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H-8 Sentencing Overview and Criminal Justice
Reform Issues

The Kansas Sentencing Guidelines Act (KSGA) became effective
July 1, 1993. Two grids containing the sentencing range for drug
crimes and nondrug crimes were developed for use as a tool in
sentencing. (Note: The source for the attached sentencing range
grids for drug offenses and nondrug offenses is the Kansas
Sentencing Commission Guidelines, Desk Reference Manual,
2019. These sentencing grids are provided at the end of this article.)

The sentencing guidelines grids provide practitioners with an
overview of presumptive felony sentences.

The determination of a felony sentence is based on two factors: the
current crime of conviction and the offender’s prior criminal history.
The sentence contained in the grid box at the juncture of the
severity level of the crime of conviction and the offender’s criminal
history category is the presumed sentence. [See KSA 21-6804(c).]

Off-Grid Crimes

The crimes of capital murder (KSA 2018 Supp. 21-5401), murder
in the first degree (KSA 2018 Supp. 21-5402), terrorism (KSA 2018
Supp. 21-5421), illegal use of weapons of mass destruction (KSA
2018 Supp. 21-5422), and treason (KSA 2018 Supp. 21-5901) are
designated as off-grid person crimes.

Kansas law provides for the imposition of the death penalty, under
certain circumstances, for a conviction of capital murder (KSA
2018 Supp. 21-5401 and KSA 2018 Supp. 21-6617). Where the
death penalty is not imposed, a conviction of capital murder carries
a life sentence without possibility of parole (KSA 2018 Supp. 21-
6620(a)).

The remaining off-grid person crimes require life sentences with
varying parole eligibility periods. Persons convicted of premeditated
first-degree murder committed prior to July 1, 2014, are eligible
for parole after serving 25 years of the life sentence, unless the
trier of fact finds there were aggravating circumstances justifying
the imposition of the Hard 50 sentence (requiring 50 years to be
served before parole eligibility).
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Persons convicted of premeditated first-degree
murder committed on or after July 1, 2014, are
eligible for parole after serving 50 years of the
life sentence, unless the sentencing judge,
after a review of mitigating circumstances, finds
substantial and compelling reasons to impose
the Hard 25 sentence instead (KSA 2018 Supp.
21-6620(c)).

Persons convicted of felony murder committed
prior to July 1, 2014, are parole eligible after
serving 20 years of the life sentence. Persons
convicted of felony murder convicted on or after
July 1, 2014, are parole eligible after serving 25
years of the life sentence.

Persons convicted of terrorism, illegal use of
weapons of mass destruction, or treason are
parole eligible after serving 20 years of the life
sentence (KSA 2018 Supp. 22-3717(b)(2)).

Also included in the off-grid group are certain
sex offenses against victims under the age of 14:
aggravated human trafficking (KSA 2018 Supp.
21-5426(b)), rape (KSA 2018 Supp. 21-5503),
aggravated indecent liberties (KSA 2018 Supp.
21-5506(b)), aggravated criminal sodomy (KSA
2018 Supp. 21-5504(b)), commercial sexual
exploitation of a child (KSA 2018 Supp. 21-6422),
and sexual exploitation of a child (KSA 2018
Supp. 21-5510). Offenders sentenced for these
off-grid crimes are parole eligible after 25 years
in confinement for the first offense, parole eligible
after 40 years in confinement for the second
offense, or sentenced to life without parole if they
have been convicted of two or more of these
offenses in the past.

Drug Grid and Nondrug Grid

The drug grid is used for sentencing on drug
crimes described in KSA Chapter 21, Article 57.
The nondrug grid is used for sentencing on other
felony crimes. In both grids, the criminal history
categories make up the horizontal axis and the
crime severity levels make up the vertical axis.

Each grid contains nine criminal history categories
(2019 Drug Grid (PDF); 2019 Nondrug Grid

(PDF)).

The drug grid contains five severity levels; the
nondrug grid contains ten severity levels. A thick,
black dispositional line cuts across both grids.
Above the dispositional line are unshaded grid
boxes, which are designated as presumptive
prison sentences. Below the dispositional line
are shaded grid boxes, which are designated as
presumptive probation sentences.

The grids also contain boxes that have a dark
shaded color through them, which are referred
to as “border boxes.” A border box has a
presumptive prison sentence, but the sentencing
court may choose to impose an optional nonprison
sentence, which will not constitute a departure.
The nondrug grid contains three border boxes, in
levels 5-H, 5-I, and 6-G. The drug grid contains
seven dark-shaded border boxes, in levels 4-E,
4-F, 4-G, 4-H, 41, 5-C, and 5-D. [See KSA 2018
Supp. 21-6804 and KSA 2018 Supp. 21-6805.]

Grid Boxes

Within each grid box are three numbers, which
represent months of imprisonment. The three
numbers provide the sentencing court with a
range for sentencing. The sentencing court has
discretion to sentence within the range. The
middle number in the grid box is the standard
number and is intended to be the appropriate
sentence for typical cases. The upper and lower
numbers should be used for cases involving
aggravating or mitigating factors sufficient to
warrant a departure, as explained in the next
paragraph. [See KSA 2018 Supp. 21-6804 and
KSA 2018 Supp. 21-6805.]

The sentencing court may depart upward to
increase the length of a sentence up to double
the duration within the grid box. The court also
may depart downward to lower the duration of a
presumptive sentence. [See KSA 2018 Supp. 21-
6815, 21-6816, and 21-6817.] The court also may
impose a dispositional departure, from prison to
probation or from probation to prison (KSA 2018
Supp. 21-6818).

In State v. Gould, 271 Kan. 394, 23 P.3d 801
(2001), the predecessor to KSA 21-6815 was
found to be “unconstitutional on its face” for
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the imposition of upward durational departure
sentences by a judge and not a jury. In the 2002
Legislative Session, the departure provisions
were amended to correct the upward durational
departure problem arising from Gould. This
change became effective June 6, 2002. The jury
now determines all of the aggravating factors
that might enhance the maximum sentence,
based upon the reasonable doubt standard.
The trial court determines if the presentation of
evidence regarding the aggravating factors will
be presented during the trial of the matter or in a
bifurcated jury proceeding following the trial (KSA
2018 Supp. 21-6817).

Probation

Probation is a procedure by which a convicted
defendant is released after sentencing, subject to
conditions imposed by the court and supervision
by the probation service of the court or community
corrections, generally without serving a period of
imprisonment (although a felony offender may be
sentenced to up to 60 days in county jail as a
condition of probation). As noted above, a number
of boxes on the sentencing grids are designated
“presumptive probation,” which means probation
will be granted unless a departure sentence
is imposed. An underlying prison sentence is
still imposed in felony cases where probation is
granted, and if the defendant is subsequently
found to have violated a condition of probation,
probation may be revoked and the defendant
required to serve the underlying prison term.
Other possible actions a court may take upon
a violation of probation include continuation of
probation, modification of probation conditions,
or various periods of confinement in a county jail.
In some cases, where a defendant has waived
the right to a hearing on a probation condition
violation, court services or community corrections
may impose two- or three-day “quick dip” periods
of confinement in a county jail.

Recommended probation terms range from under
12 to 36 months, depending on the severity level
of the crime of conviction.

Sentencing Considerations

The sentencing court should consider all
available alternatives in determining the
appropriate sentence for each offender. The
sentencing guidelines seek to establish equity
among like offenders in similar case scenarios.
Rehabilitative measures are still an integral part
of the corrections process, and criminal justice
professionals continue efforts to reestablish
offenders within communities. The guidelines do
not prohibit sentencing courts from departing from
the prescribed sentence in atypical cases. The
sentencing court is free to choose an appropriate
sentence, or combination of sentences, for each
case (KSA 2018 Supp. 21-6604).

Good Time and Program Credits

While incarcerated, offenders may earn (and
forfeit) “good time” credits based upon factors
like program and work participation, conduct, and
the inmate’s willingness to examine and confront
past behavioral patterns that resulted in the
commission of crimes. Depending on the severity
level of the offender’s crime, the offender may
earn up to 15 percent or 20 percent of the prison
part of the sentence in good time credits.

Additionally, offenders serving only a sentence
for a nondrug severity level 4 or lower crime or
a drug severity level 3 or lower crime may earn
up to 120 days of credit that may be earned
by inmates “for the successful completion of
requirements for a general education diploma,
a technical or vocational training program, a
substance abuse treatment program or any
other program designated by the secretary which
has been shown to reduce offender’s risk after
release.”

With a few exceptions for certain sex-related
offenses, any good time or program credits
earned and subtracted from an offender’s prison
sentence are not added to the postrelease
supervision term (KSA 2018 Supp. 21-6821).

H-8 Sentencing Overview and Criminal Justice Reform Issues 3
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Postrelease Supervision

Once offenders have served the prison portion of
a sentence, most must serve aterm of postrelease
supervision. For certain sex-related offenses, the
postrelease supervision term is increased by
the amount of any good time or program credits
earned and subtracted from the prison portion of
the offender’s sentence. For crimes committed
on or after July 1, 2012, offenders sentenced
for drug severity levels 1-3 or nondrug severity
levels 1-4 must serve 36 months of postrelease
supervision, those sentenced for drug severity
level 4 or nondrug severity levels 5-6 must
serve 24 months, and those sentenced for drug
severity level 5 or nondrug severity levels 7-10
must serve 12 months. These periods may be
reduced based on an offender’s compliance and
performance while on postrelease supervision
(KSA 2018 Supp. 22-3717(d)(1)).

While on postrelease supervision, an
offender must comply with the conditions
of postrelease supervision, which include
reporting requirements; compliance with laws;
restrictions on possession and use of weapons,
drugs, and alcohol; employment and education
requirements; restrictions on contact with victims
or persons involved in illegal activity; and other
conditions. A“technical violation” of the conditions
of postrelease supervision (such as failure to
report) will result in imprisonment for six months,
reduced by up to three months based upon the
offender’s conduct during the imprisonment. A
violation based upon conviction of a new felony
or a new misdemeanor will result in a period
of confinement as determined by the Prisoner
Review Board, up to the remaining balance of the
postrelease supervision period (KSA 2018 Supp.
75-5217).

Recent Notable Sentencing Guidelines
Legislation

In 2010, the Kansas Criminal Code, including
the sentencing guidelines, was recodified. The
recodification took effect July 1, 2011. Citations
in this article are to the recodified code.

In 2012, the Legislature passed Senate Sub. for
Sub. for HB 2318, which changed the drug grid
from a four-level grid to a five-level grid, adding
a new level 2 with penalties falling between
the existing first and second levels of the grid.
The new grid also expanded the presumptive
imprisonment boxes and the border boxes.

In 2013, the Legislature passed HB 2170, which
represented the recommendations of the Justice
Reinvestment Working Group, a statutorily
created body charged with analyzing the Kansas
criminal justice system and, based upon that
analysis, providing evidence-based policy options
that would reduce recidivism and, at the same
time, the increasing prison population. Among
other provisions, the bill implemented a series
of graduated sanctions for probation violators,
including 2- or 3-day jail stays and 120- or 180-
day prison stays. [Note: 2019 SB 18 eliminated
the 120- or 180-day prison stay sanctions.]

In June 2013, the U.S. Supreme Court’s decision
in Alleyne v. U.S., 570 U.S. 2151, 133 S. Ct.
2151, 186 L. Ed. 2D 314 (2013), called the
constitutionality of Kansas’ Hard 50 sentencing
statute (KSA 21-6620) into doubt. Since 1994,
in cases where a defendant was convicted of
premeditated first-degree murder, the statute
had allowed the sentencing court to impose a life
sentence without eligibility for parole for 50 years
when the judge found one or more aggravating
factors were present. The Alleyne decision
indicated such determinations must be made by
the trier of fact (usually a jury) using a reasonable
doubt standard, rather than by the sentencing
judge.

In response to the Alleyne decision, the Kansas
Attorney General requested Governor Brownback
call the Kansas Legislature into Special Session
“for the purpose of repairing” the Hard 50
sentence. The Governor subsequently called
the Legislature into Special Session starting
September 3, 2013, to respond to Alleyne.

Before the 2013 Special Session, the Special
Committee on Judiciary met to review Alleyne,
receive testimony, and report preliminary findings
to the House and Senate Judiciary Committees
at the commencement of the Special Session.

Judiciary, Corrections, and Juvenile Justice
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The Special Committee recommended language
for a bill that would institute a jury procedure for
the Hard 50 determination.

Atthe Special Session, the Legislature considered
and passed HB 2002, which was an amended
version of the language proposed by the Special
Committee. HB 2002 went into effect upon its
publication in the Kansas Register (September 6,
2013).

In 2014, the Legislature passed HB 2490,
which included amendments to the sentencing
provisions for premeditated first-degree murder,
attempted capital murder, and felony murder.

The bill increased the default sentence for
premeditated first-degree murder committed on
or after July 1, 2014, from the Hard 25 sentence
to the Hard 50 sentence. The sentencing judge
may impose the Hard 25 sentence if the judge
reviews mitigating factors and finds substantial
and compelling reasons to impose the lesser
sentence.

The bill also imposed the Hard 25 sentence for
attempted capital murder (previously a severity
level 1 felony) and felony murder (previously a
Hard 20 sentence).

If a defendant’s criminal history when sentenced
for any of these crimes would subject the
defendant to imprisonment for a term exceeding
the Hard 50 or Hard 25 sentence (as applicable),
the defendant will be required to serve the
mandatory minimum term equal to the sentence
established under the sentencing guidelines.

In 2015, the Legislature passed HB 2051, which
increased the amount of good time inmates
sentenced for post-July 1, 2012, drug severity
level 3 crimes may earn, to try to restore the
general good time eligibility criteria to a similar
state as it existed before the 2012 changes to the
drug grid. The bill also increased the amount of
time from 60 days to 90 days that may be earned
by any eligible inmate for program credits.

In 2016, the Legislature passed three bills related
to sentencing: HB 2151, HB 2447, and HB 2463.
HB 2151 authorized the Secretary of Corrections

(Secretary)totransfercertainlow-tomoderate-risk
offenders to house arrest pursuant to community
parenting release if the conditions listed in the
bill are met and the Secretary determines the
offender’s placement in the program is in the
child’s best interests. The Secretary can return
an offender to a correctional facility to serve the
remaining sentence if the offender fails to comply
with release requirements.

HB 2447 increased the maximum number of
days an inmate’s sentence may be shortened
for earning program credits from 90 days to 120
days.

The bill also permitted the dismissal of parole,
conditional release, or postrelease supervision
violation charges to be conditioned upon the
released inmate agreeing to credit being withheld
for the period of time from the date the Secretary
issued a warrant to the date the offender was
arrested or returned to Kansas.

HB 2463 amended statutes governing the
determination of criminal history to add nongrid
felonies, nondrug severity level 5 felonies, and
any drug severity level 1 through 4 felonies
committed by an adult to the list of juvenile
adjudications that will decay if the current crime
of conviction is committed after the offender
reaches age 25. The bill also allowed a court to
continue or modify conditions of release for, or
impose a 120- or 180-day prison sanction on, an
offender who absconds from supervision, without
having to first impose a 2- or 3-day jail sanction.
Finally, the bill made a violation or an aggravated
violation of the Kansas Offender Registration
Act a person offense if the underlying crime (for
which registration is required) is a person crime.
If the underlying crime is a nonperson crime,
the registration offense is a nonperson crime.
Previously, a violation or aggravated violation
of the Kansas Offender Registration Act was a
person crime regardless of the designation of the
underlying crime.

Legislation passed by the 2017 Legislature
involving sentencing included SB 112 and HB
2092. SB 112, among other changes, enacted the
Law Enforcement Protection Act. This act created
a special sentencing rule with enhanced penalties
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if a trier of fact finds beyond a reasonable doubt
that an offender committed a nondrug felony
offense (or an attempt or conspiracy to commit
such offense) against a law enforcement officer
while the officer was performing the officer’s
duty or solely due to the officer’s status as a law
enforcement officer.

HB 2092, among other changes, amended law
related to mandatory minimum sentences. The
bill clarified mandatory minimum sentences will
not apply if, due to criminal history, the offender
would be subject to presumptive imprisonment for
a severity level 1 crime for a term longer than the
mandatory minimum. In such case, the offender
would serve a sentence equal to the longer term
and would not be eligible for parole until the entire
sentence is completed. In addition, the sentence
could not be reduced by good time credits.

In 2019, the Legislature passed SB 18, which
makes numerous amendments regarding crimes,
punishments, and criminal procedure. Among its
provisions are the following.

The bill removes the ability of the sentencing court
to specifically withhold authority from supervising
court services or community corrections officers
to impose certain probation violation sanctions of
confinement in a county jail for a 2-day or 3-day
period or an additional 18 days of confinement in
a county jail.

The billalso removes probation violation sanctions
allowing the court to remand the defendant to the
custody of the Secretary for periods of 120 or 180
days and removes and modifies other related
provisions.

The bill amends a mitigating factor that may be
applied when the victim was an aggressor or
participant in the criminal conduct associated with
the crime of conviction, to prohibit the application
of this factor to a sexually violent crime or to
electronic solicitation, when: a) the victim is less
than 14 years old and the offender is at least 18
years old, or b) the offender hires any person by
giving, or offering to or agreeing to give, anything
of value to the person to engage in an unlawful
sex act.

The bill also amends law related to correction of
an illegal sentence by specifying such sentences
may only be corrected while the defendant is
serving the sentence.

The bill also amends law related to classification
of out-of-state criminal history of a defendant
by listing certain factors or circumstances that
would result in the out-of-state crime being
considered a person felony for Kansas criminal
history classification purposes, if such factors
or circumstances are elements of the crime as
defined by the convicting jurisdiction.

Criminal Justice Reform Issues

During the 2018 and 2019 Legislative Sessions,
legislation aimed at targeting specific criminal
justice reform issues has been passed.

Wrongful Conviction Compensation

In 2018, the Legislature passed HB 2579,
concerning wrongful conviction compensation.

The bill creates a civil cause of action entitling
claimants to recover damages from the State for
wrongful conviction if the claimants can establish,
by a preponderance of the evidence, several
elements specified in the bill. Claimants must
bring suit within two years of the the criminal
charges’ dismissal, finding of not guilty on retrial,
or pardon of a claimant. Claimants convicted,
imprisoned, and released from custody before
July 1, 2018, are required to commence an action
no later than July 1, 2020.

Claimants entitled to damages will receive
$65,000 for each year of imprisonment and
not less than $25,000 for each additional year
a claimant served on parole or postrelease
supervision or was required to register as an
offender under the Kansas Offender Registration
Act, whichever is greater. The court must order
the award be paid as a combination of an initial
payment not to exceed $100,000 or 25 percent
of the award, whichever is greater, and the
remainder as an annuity not to exceed $80,000
per year. (Claimants may designate a beneficiary
for the annuity.) Alternatively, the court may order

Judiciary, Corrections, and Juvenile Justice
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one lump-sum payment if it is in the claimant’s
best interests.

The court may also award other non-monetary
relief, including counseling, housing assistance,
and personal financial literacy assistance. Further,
claimants are entitled to reasonable attorney fees
and costs incurred in an action brought under the
bill of not more than $25,000, unless the court
authorizes a greater reasonable total upon a
showing of good cause; tuition assistance; and
participation in the state health care benefits
program.

The bill outlines additional details regarding
procedure, claim payment, tuition assistance,
and health care benefits. It also provided for
a certificate of innocence for the claimant,
an expungement order, and destruction of
biological samples held by the Kansas Bureau of
Investigation.

As of August 2019, the State has agreed to pay
compensation to two exonerated persons under
the provisions of the bill. The State agreed to
pay $1.10 million to Richard Jones, who was
incarcerated for nearly 17 years. The State also
agreed to pay $1.03 million to Floyd Bledsoe,
who was incarcerated for 16 years.

Criminal Justice Reform Commission

In 2019, the Legislature passed HB 2290, which,
among other provisions, established the Kansas
Criminal Justice Reform Commission.

The bill establishes a 19-member Criminal Justice
Reform Commission (Commission), composed of
legislators, Judicial Branch personnel, prosecutors
and defense attorneys, and other stakeholders,
and requires the Commission to analyze, review,
and study various criminal justice topics specified
by the bill. The Commission must submit an
interim report to the Legislature by December 1,
2019, and a final report and recommendations to
the Legislature by December 1, 2020.

Kansas Closed Case Task Force

HB 2290 also establishes a 15-member Kansas
Closed Case Task Force, composed of legislators,
executive branch officials, and stakeholders, and
requires the Task Force to develop a plan to
ensure uniform statewide policies and procedures
related to the handling, reporting, investigation,
and sharing of information regarding hits to the
state-combined DNA index system (CODIS)
related to solved and unsolved cases. The Task
Force is required to complete the plan by October
1, 2020, and submit a report by December 1,
2020. The Task Force will expire December 30,
2020.

H-8 Sentencing Overview and Criminal Justice Reform Issues 7
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For more information, please contact:
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Jordan.Milholland@kIrd.ks.gov

Robert Gallimore, Managing Research Analyst

Robert.Gallimore@klrd.ks.gov

Kansas Legislative Research Department
300 SW 10th Ave., Room 68-West, Statehouse

Topeka, KS 66612

Phone: (785) 296-3181
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