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HB 2184 6

regulation act shall not offer any gift, gratuity, emolument or employment
to any of the following:

(1) The secretary of health and environment or any officer, employee
or agent of the department of health and environment;

(2) the secretary of agriculture or any officer, employee or agency of
the department of agriculture;

(3) the secretary of revenue, the director of alcoholic beverage control
or any officer, employee or agent of the division of alcoholic beverage
control; or

(4) any member of the board of healing arts.

(c) The board of healing arts and the secretaries of health and
environment, agriculture and revenue may adopt rules and regulations for
their respective agencies allowing the acceptance of official hospitality by
members of the board of healing arts or the respective secretary and
employees of each such respective agency, subject to any limits as
prescribed by such rules and regulations.

(d) If any member of the board of healing arts, the secretary of health
and environment, the secretary of agriculture, the secretary of revenue or
any employee of each such respective agency violates any provision of this
section, such person shall be removed from such person's office or
employment.

(e) Violation of any

(f) Nothing in this section shall be construed to prohibit the
prosecution and punishment of any person for bribery as defined in the
Kansas criminal code.

New Sec. 7. All actions taken by the board of healing arts, the
secretary of health and environment, the secretary of agriculture or the
director of alcoholic beverage control under the Kansas medical marijuana
regulation act shall be in accordance with the Kansas administrative
procedure act and reviewable in accordance with the Kansas judicial
review act.

New Sec. 8. (a) A patient seeking to use medical marijuana or a
caregiver seeking to assist a patient in the use or administration of medical
marijuana shall apply to the department of health and environment for
registration. The physician who is treating the patient, or such physician's
designee, shall submit the application on the patient's or caregiver's behalf
in such form and manner as prescribed by the secretary of health and
environment.

(b) The application for registration shall include the following:

(1) A statement from the physician certifying that:

level 7, nonperson felony
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Information that does not identify a person may be released in summary,
statistical or aggregate form. The provisions of this subsection shall expire
on July 1, 2026, unless the legislature reviews and reenacts such
provisions in accordance with K.S.A. 45-229, and amendments thereto,
prior to July 1, 2026.

(f) The fees for a patient or caregiver registration, or the renewal
thereof, shall be set by rules and regulations adopted by the secretary of
health and environment in an amount not to exceed:

(1) Except as specified in paragraph (2), $50 for a patient registration; -
(2) $25 for a patient registration if the patient is indigent or is a electronlcally Upon scannin
veteran; and o scannable g J

(3) $25 for a caregiver registration.

(g) A registration shall be valid for a period of one year from the date identification
the identification card is issued and may be renewed by submitting a
registration renewal application and paying the required fee. Card,

New Sec. 9. The department of health and ens#romiment shall assign a J
unique 24-character identifigati ¢r to each registered patient and
caregiver when issuing an identification card. <fcensed Tetail dispensaries
may—l:équesu\g:riﬁcation by the department that a patient or caregiver has a
valid registration.

New Sec. 10. (a) A patient registered pursuant to section 8, and —l -
amendments thereto, who obtains medical marijuana from a licensed retail shall obtain
dispensary may:

(1) Use medical marijuana;

(2) subject to subsection (b), possess medical marijuana; and

(3) possess any paraphernalia or accessories as specified in rules and
regulations adopted by the secretary of health and environment.

(b) A registered patient may possess medical marijuana in an amount
not to exceed a 90-day supply.

(c) Nothing in this section shall be construed to authorize a registered
patient to operate a motor vehicle, watercraft or aircraft while under the
influence of medical marijuana.

New Sec. 11. (a) A caregiver registered pursuant to section 8, and
amendments thereto, who obtains medical marijuana from a licensed retail
dispensary may:

(1) Subject to subsection (b), possess medical marijuana on behalf of
a registered patient under the caregiver's care;

(2) assist a registered patient under the caregiver's care in the use or
administration of medical marijuana; and

(3) possess any paraphernalia or accessories as specified in rules and
regulations adopted by the secretary of health and environment.

(b) A registered caregiver may possess medical marijuana on behalf
of a registered patient in an amount not to exceed a 90-day supply. If a

or entering such
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authorization to purchase, possess and use medical marijuana are
substantially comparable to the eligibility requirements for a patient or
caregiver registration and identification card issued under section 8, and
amendments thereto; and

(2) the other state recognizes a patient or caregiver registration and
identification card issued under section 8, and amendments thereto.

(b) If a reciprocity agreement is entered into in accordance with this
section, the authorization issued by the other state shall be recognized in
this state, shall be accepted and valid in this state and shall grant the
patient or caregiver the same right to use, possess, obtain or administer
medical marijuana in this state as a patient or caregiver who was registered
and issued an identification card under section 8, and amendments thereto.

New Sec. 17. (a) Except as provided in subsection (j), a physician
seeking to recommend treatment with medical marijuana shall apply to the
board of healing arts for a certificate authorizing such physician to
recommend treatment with medical marijuana. The application shall be
submitted in such form and manner as prescribed by the board. The board
shall grant a certificate to recommend if the following conditions are
satisfied:

(1) The application is complete and meets the requirements
established in rules and regulations adopted by the board of healing arts;
and

(2) the applicant demonstrates that the applicant does not have an
ownership or investment interest in or compensation arrangement with an
entity licensed by the department of health and environment, the
department of agriculture or the director of alcoholic beverage control
under this act or an applicant for such licensure.

(b) A certificate to recommend shall be renewed when the holder's
license to practice medicine and surgery is renewed, conditioned upon the
holder's certification of having met the requirements in subsection (a) and
having completed at least two hours of continuing medical education in
medical marijuana annually in accordance with subsection (g).

(c) A physician who holds a certificate to recommend treatment with
medical marijuana may recommend that a patient be treated with medical
marijuana if:
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unless the patient:

(A) Has recently moved from out-of-state, and:
(i) Previously had medical marijuana
recommended by a physician in another state;
and

(i) has the patient's previous physician contact
the new physician to share the patient's medical
history and verify that the patient had a
qualifying medical condition;

(B) currently has a recommendation for medical
marijuana, but no longer has a relationship with
the recommending physician, the patient's
previous physician contact the new physician to
share the patient's medical history and verify
that the patient had a qualifying medical
condition; and

(C) is a veteran, in which case the patient shall
not need an existing physician-patient
relationship for an initial recommendation

(1) The patient has been diagnosed with a qualifying medi 6
condition;

(2) a bona fide physician-patient relati ip has existed for a |
minimum of Qﬁ)nWe specitied by rules and regulations
adopted by the board

(3) an in-person physical examination of the patient was performed
by the physician; and

(4) the physician, or the physician's designee, has requested from the
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(B) currently has a recommendation for medical marijuana, but no longer has a relationship with the recommending physician, the patient's previous physician contact the new physician to share the patient's medical history and verify that the patient had a qualifying medical condition; and
(C) is a veteran, in which case the patient shall not need an existing physician-patient relationship for an initial recommendation
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this state and the number of patients seeking to use medical marijuana.

(d) A licensed cultivator shall not cultivate medical marijuana for
personal, family or household use or on any public land.

New Sec. 22. (a) A laboratory licensee may:

(1) Obtain medical marijuana from one or more licensed cultivators,
processors or retail dispensaries; and

(2) conduct medical marijuana testing in accordance with rules and
regulations adopted by the secretary of agriculture.

(b) When testing medical marijuana, a licensed laboratory shall:

(1) Test the marijuana for potency, homogeneity and contamination;
and

(2) prepare and submit a report of the test results to the licensee
requesting such testing.

New Sec. 23. (a) The fees for a cultivator license shall be set by rules
and regulations adopted by the secretary of agriculture in an amount not to
exceed:

(b) The fees for a laboratory license shall be set by rules and
regulations adopted by the secretary of agriculture in an amount not to
exceed:

(1) $2,000 for a laboratory license application;

(2) $18,000 for a laboratory license; and

(3) $20,000 for a renewal of a laboratory license.

New Sec. 24. The secretary of agriculture may refuse to issue or
renew a license, or may revoke or suspend a license for any of the
following reasons:

(a) The applicant has failed to comply with any provision of the
Kansas medical marijuana regulation act or any rules and regulations
adopted thereunder;

(b) the applicant has falsified or misrepresented any information
submitted to the secretary in order to obtain a license;

(¢) the applicant has failed to adhere to any acknowledgment,
verification or other representation made to the secretary when applying
for a license; or

(d) the applicant has failed to submit or disclose information
requested by the secretary.

New Sec. 25. (a) In addition to or in lieu of any other civil or criminal
penalty as provided by law, the secretary of agriculture may impose a civil

$20,000 for a license application or renewal with
$18,000 being refundable if the application is
denied; and

(2) an annual license fee of $20,000 for up to 500
simultaneously grown, mature flowering plants,
plus:

(A) an additional $2,000 annual fee for each
additional 50 simultaneously grown, mature
flowering plants up to a total of 1,000; and

(B) an additional $2,500 annual fee for each
additional 50 simultaneously grown, mature
flowering plants above 1,000.

(3) (A) Cultivators may not have more than 1,750
simultaneously grown, mature flowering plants, but
a cultivator may apply for, and the director may
approve, an additional 500 plants each annual
renewal.

(B) Simultaneously grown, mature flowering plants
include only those plants that will be harvested for
the biomass available for sale and do not include
mother plants or clones
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(1) Obtain medical marijuana from one or more licensed processors
or distributors; and

Proposed Amendment HB 2184

unless prohibited by
subsection (e),

(2) <dispense or sell medical marijuana in accordance with subsection

(b).

(b) When dispensing or selling medical marijuana, a retail dispensary

shall: /

(1) Dispense or sell medical marijuana only to a person who shows a
current, valid identification card and only in accordance with a written
recommendation issued by a physician;

(2) report to the prescription monitoring program database the
information required by K.S.A. 65-1683, and amendments thereto;

(3) label the package containing medical marijuana with the
following information:

(A) The name and address of the licensed processor that produced the
product and the retail dispensary;

(B) the name of the patient and caregiver, if any;

(C) the name of the physician who recommended treatment with
medical marijuana;

(D) the directions for use, if any, as recommended by the physician;

(E) a health warning as specified in rules and regulations adopted by
the secretary of health and environment;

(F) the date on which the medical marijuana was dispensed; and

(G) the quantity, strength, kind or form of medical marijuana
contained in the package.

(c) Aretail dispensary shall employ only those individuals who hold a
current, valid employee license issued pursuant to section 31, and
amendments thereto, and who have completed the training requirements
established by rules and regulations adopted by the secretary of revenue.

(d) A retail dispensary shall not make public any information it
collects that identifies or would tend to identify any specific patient.

Carpenter amendment 2
3/22/2021

Prepared by M Sterling
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provides the dispensary with

(e) The board of county
commissioners of any county may
prohibit the establishing of
dispensaries in such county by
adoption of a resolution prohibiting
dispensaries in such county.

Il

New Sec. 33.  (a) Only the following forms of medical marijuana may
be dispensed under the Kansas medical marijuana regulation act:

(1) Oils;

(2) tinctures;

(3) plant material,

(4) edibles;

(5) patches; or

(6) any other form approved by the secretary of revenue under section
34, and amendments thereto.

(b) The smoking, combustion or vaporization of medical marijuana is
prohibited.

(¢) Any form or method of using medical marijuana that is considered
attractive to children is prohibited.
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payment of all fees and fines imposed by the director pursuant to the
Kansas medical marijuana regulation act and any other moneys received
by or on behalf of the director pursuant to such act to the state treasurer in
accordance with the provisions of K.S.A. 75-4215, and amendments
thereto. Upon receipt of each such remittance, the state treasurer shall
deposit the entire amount in the state treasury to the credit of the medical
marijuana business entity regulation fund. Moneys credited to the medical
marijuana business entity regulation fund shall only be expended or
transferred as provided in this section. Expenditures from such fund shall
be made in accordance with appropriation acts upon warrants of the
director of accounts and reports issued pursuant to vouchers approved by
the director or the director's designee.

(b) Moneys in the medical marijuana business entity regulation fund
shall be used for the payment or reimbursement of costs related to the
regulation and enforcement of the possession, processing and sale of
medical marijuana by the division of alcoholic beverage control.

New Sec. 39. (a) On or before July 1, 2022, the secretary of revenue
shall adopt rules and regulations to administer the Kansas medical
marijuana regulation program and implement and enforce the provisions of
the Kansas medical marijuana regulation act. Such rules and regulations
shall:

(1) Establish application procedures and fees for licenses issued
under sections 28 and 31, and amendments thereto;

(2) specify the following:

(A) The conditions for eligibility for licensure;

(B) subject to paragraph (C), the criminal offenses for which an
applicant will be disqualified from licensure; and

(C) the criminal offenses that will not disqualify an applicant from
licensure if the applicant was convicted of or pleaded guilty to the offense
more than five years prior to the date the application for licensure is filed;

(3) establish the number of licenses that will be permitted at any one

Proposed Amendment HB 2184
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time in accordance with sections<€9;30and 31, and amendments thereto;
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(4) establish a license renewal schedule, renewal procedures zﬁ\that shall not exceed a total of:

renewal fees; and

(5) establish training requirements for employees of retail
dispensaries.

(b) The director shall propose such rules and regulations as necessary
to carry out the intent and purposes of this act. After the hearing on a
proposed rule and regulation has been held as required by law, the director
shall submit the proposed rule and regulation to the secretary of revenue
who, if the secretary approves it, shall adopt the rule and regulation.

(c) When adopting rules and regulations under this section, the
secretary shall consider standards and procedures that have been found to

(A) 10 cultivator licenses;

(B) 5 laboratory license;

(C) 10 distributor licenses;

(D) 10 processor licenses; and
(E) 60 dispensary licenses
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(D) 10 processor licenses; and
(E) 60 dispensary licenses
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(b) is confidential. Except as otherwise permitted by any other state or
federal law, a financial institution shall not make the information available
to any person other than the customer to whom the information applies and
any trustee, conservator, guardian, personal representative or agent of that
customer.

(d) As used in this section:

(1) "Financial institution" means any bank, trust company, savings
bank, credit union or savings and loan association or any other financial
institution regulated by the state of Kansas, any agency of the United
States or other state with an office in Kansas; and

(2) "financial services" means services that a financial institution is
authorized to provide under chapter nine or article 22 of chapter 17 of the
Kansas Statutes Annotated, and amendments thereto, as applicable.

New Sec. 45. Nothing in this act authorizes the secretary of
agriculture or the director of alcoholic beverage control to oversee or limit
research conducted at a postsecondary educational institution, academic
medical center or private research and development organization that is
related to marijuana and is approved by an agency, board, center,
department or institute of the United States government, including any of
the following:

(a) The agency for health care research and quality;

(b) the national institutes of health;

(c) the national academy of sciences;

(d) the centers for medicare and medicaid services;

(e) the United States department of defense;

(f) the centers for disease control and prevention;

(g) the United States department of veterans affairs;

(h) the drug enforcement administration;

(1) the food and drug administration; and

(j) any board recognized by the national institutes of health for the
purpose of evaluating the medical value of health care services.

New Sec. 46. The provisions of the Kansas medical marijuana
regulation act are hereby declared to be severable. If any part or provisio
of the Kansas medical marijuana regulation act is held to b rd; invalid
or unconstitutional, such part or provision shall ect or impair any of
the remaining parts or provisio e Kansas medical marijuana
regulation act, and a remaining provisions shall continue in full
force and g

New Sec. 47. (a) It shall be unlawful to store or otherwise leave
medical marijuana where it is readily accessible to a child under the age of
18 years. Such conduct shall be unlawful with no requirement of a
culpable mental state.

(b) Violation of this section is a class A person misdemeanor.
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New Sec. 47. (a) The division of
alcoholic beverage control is hereby
renamed the division of alcohol and
marijuana control. Any reference in law
to the division of alcoholic beverage
control shall refer to the division of
alcohol and marijuana control.

(b) Any reference in law to the director,
employees or agents of alcoholic
beverage control shall refer to the
director, employees or agents of alcohol
and marijuana control.
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thereto, is found in possession of not more than 1.5 ounces of marijuana
and provides a statement from such person's physician recommending the
use of medical marijuana to treat such person's symptoms.

vy za ! a o dalalitotin s o ding

eondition If the substance involved is medical marijuana, as defined in (1)‘1
section 2, and amendments thereto, the provisions of subsections (b) and
(c) shall not apply to any person who is fégistered or licensed pursuant to
the Kansas medical marijuana regulation act, section 1 et seq., and

amendments thereto, whose possession is authorized by such act<— “or

(e) It shall not be a defense to charges arising under this section that ’ . . - .
the defendant was acting in an agency relationship on behalf of any other (2) not a resident of this state and is in this
party in a transaction involving a controlled substance or controlled state temporar”y and whose acquisition and
substance analog. . . .. ..

Sec. 57. K.S.A. 2020 Supp. 21-5707 is hereby amended to read as possession of medical marijuana Is in
follows: 21-5707. (a) It shall be unlawful for any person to knowingly or conformity with the laws of the state where
intentionally use any communication facility: : :

(1) In committing, causing, or facilitating the commission of any such personis a resident

felony under K.S.A. 2020 Supp. 21-5703, 21-5705 or 21-5706, and
amendments thereto; or

(2) in any attempt to commit, any conspiracy to commit, or any
criminal solicitation of any felony under K.S.A. 2020 Supp. 21-5703, 21-
5705 or 21-5706, and amendments thereto. Each separate use of a
communication facility may be charged as a separate offense under this
subsection.

(b) Violation of subsection (a) is a nondrug severity level 8,
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(2) not a resident of this state and is in this state temporarily and whose acquisition and possession of medical marijuana is in conformity with the laws of the state where such person is a resident




