred before July 1, 2003. 

Removal of Lifetime Disqualification – Section 3 

Currently, K.S.A. 2020 Supp. 8-2,142(d) authorizes the secretary of revenue to adopt 
rules and regulations establishing guidelines under which a lifetime disqualification may be 
reduced to a period of 10 years. About 30 other states have such a process in place. To date, 

 
7 Offense listed in K.S.A. 8-2,142 include a conviction for driving under the influence, failing or refusing to submit 
to a test, causing a fatality through the negligent operation of a commercial motor vehicle, a conviction for 
leaving the scene of a crime, and a felony conviction. 
8 K.S.A. 2020 Supp. 8-2,142(c). 
9 49 CFR § 383.51 
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the Kansas secretary of revenue has not adopted such rules and regulations. The Committee 
reviewed other states’ programs10 and the federal regulations governing CDL disqualifications. 

Kansas should provide a way for former CDL drivers who are disqualified for life to 
request the removal of that disqualification if the driver has been disqualified for at least 10 
years, and the department of revenue determines that the driver meets very specific 
requirements.  Those requirements include having no pending alcohol or drug related criminal 
charges, having successfully completed an alcohol or drug treatment program if one of the 
disqualifying offenses was alcohol or drug related, having no alcohol or drug related 
convictions during the 10-year disqualification period, no longer being a threat to public 
safety, being otherwise eligible for CDL licensure, and not previously have had a 
disqualification removed. Drivers who were disqualified for life due to being convicted of 
driving under the influence in either a commercial or noncommercial vehicle would not qualify 
for the removal of the lifetime disqualification. If the driver’s disqualified status is removed, 
the driver could then reapply and must satisfy all the normal requirements for obtaining a 
CDL.  

Disqualification for Trafficking in Persons – Section 3 

While reviewing the federal regulations addressing commercial driver’s license 
disqualification, the Committee discovered that the federal Department of Transportation 
updated 49 C.F.R. 383.51 in 2019 and now requires that a commercial driver who uses a 
commercial motor vehicle in the commission of a felony involving an act or practice of severe 
forms of trafficking in persons must be disqualified for life and cannot be eligible for the 
removal of the disqualification after 10 years. H.B. 2377 updates K.S.A. 2020 Supp. 8-2,142(e) 
to mirror the changes in the federal regulation. 

 
CRIMINAL PENALTIES 

SENTENCING 
 
DUI in a Non-Commercial Vehicle – Section 7 
 

Misdemeanor and felony DUI convictions are different from many other criminal 
convictions. DUI convictions are governed by specific statutes in Chapter 8 rather than Chapter 
21 of the Kansas statutes. K.S.A. 2020 Supp. 8-1567(b) contains the statutory minimum and 
maximum sentence based on whether the DUI conviction is the person’s first, second, third, 
fourth or subsequent DUI offense. Some of the DUI sentencing requirements are in place due 
to federal funding requirements.11 The Committee carefully reviewed the federal funding 
requirements with the goal of maintaining Kansas’ compliance with federal funding 
requirements. The Committee’s goals also included, simplifying the sentencing scheme, 
bringing the sentencing scheme more in line with the sentence requirements for comparable 

 
10 The Committee used the Missouri regulation, 12 CST 10-24.444, as a model for its proposal. 
11 See 23 U.S.C. 164 (minimum penalties for repeat offenders for driving under the influence), and 23 C.F.R. 
1275.4 (compliance criteria for repeat intoxicated drivers). 
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level offenses, allowing more discretion to courts and offenders on how the sentence would 
be fulfilled, encouraging enrollment and participation in treatment, and minimizing the need 
to count individual hours of confinement.  
 
 For first-, second-, and third-time offenses, H.B. 2377 allows the court to place the 
offender on probation immediately, rather than mandating the offender serve a specific 
amount of time imprisoned before probation begins. Allowing immediate probation will 
provide courts and offenders with flexibility that will benefit the courts, jail, and the offender. 
If the offender shows successful completion of court-ordered education or treatment, H.B. 
2377 allows the court to waive any portion of a fine imposed, except the $250 required to be 
remitted to the state treasurer. Such a provision will help incentivize enrollment and 
participation in treatment programs. 
 

For first time offenders, H.B. 2377 removes the requirement to serve the 48 
consecutive hours imprisonment prior to being placed on probation. The court should be 
allowed to place the offender on probation under terms dictated by the court.  

 
For a second time offender, federal funding regulations require the offender serve at 

least 120 hours (5 days) confinement. The 120 hours confinement can be served through a 
combination of time imprisoned, on a work release program, or under a house arrest 
program.12  K.S.A. 2020 Supp. 8-1567(b)(1)(B) currently requires the offender serve the 
minimum 120 hours confinement consecutively. Serving the 120 hours consecutively is not 
required by federal funding regulations; therefore, H.B. 2377 provides flexibility for the 
offender to serve the ordered confinement as best serves the court, jail, and offender. If an 
offender is placed on probation, K.S.A. 2020 Supp. 8-1567(b)(1)(B) requires the offender serve 
at least 48 consecutive hours imprisonment before the offender is allowed to participate in a 
work release or house arrest program. This requirement places an unnecessarily restrictive 
requirement on jails and offenders. An offender on probation should be required to serve at 
least 48 hours of the minimum 120 hour confinement  imprisoned, but the offender should be 
eligible to participate in a work release or house arrest program regardless of whether the 
offender has yet served any time imprisoned. 
 
 For a third time offender, H.B. 2377 maintains the distinction between a third-time 
misdemeanor and a third-time felony. The third offense is a felony if the person has had a 
prior conviction which occurred within the preceding 10 years.13 Federal funding requirements 
require a third time offender to serve at least 240 hours (10 days) confinement.14 K.S.A. 2020 
Supp. 8-1567(b)(1)(C) exceeds the federal minimum by requiring at least 90 days confinement. 
If the offender is eligible and is placed on probation, H.B. 2377 requires probation to include at 
least 30 days confinement, rather than 90 days confinement, because 30 days is comparable 
to the confinement requirements that are commonly required for other Class A 
misdemeanors. Due to the escalated nature of being a third-time offender, H.B. 2377 

 
12 23 C.F.R. 1275.3 & 1275.4. 
13 K.S.A. 2020 Supp. 8-1567(b)(1)(D). 
14 23 C.F.R. 1275.4. 
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maintains the requirement that the offender serve 48 consecutive hours imprisonment before 
becoming eligible to serve the remaining term of confinement through a work release or 
house arrest program. 
 
 The federal funding regulations require the federally required minimum number of 
hours of confinement be satisfied by counting hour-for-hour credit for time confined. The 
current practice is to require counting hour-for-hour credit for the entire length of 
confinement ordered, even if it exceeds the federally required minimum. To ease the burden 
of counting thousands of hours, H.B. 2377 requires that an offender receive hour-for-hour 
credit for time confined up to the federally required minimum (120 hours for a second time 
offender and 240 hours for a third time offender), but for any time served beyond the federal 
minimum, the offender would receive day-for-day credit. Therefore, for a third time 
misdemeanor offender who is placed on probation and ordered to serve 30 days confinement, 
the offender would receive hour-for-hour credit for the first 240 hours, but then receive day-
for day credit for the remaining 20 days of confinement.  
 
 For third offense felony offenders, as well as fourth and subsequent offenders, H.B. 
2377 designates the offense as severity level 6 nonperson felonies and the offender would be 
sentenced according to the criminal sentencing guidelines. If the offender had no other 
criminal history beside the two misdemeanor DUI convictions and the third offense felony DUI 
conviction, the sentence for the third offense level 6 felony DUI conviction would be 
presumptive probation.15 For a fourth offense felony DUI conviction, if the offender had no 
other criminal history besides the DUI convictions, the sentence for the fourth offense DUI 
conviction would be a border box, meaning the court would have the option to grant 
probation or order the offender to spend time in prison. 
 
 Though it is not part of H.B. 2377, the Committee strongly supports the creation and 
implementation of DUI treatment courts in Kansas. DUI treatment courts could allow 
participation in lieu of a mandatory minimum prison sentence and help reduce the prison 
population by assisting offenders to successfully complete treatment. 
 
DUI in a Commercial Vehicle – Section 4 
 

The penalties for DUI offenses committed in a commercial motor vehicle are governed 
by K.S.A. 2020 Supp. 8-2,144. The penalties are the same as a DUI committed in a non-
commercial vehicle under K.S.A. 2020 Supp. 8-1567, except a third offense in a commercial 
vehicle is always a felony. The amendments to K.S.A. 2020 Supp. 8-1567 in H.B. 2377, also 
apply to DUIs in commercial vehicles in K.S.A. 2020 Supp. 8-2,144.  
 
DIVERSION – Sections 9 & 10 
 

K.S.A. 2020 Supp. 12-4415(b) and 22-2908(b)(1) prohibit city, county, or district 
attorneys from entering into diversion agreements in lieu of further criminal proceedings on a 

 
15 See K.S.A. 2020 Supp. 21-6804 (sentencing grid for nondrug crimes). 
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complaint alleging a DUI if the defendant has (1) previously participated in diversion of an 
alcohol related offenses; (2) has been previously convicted of driving a commercial or non-
commercial vehicle under the influence; or (3) if the alcohol related offense involved a motor 
vehicle accident or collision that resulted in personal injury or death. K.S.A. 2020 Supp. 12-
4415(b) uses the language “an alcohol related offense” rather than directly citing to K.S.A. 
2020 Supp. 8-1567; however, the term “alcohol related offense” is defined in K.S.A. 2020 
Supp. 12-4413(e) to mean a DUI offense as described in K.S.A. 2020 Supp. 8-1567. H.B. 2377 
amends K.S.A. 2020 Supp. 12-4415(b) to include a direct reference to the definition in K.S.A. 
2020 Supp. 12-4413(e) in order to point practitioners to the definition and remind city 
attorneys that K.S.A. 2020 Supp. 12-4415(b) does not prohibit diversion agreements in a wider 
range of offenses that could be alcohol related in the generic use of the term. 

 
 Currently, both K.S.A. 2020 Supp. 12-4415(b)(3) and 22-2908(b)(2) prohibit a diversion 
agreement if the DUI incident involving a motor vehicle accident or collision results in any 
personal injury or death.  H.B. 2377 allows a diversion agreement if a DUI incident involving a 
motor vehicle accident or collision results in personal injury to only the driver committing the 
DUI.  
 
 Finally, H.B. 2377 adds subsections to K.S.A. 2020 Supp. 12-4415 and 22-2908 
specifying that the prosecutor may not enter into a diversion agreement on a complaint or 
traffic citation alleging a violation of acts prohibited under Chapter 8 of the Kansas Statutes 
Annotated if the defendant was a commercial driver’s licenses holder at the time the violation 
was committed or any subsequent time prior to being considered for diversion. This is the 
current law for CDL holders under K.S.A. 2020 Supp. 8-2,150; however, in order to prevent 
prosecutors from mistakenly entering into diversion agreements with CDL holders, H.B. 2377  
amends K.S.A. 2020 Supp. 12-4415 and 22-2908 to reiterate the rule. The Committee 
recommends the State continue to comply with 49 C.F.R. 384.226 and prohibit the masking of 
convictions associated with commercial motor vehicle license holders. 
 
PLEA BARGAINING – Sections 4 & 7 
 
 K.S.A. 2020 Supp. 8-2,144(l) and 8-1567(n) prohibits plea bargaining agreements for 
the purpose of permitting a person charged with a DUI to avoid the mandatory DUI penalties. 
The Committee reviewed the history of this provision and agreed that this prohibition is 
important to ensure that an impaired driver is held accountable for his or her behavior and is 
not allowed to avoid the DUI penalties. However, sometimes prosecutors interpret this 
prohibition to mean that the prosecutor cannot amend a DUI charge to a different crime or 
dismiss the charge if the evidence is insufficient to support a DUI conviction beyond a 
reasonable doubt. Also, in many jurisdictions, DUI charges are filed by law enforcement, 
without an opportunity for a full review of the facts by a prosecutor. Prosecutors have an 
ethical obligation not to pursue criminal charges that are not supported by the evidence.16 If 
someone is charged with a DUI but the court finds the law enforcement’s initial traffic stop 
and search were unconstitutional and suppresses the evidence of the law enforcement’s 

 
16 2020 Kan. S. Ct. R. 363 (Rule 3.8 Special Responsibilities of a Prosecutor). 



13 
 

observations, field sobriety tests, and preliminary screening tests, then the prosecutor should 
not continue to charge the person with DUI unless there is other evidence supporting the 
charge. H.B. 2377 clarifies K.S.A. 2020 Supp. 8-2,144(l) and 8-1567(n) so a prosecutor does not 
mistakenly think the prosecutor is prohibited from amending or dismissing an unsupported 
DUI charge.  
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