
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Testimony to the Senate Committee on Judiciary in Support of SB 80 

Feb.20, 2019 

 

Chairman Wilborn, Vice Chairman Rucker, Ranking Member Miller, and members of the committee, 

 

The Johnson County Sheriff’s Office supports SB 80 - Increasing the criminal penalty for criminal 

possession of a weapon by a felon and adding ammunition to the definition of weapon.  Deputies of our 

Patrol and Traffic Division are concerned by the revolving door of felons they repeatedly encounter on 

the streets of Johnson County. We should not be reencountering convicted felons, who were in criminal 

possession of a firearm while committing a crime or a traffic violation over and over again. 

The current penalty for this crime is a severity level 8, non-person felony, which results in presumptive 

probation for all but someone with a criminal history of 2 or more person felonies. Kansas law 

concerning criminal possession of a weapon by a convicted felon is weak compared to other states in 

the region. 

 

 



 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Our research, conducted in the fall of 2018, shows that Kansas is not even in the same ball park as most 

states when it comes to length of sentence that is imposed for this crime. We looked at the four 

surrounding states – Missouri, Nebraska, Oklahoma, and Colorado. We also looked at states that had 

populations similar to Kansas.  Those states were New Mexico, Iowa, Nevada, Mississippi, Utah, and 

Arkansas. 

Of the Border States, Kansas comes in dead last for this offense, with a maximum possible sentence of 

23 months of imprisonment but only if the person has been convicted of three or more person felonies.  

Colorado has a maximum sentence of 3 years, Missouri and Oklahoma have a maximum possible 

sentence of 10 years, and Nebraska has a maximum possible sentence of life in prison – basically the 

same standards we have for what we call the “Hard 50.” 

Of the states with a comparable population we were next to last. Only New Mexico has a more lenient 

sentence with a maximum time of eighteen months. Iowa has a maximum sentence of five years, 

Nevada a maximum of six, Mississippi has a maximum of ten, Utah a maximum of fifteen, and Arkansas 

a maximum of twenty years.  

Today’s 24 hours news cycle brings the risks that law enforcement officers nationwide face from 

convicted felons who have no legal right to a firearm. As of February 18, 2019, as I wrote this testimony, 

seventeen officers have died in the line of duty – eight of those by gunfire.  Ten of those who were killed 

were killed while the offender was committing a felonious action. Our deputies and other Kansas 

officers are not immune from this risk. 

The object of this bill is to put the “worst of the worst” in prison so they can’t continue to cause harm. 

The common objection to passing this bill in the past has been that the bed impact statement is too 

high. If we increase the penalty for this type of criminal conduct, there won’t be a revolving door 

releasing these offenders back on the street.  We won’t be encountering them as often.  Bed space use 

may go up, but I’m willing to bet admissions will go down. And isn’t that the goal?  Don’t we want 

violent felons behind bars instead of out on parole or probation committing other crimes? 

Some criminals look at the penalties for various crimes and pick the states to commit them in because of 

that sentence.  History is a good teacher. In 1933, a controversy arose in the Kansas Legislature. Kansas 

had repealed the death penalty in 1907.  Evidence came to light that some deliberate murders were 

being committed in Kansas by persons who had committed murders in a neighboring state or states.  

Those surrounding states all had death penalties. The story was that the murders in Kansas were 

committed because the sentence of life imprisonment in Kansas would be granted by consenting to  



 

 

 

 

 

 

 

extradition to Kansas, thus avoiding the death penalty in the other jurisdictions. Kansas reinstated the 

death penalty in 1935.1 

A more contemporary example is that of serial killer John Robinson. He took a plea for the murders he 

committed in Missouri to avoid the death penalty.  Missouri courts, unlike Kansas, will carry out a death 

sentence. Eight-eight executions have been conducted since 1989. Kansas has carried out zero in the 

same amount of time. We have ten people on death row. When Robinson was extradited to Kansas for 

the murders committed here, he did not take a plea to avoid the death penalty.  Why?  He felt there was 

no risk of being executed. And, in a surprising outcome, our supreme court, upheld his death penalty 

sentence on appeal.  

Kansas wants to attract business and people to the state.  We don’t need to be the state that criminals 

want to move to because they know they can get a more lenient sentence for their crime. We need to 

come into alignment with our neighboring states. 

The Johnson County Sheriff’s Office asks for your support of SB 80. 

 

 
 
 
Greg Smith 
Special Deputy for Government Affairs 
Johnson County Sheriff’s Office 
Phone: 913.249.2954 
Email: gregory.smith@jococgov.org 
 

 

 

 

 

 

                                                           
1 Capital Punishment in Kansas – 4, “History of Capital Punishment in Kansas,” 
https://www.kansasmemory.org/item/209168/page/4, accessed Feb. 17, 2019 
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