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KANSAS AUTOMOBILE DEALERS ASSOCIATION

February 11, 2021
To: The Honorable Adam Smith, Chairman and Members of the House Taxation Committee
From: Don L. McNeely, KADA President

Re:  HB 2143 - AN ACT concerning sales taxation; relating to exemptions on certain cash
rebates on sales or leases of new motor vehicles; making exemption permanent.

Good afternoon, Chairman Smith and Members of the House Taxation Committee. My name is
Don McNeely, and I serve as the President of the Kansas Automobile Dealers Association,
which represents the franchised new motor vehicle industry in Kansas.

On behalf of KADA, I am pleased to appear today in support of HB 2143, which would remove
the sunset of June 30, 2021 for the sales tax exemption associated with motor vehicle
manufacturer rebates from the taxable selling price or lease amount of a new motor vehicle.

As some members of the committee will remember, the sales tax exemption for motor vehicle
manufacturer rebates was enacted during the 2018 Legislative Session. The original bill that
session, SB 367 passed the Senate unanimously with no sunset. The House Taxation Committee
held hearings on the bill with no opponents. However, the House Taxation Committee did not
work the bill.

Ultimately in Tax Conference, the House offered to place SB 367 in a stand-alone bill with a
three-year sunset. The Senate again approved the bill 38-0 and on the last day of Veto Session
the House passed the provision 111-6. This happens to be the second time this exemption has
passed the Legislature with a three-year sunset. As a similar scenario happened during the 2006
Legislative Session.

Prior to the Covid-19 Pandemic bringing the 2020 Legislative Session to a halt, this proposal was
contained in SB 322, which passed the Senate Committee unanimously and was approved in the
Senate on a vote of 35-2 but was never scheduled for hearings by the House Taxation Committee
or worked into a conference committee.

While this issue is not new to the members of the Committee, it is extremely important to the
consumers of Kansas and the retail motor vehicle industry. Since the enactment of the sales tax
exemption, the heated debate with consumers about the taxability of a manufacturer rebate has
ceased. This had become commonplace prior to the enactment of the sales tax exemption,
especially along the state-line, due to the fact that Missouri, Oklahoma and Nebraska had
previously exempted manufacturer rebates from the taxable selling price or lease amount of a
new motor vehicle.
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With the average selling price of a new vehicle now over $38,000 and the average combined
sales tax rate in Kansas getting close to 10 percent, the imposition of sales tax on manufacturer
rebates is detrimental to new vehicle sales. Especially, when you consider that the State of
Kansas makes more money off the sale of a new vehicle than does the selling dealer.

The franchised new vehicle dealers are a critical and essential part of our state’s economy
generating $5.9 billion in annual retail sales. Needless to say, it is extremely important that the
State of Kansas have a healthy and viable retail motor vehicle industry and a tax structure which
supports it. Sales of new and used cars, as well as parts and service, are one of the single largest
source of sales tax revenue for our state and the majority of our city and county governments.

On behalf of the Kansas Automobile Dealers Association, I thank the Members of the
Committee for allowing me to appear before you this afternoon in support of HB 2143.



