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Chair Tyson and members of the committee, | am pleased to submit testimony in strong support of SB460
on behalf of NFIB Kansas. NFIB Kansas is the leading small business organization in Kansas representing
small and independent businesses. A non-profit, nonpartisan organization founded in 1943, NFIB Kansas
represents the consensus views of its almost 4,000 members in Kansas.

The NFIB supports SB460, which increases the threshold filing amounts for retailers to submit sales taxes
to the state. Specifically, the bill would increase the threshold amounts from $400 to $15,000 for the
annual filing; from $4,000 to $25,000 for quarterly filings; and from $40,000 to $50,000 for the monthly
filings. Thus, sales tax amounts greater than $50,000 would be prepaid on a monthly basis. Specific to the
annual sales tax threshold, it determines whether retailers are required to prepay sales taxes in the first
15 days of every month based upon collections from the subsequent calendar year to the Department of
Revenue. Under current law, when the total retail sales tax collected for the state by a retailer exceeds
$40,000 in any calendar year, the retailer is required to pay the sales tax liability for the first 15 days of
each month to the director on or before the 25t day of that month. SB460 would increase that threshold
from $40,000 to $50,000. These changes will give much-needed breathing room for small retailers.

The state sales tax rate has jumped to 6.5% in recent years. Therefore, even if prices remained flat on
goods, retailers are collecting larger amounts of sales tax on the same amount of goods sold they sold 5
years ago. It is only fair and reasonable to increase the threshold to account for the increase in sales tax
rate. Additionally, the prices of goods and services has naturally increased due to inflation. Thus,
regardless of the sales tax rate increase, it is reasonable to revisit and increase the threshold from time to
time. The change will not result in less sales tax remitted to the state. It will only change whether some
smaller retailers are required to prepay monthly their sales tax collections based upon the previous year’s
collections.

Finally, the collection and remittance of sales tax by retailers is a costly and burdensome state
requirement. Unlike our neighboring states, Kansas retailers are not compensated for their role in
serving as the state’s tax collector. We continue to support the allowance for retailers to retain a portion
of sales tax they collect for the state to account for their cost and burden. Such proposal is not before
you today, but we urge the legislature to consider this allowance in the future.

Thank you for the opportunity to submit comments and we urge you to pass out SB460 favorably.
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