Legislative Research Department Brief
SB 25 - FY 2019 Claims Bill

During the 2018 Interim:
Excluding Motor Vehicle Fuel Tax, the Joint Committee on Special Claims Against the

State
e Heard 94 claims, of which 89, or 94.7 percent, were filed against the Department of

Corrections or the correctional facilities;

e Approved 6, or 6.4 percent, of the claims heard for a total of $3,824.31, which is only to
be paid out of the agencies’ existing funds;

e Denied 72, or 76.6 percent, of the claims heard;

e Carried over to the next interim 8, or 8.5 percent, of the claims heard;

* Dismissed without prejudice 5, or 5.3 percent, of the claims heard; and

e Had 3, or 3.2 percent, of the claims withdrawn by the claimant.

Section 2, page 1. The Committee’s recommendation includes $47.87 from Hutchinson
Correctional Facility, Lansing Correctional Facility, and Larned Correctional Mental Health
Facility for lost property, which included a yoga mat, fan, light bulb, and sausages.

Section 3, pages 1 and 2. The Committee’s recommendation includes $1,776.44 from the
Kansas Department for Aging and Disability Services for property damage to the claimant’s
vehicle.

Section 4, page 2. The Committee’s recommendation includes $2,000 from the Kansas
Department of Children and Families for the expenses related to the expungement of the
claimant’s daughter’s name from the Kansas Child Abuse and Neglect Registry.

Section 5, pages 2 to 4. The Committee’s recommendation includes $80,837.74 from the
Department of Revenue for Motor-Vehicle Fuel Tax Refunds to be paid out of the fund with the
same name. Refunds paid by the Department of Revenue must be received within one year
after the date of purchase. If the refund request is submitted after that date, the only option is to
a file claim with Joint Committee on Special Claims Against the State. Refunds are allowed for
taxes paid on fuel used for off-highway uses, including school buses and farming.

Section 6, page 4. Requires signed releases prior to payment being made.

Section 7, page 4. The bill would be effective upon publication in the statute book.
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