! am writing this letter to you in seeking support for Lipdating the Kansas Antique Tag Law.

Every year a new vehicle year is added to the 35-year-old list of approved vehicles to display the state-
issued Kansas Antique Tag or a Kansas Vintage State Issued Original Tag. As it is written today to qualify
as an Antique Tag the vehicle must be as close to the original as possible, without any significant
alternations to the major component parts (motor, transmission, frame, wheels AND tires or body).

We believe that the existing law is a potential safety concern for roadworthiness and a financial burden
to the classic car community, local businesses and possibly to the State of Kansas. Vintage vehicle
owners are very particular about their vehicles and believe that upgrading and/or improving on
components or equipment installed on the vehicle will not only benefit the safety needs of a vehicle
aged over 35-years-old but the longevity to preserve the heritage of the Antique Vehicle Community in
the State of Kansas.

At this time 80-90 percent of the Kansas Antigue Tags and vehicles are in violation due to this existing
law. State Law Enforcement officers are heavily enforcing the existing law based on the vehicle owners'
updated components and/or equipment installed on the vehicle instead of the year of the vehicle. |
hope the vintage vehicle community can count on your support to change the existing law to focus back
on the year of the vehicle and not the components or equipment age installed on the vehicle.

Thank you for your time and consideration,

Rocky Slagle
316 250-81%6
8961 S. Webb Rd.

Derby, Kansas 67037



