
Real Estate Licensure; SB 60

SB 60 amends statutes related to licensing of real estate brokers and the Kansas Real 
Estate Commission (Commission).

For real estate broker’s licenses, changes include:

● Reducing from five years to three years preceding the date of application for the 
license the time for  which an applicant  for  a broker’s license may satisfy the 
requirement of two years’ experience as a resident salesperson or a licensee in 
another state. The Commission is authorized to adopt rules and regulations to 
implement this provision;

● Increasing the pre-license education course from 24 hours to 30 hours, and no 
more  than  45  hours,  and  renaming  the  course  the  “Kansas  Real  Estate 
Fundamentals Course”;

● Creating a new course titled “Kansas Real Estate Management Course,” which is 
30  hours  to  45  hours  in  length  and  is  required  for  original  broker’s  license 
applicants beginning January 1, 2020;

● Eliminating alternative licensing criteria for any applicant living in a county with a 
population of less than 20,000 people;

● Eliminating the $50 late fee for  licenses renewed after  the renewal  date,  but 
before the license expiration date;

● Increasing  the  late  fee  from  $50  to  $100  for  a  license  renewed  after  the 
expiration date, but before the six-month grace period ends; and

● Eliminating outdated references to temporary licenses and certain fees that are 
no longer assessed by the Commission.

For the Commission, changes include:

● Clarifying statutory requirements for deactivated real estate licenses that have 
not been suspended or revoked for which reinstatement is being sought;

● Removing a requirement the Commission maintain all files, records, and property 
at its Topeka office;

● Updating and eliminating certain outdated terms;

● Consolidating provisions from various statutes and regulations; and

● Adding  technical  clarifying  language  related  to  fees,  name  changes,  office 
locations,  approved  real  estate  courses  of  instruction,  and  Commission 
leadership elections.
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