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SUMMARY OF 2020 SB 493 AND HEALTH CARE PROVIDER INSURANCE 
AVAILABILITY ACT BACKGROUND INFORMATION

This memorandum summarizes the amendments to the Health Care Provider Insurance 
Availability Act (HCPIAA) proposed by 2020 SB 493 and provides background information on 
the  HCPIAA and the  Health Care  Stabilization  Fund (HCSF) and recent  actions  that  could 
impact the HCSF, the HCSF Board of Governors (Board), and health care providers required to 
carry professional liability insurance coverage.

SB 493 Brief

Beginning January 1, 2021, SB 493 would increase the required minimum professional 
liability  insurance  coverage  (termed  “basic  coverage”) maintained  by  a  defined  healthcare 
provider from $200,000 per claim and $600,000 per year aggregate to $500,000 per claim and 
$1,500,000 per year aggregate. [Note: Professional liability insurance is medical malpractice or 
medical liability insurance and is defined in KSA 40-3401 as “insurance providing coverage for 
legal liability arising out of the performance of professional services rendered or that should 
have been rendered by a healthcare provider.”]  The number  of  options for  coverage levels 
limiting the liability of  the HCSF would be reduced from three to two. The bill  would amend 
provisions concerning the membership on the Board and its powers, duties, and function under 
certain  conditions.  Additionally,  the  bill  would  address  the  elimination  of  medical  liability 
insurance requirements prescribed in the HCPIAA for certain healthcare providers on July 1 
following a Supreme Court decision overturning the medical malpractice noneconomic damages 
cap in statute and resulting dissolution of the HCSF through a delinquency proceeding by the 
Commissioner of Insurance (Commissioner).

The bill also would delete an expired provision and make technical amendments relating 
to form and style.

Required Healthcare Provider Medical Liability Insurance Coverage
(KSA 2019 Supp. 40-3402)

The bill would clarify the current levels of medical liability insurance coverage required to 
be maintained by a healthcare provider under the HCPIAA would continue in effect through 
December 31, 2020. As a condition of active licensure or other statutory authorization to render 
professional service as a healthcare provider in Kansas on and after January 1, 2021, each 
resident  healthcare  provider  would  be  required  to  maintain  a  policy  of  professional  liability 
insurance approved by the Commissioner and issued by an insurer duly authorized to transact 
business in Kansas in which the limit of the insurer’s liability would be no less than $500,000 per 



claim and subject to an annual aggregate of not less than $1,500,000 for all claims during the 
policy period. Self-insured healthcare providers and those healthcare providers to whom the 
current coverage requirements do not apply would be exempt from this coverage limit.

HCSF Board of Governors Function and Membership (KSA 2019 Supp. 40-3403) 

Board Powers, Duties, and Functions

If  the Supreme Court  declared the statutory noneconomic damages cap in  KSA 60-
19a02 unconstitutional in an action for personal injury or death arising out of the rendering or 
failing  to  render  professional  services  by  a  healthcare  provider,  the  bill  would  expand  the 
powers, duties, and functions of the Board under the HCPIAA to require:

● Board cooperation with the Commissioner in developing and executing a plan for 
a delinquency proceeding under  the Insurers  Supervision,  Rehabilitation,  and 
Liquidation Act (Act); and

● Board consent, if requested by the Commissioner, to any action deemed by the 
Commissioner to be in the best interest of the public, including any action under 
the Act.

Board Membership

The bill would amend Board membership provisions to require at least two of the three 
members  appointed  by  the  Commissioner  from  a  list  of  nominees  submitted  to  the 
Commissioner by the Kansas Medical Society to be doctors of medicine who are licensed to 
practice medicine and surgery in Kansas.

HCSF Liability (KSA 2019 Supp. 40-3403)

Coverage Options

Each healthcare provider subject to the HCPIAA must choose among HCSF coverage 
options. The three current HCSF coverage options would remain available through December 
31, 2020,  and would limit the HCSF liability with respect to judgments or settlements relating to 
injury or death arising from the rendering of or failure to render professional services from July 
1, 1989, and prior to January 1, 2021. 

On and after January 1, 2021, every healthcare provider would be required to choose 
one of  two HCSF coverage options limiting the HCSF liability for  judgments or  settlements 
relating to injury or death arising from the rendering of or failure to render professional services, 
as follows:

● $500,000  for  any  one  judgment  or  settlement  against  a  healthcare  provider, 
subject  to an aggregate limit  of  $1,500,000 for  all  judgments and settlements 
arising from all claims made in the fiscal year against such healthcare provider; 
or
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● $1,500,000 for any one judgment or settlement against a healthcare provider, 
subject  to an aggregate limit  of  $4,500,000 for  all  judgments and settlements 
arising from all claims made in the fiscal year against such healthcare provider.

Inactive Healthcare Provider Tail Coverage

The bill would delete a subsection that expired on July 1, 2014, limiting HCSF liability for 
inactive  healthcare  providers  to  those  healthcare  providers  in  compliance  with  HCSF 
requirements for not less than five years or those who remedy non-compliance as provided in 
statute. [Note:  2014 law authorized  this “tail  coverage” immediately upon the cancellation or 
inactivation of a Kansas license and that provider’s professional liability insurance policy.]

Expiration of Statutes Requiring Healthcare Provider Liability Insurance (KSA 2019 Supp. 
40-3403)

If  the  statutory  noneconomic  damages  cap  outlined  in  KSA 60-19a02  is  declared 
unconstitutional by the Supreme Court in an action for personal injury or death arising out of the 
rendering of or failure to render professional services by a healthcare provider, the provisions of 
KSA 2019 Supp. 40-3402 and any other provisions of law requiring healthcare providers to 
maintain professional liability insurance and pay a surcharge to the HCSF would expire on July 
1,  following such Supreme Court  ruling.  Upon such ruling,  the HCSF would be deemed an 
insurer  under  the  Insurance  Code  (Kansas Statutes  Annotated, Chapter  40)  and  would  be 
subject to any actions deemed by the Commissioner to be in the best interest of the public, 
including the delinquency proceedings outlined in the Act.

Liability of Insurer for HCSF-Covered Provider or Self-Insurer (KSA 2019 Supp. 40-3408)

The statutory provision limiting liability for an insurer for a healthcare provider covered by 
the HCSF or a self-insurer to the first $200,000 of a claim for personal injury or death arising out 
of the rendering of or failure to render professional services by such healthcare provider, subject 
to an annual aggregate of not less than $600,000 for all such claims, would remain in place 
through December 31, 2020. On and after January 1, 2021, the liability for an insurer for a 
healthcare provider covered by the HCSF or a self-insurer would be limited to the first $500,000 
of such a claim, subject to an annual aggregate of $1,500,000 for all such claims against the 
health care provider.

Application of the Insurers Supervision, Rehabilitation, and Liquidation Act (KSA 40-
3606)

The bill would add the HCSF to the list of entities to which the Act applies.

Background

SB 493 was requested for introduction by the Senate Committee on Ways and Means at 
the request of Senator Suellentrop and was referred to the Senate Committee on Public Health 
and Welfare on March 11, 2020. A hearing scheduled for March 18, 2020, was canceled, and 
the Legislature adjourned on March 19. 
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The HCPIAA (enacted in 1976) created the Health Care Stabilization Fund in an effort to 
stabilize the availability of medical professional liability coverage for healthcare providers. The 
law created a basic liability requirement for  certain healthcare providers and established an 
availability plan in order to provide required basic professional liability insurance coverage for 
those providers of health care in Kansas unable to obtain such coverage from the commercial 
market. The HSCF receives revenue from professional liability coverage surcharge payments 
made by healthcare providers. Responding to a medical malpractice liability crisis, the 1988 
Legislature conducted an interim study and authorized significant changes to the HCPIAA in 
1989  SB  18.  Among  those  changes,  the  bill  created  three  different  options  for  healthcare 
providers to supplement their basic $200,000 per claim coverage purchased from a commercial 
insurer  or  the  Health  Care  Provider  Insurance  Availability  Plan:  $100,000, $300,000, or 
$800,000 per claim (with annual aggregate limits three times the per claim coverage).

During the 2019 Interim, the Special Committees on Financial Institutions and Insurance 
and Judiciary,  as well  as the Health Care Stabilization Fund Oversight Committee, received 
updates from staff and conferees on the June 14, 2019, Kansas Supreme Court decision in 
Hilburn v. Enerpipe Ltd. [Note: Please see the Hilburn memorandum for additional details.]

Fiscal Information

According  to  the  fiscal  note  prepared  by  the  Division  of  the  Budget  on  the  bill  as 
introduced, the Health Care Stabilization Fund (agency) states the fiscal impact of enactment of 
SB 493 is unclear. Current law allows providers to choose among three options for levels of 
coverage. The proposed change would allow for two options for levels of coverage, and the 
coverage provided by both options would more than double the current levels. The HCSF would 
collect higher surcharge rates from providers, and expenditures would increase if the changes 
result in higher judgments and settlements. The cost of attorney and attorney-related expenses 
would  most  likely  increase.  It  is  not  possible  to  accurately  estimate  future  revenues  or 
expenditures.  The  change  would  require  an  additional  actuary  study  to  be  conducted  to 
determine the fiscal effect this bill would have on the agency.

The Kansas Insurance Department  states that  if  under  the provisions of  the bill  the 
Commissioner  were  required to  institute  a delinquency proceeding involving  the  HCSF,  the 
Department would need one additional staff attorney and one additional administrative support 
position.  First-year  costs  for  salaries  and  other  operating  expenditures  are  estimated  at 
$138,600 from the agency fee fund.

The Office of Judicial Administration (OJA) estimates the bill could increase expenditures 
for the Judicial Branch from additional cases filed in district courts. This would increase the time 
spent by court personnel to process and research the petitions. Also, any cases filed under the 
provisions of the bill could increase revenues received from docket fees. However, the OJA is 
unable to estimate the number of cases that would occur under the bill;  therefore, the fiscal 
effect  on  the  Judicial  Branch  is  unknown.  Any  fiscal  effect  associated  with  SB  493  is  not 
reflected in The FY 2021 Governor’s Budget Report.
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