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M. Chairman and members of the House Taxation Committée: My name is Tom Palace and I
am the Executive Director of the Petroleum Marketers and Convenience Store Association of
Kansas (PMCA), a statewide trade association that represents over 275 independent petroleum

marketers and convenience store retailer throughout Kansas.
1 appreciate the opportunity to offer testimony in opposition to HB 2381/HB2370.

PMCA does not support the fuel tax increase in these bills. In fact, on the contrary, we believe
the fuel tax should be lowered. If the Kansas Legislature can approve sweeping over $2.5 billion
dollars out of KDOT and continue with projects and maintenance, Kansans are paying more than

enough in fuel excise taxes.

The money that KDOT receives annually is sufficient to maintain roads and complete the road
projects (TWorks) that were promised years ago. ..that is if the legislature did not sweep the

funds for other administrative services.

For retailers that coinpete on the border, we will see further deterioration of their customer
base if these taxes are approved and Kansas will lose with lost sales tax.

Convenience store owners in Kansas who compete with bordering states are already at a
disadvantage due to the disparity of the excise tax rates. Current rates are:

KS  $.24 (gas) $.26 (diesel)
NE §30 $.30

MO  §$.17 $.17

Co §22 $.205

OK  $19 $.19

(does not inclnde environmental and inspection fees)

If HB 2381 passes Kansas will have the highest motor fuel tax rate of all 3 out of 4
contiguous states.
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Potential Motor Fuel Tax Advantages for contiguous states:

MO $.13 advantage on gas $.15 advantage on diesel tax
NE §$0 $.02

CO $.08 $.115

OK $.11 $.13

(Includes environmental and inspection fees)

! have also included with my tfestimony a state-by-state comparison of fuel tax rates for your
review.

Compare rates — Kansas will have the highest motor fuel tax rate!
Fuel retailers and distributors collect over $400 million annually in metor fuel tax.

Consumers buy fuel based on price. The National Association of Convenience Stores has
reported that consumers are more sensitive to gas prices than other top economic concerns.
Consumers will change their behavior to save a few cents per gallon. In fact, it would not be
uncommon for a person to drive 10-12 miles out of their way to save 2 cents per gallon. Price is
the deciding factor where consumers purchase fuel. If people are wiiling to drive 5-7 miles out
of their way to save 2 cents per gallon, it is a pretty good guess that driving 10-15 miles (or more)
out of their way to save 17 or 13 (MO &OK) cents per gallon makes sense.

What One Retailer Did

It is no secret that there is a tax disparity for retailers who compete along the border. Not too
long ago (2010) a Kansas retailer decided to change its street address fo a Missouri address. I am
referring to the actions taken by the QuikTrip Corporation. QuikTrip moved a store in Kansas
City, Kansas 100 feet to the east so that it would have a Missouri address — at a cost of $3.4
million. The loss to Kansas was estimated to be $1.4 million in state and local taxes. The $1.4
million is a financial loss that Kansas cannot afford. I would venture a gucss that if more Kansas
convenience store retailers had the corporate backing to be able to do the same thing Quik Ttip
did, they would give serious consideration to a similar move.

When fuel prices increase, so do credit card processing costs. ..and unlike the state or local
government, we cannot pass on the fees (o the consumer. Today 89% of fuel sales arc paid by
debit or credit card. For a convenience store credit card fees account for one of the highest
expense items on a P &L, just below employee costs.

Convenicncee stores are small businesses in Kansas that serve vatuable services for many arcas of
a community. In many instances the c-store is the only access to food, ie. bread, milk etc. For the
under privileged c-stores may be the only merchant accepting food stamps in their neighborhood.
In a number of instances, a C-Store also act as the only available source of over the counter
medication. And of course, could be the only fucling source for your vehicle.



Convenience stores are a major source of employment and sponsor many community activities
and events. The loss of which would have a huge impact on our cities and towns across the state.
We feel that C stores are often over looked for what they offer a community.

My point is an increase in taxes on motor fuel, the bread and butter of a convenience stores, will
affect all c-stores and have a huge impact on the Mom and Pop convenience stores that PMCA
represents. Legislation which is passed that gives a business in another state a competitive
advantage over a Kansas business is a slap in the face for the very businesses that legislators say

they want in our state.

Mr. Chairman, the tax increases being proposed by HB 2381 and HB 2370 will have a negative
impact on all convenience stores that try to compete on the border. Retailers are still feeling the
effects (lost sales) from the tobacco and sales tax increases levied in 2015. I can’t say that raising
motor fuel taxes will put someone out of business...but if you compete on the border it gives
your customer one more reason to drive across the border for convenience items.

Consumers won't change what they buy; they will change where they buy; they will simply find a
cheaper way to purchase their goods. More specifically, retailers who compete along the border
are hit the hardest when tax increases in their home state are passed. They watch the exodus of
their customers cross the state line without the wherewithal to do anything about the cost
disparity. They simply can’t lower their prices enough to be competitive.

The tax increases proposed are excellent economic development for our neighboring states!

Thank you.



State Motor Fuel Tax Rates

(Jannary 1,2019)

SOURCE: Compiled by FTA from varipus sources.
/I Tax rates do not include local option taxes. In AL, 1 - 3 cenis; HI, 8.8 1o 18.0 cent; IL, 5 cents in Chicago and 6 cents in Cook counly

{gasoline only); NV, 4.0 10 9.0 cents; OR, 1 to 5 cemts; SD and TW, one cent; and VA 2.1%.
12 Local tarxes for gascline and gasohol vary from 0 cents to 6.0 cents. Includes Inspection Fee, SCETS, & Statewide Lacal Tax.
/3 Carriers puy an additional surcharge equal to 1L-13 4 cents, KY-2% (g) 4.7% (d).
/4 Tax rate is based on the average wholesale price and is adjusted ennually The actual rates are: KY, 9% and UT, 16 5%.
/3 Portion of the rate is adjustable based on maintenance costs, sales volume, cost of fuel to state government, or inflation.

/6 Large trucks pay an additional (d) 3.5 cents (g) 12.6 cents. Actual rates (g) 5.1%, (d) 6%.

77 Califonia Gasoline subject to 2 25% sales tax. Dizsel subject to a 9 25% sales tax.
/8 Diesel rate specified is the fuel use tax rate on large trucks. Smallvehicles are subject to 18 cent tax rate.
19 On July 1, 2019, BRI fuel excise tax will increase io 34 cents, SC tax will increate to 22 cents, and the TN ax rates will increase to 26 cents (g) and 27 cernts (d)

GASOLINE DIESEL FUEL GASCHOL
Excise Fee/Tax Total Excise Fee/Tax Total  Excise Fee/Tax Tofal Notes
Alabama /1 180 180 190 190 180 180
Alaska 80 0955 895 80 095 895 80 065 895 Refining Surcharge
Arizona 180 10 180 260 18 270 180 10 190 /8 LUSTTax
Arkansas 215 03 218 225 03 228 215 03 21.8 Eavironmental fee
California 417 60 47.7 360 310 670 417 60 477 Includes prepaid sales tax /7
@ Colorado 220 220 205 205 220 220
' ” Connecticut 250 250 439 439 250 250 Plus a 8.1% Petroleum tax (gas)
Delaware 230 230 220 220 230 230 Plus09%GRT
Florida /2 18.1 13925 31425 181 138 323 18.1 13925 31425 Sales tax added to excise /2
Georgia /s 275 275 308 308 275 275 /5 Local sales tax additional
Hawaii /1 160 160 160 160 160 160 Sales tax additional
Idaho 320 1 330 320 1 330 320 1 330 Clean Water Fee
Ilincis /1 190 11 20.1 215 11 226 190 11 20.1  Sales tax add.,env. & LUST fee /3
Indiana /5 290 290 48.0 480 290 290 Sales tax additional
Towa 305 30.3 325 325 2940 290
«iKansas. 2407103 2503 260 103 2703 240 103 2503 Environmental & Inspection fees
, Kentucky 246 14 260 216 14 230 246 14 260 Environmental fee /4 /3
Louisiana 200 0125 20125 200 0125 20125 200 0.125 20.125 Inspection fec
Maine 300 300 312 312 300 300
Maryiand /5 353 353 3605 3605 353 353 /5
Massachusetts 240 240 240 240 240 240
Michigarn 263 263 263 263 263 263 Sales tax additional
Minnesota 285 0.1 28.6 285 0.1 286 285 0.1 286 Inspect fee
Mississippi 180 04 184 180 04 184 180 04 184 Environmental fee
Missouri 170 042 174 170 642 174 170 03 173 Inspection & Load fees
Montana 315 315 2925 2925 315 315
' Nebraska 286 08 305 2886 03 259 286 09 305 Petroleumfee /3
Nevada /1 230 0.805 23803 270 075 2775 230 0805 23.805 Imspection & cleanup fee
New Hampshire 222 1625 23825 222 1625 23825 222 1625 23.825 Oil discharge cleanup fes
New Jersey . 105 309 414 135 350 485 105 309 4140 Petroleumfee
New Mexico 170 1875 18875 210 1875 22875 170 1.875 18875 Petroleumloading fee
New York B80S 177 2575 80 1595 2395 805 177 258 Peiroleum Tax, Sales tax aditional
North Carolina 362 (025 3645 362 025 3645 362 025 3645 /5 Inspectiontax
North Dakota 230 230 230 230 230 230
Ohio 280 280 280 280 280 280
Cklahoma 190 10 200 190 10 200 190 10 200 Environmental fee
Oregon /1 340 340 340 340 340 340
Pennsylvania 576 576 741 74.] 378 576 Qil franchise tax only /5
Rhode Island /9 330 1 340 330 1 340 330 1 340 LUSTtax
South Carolina /9 200 075 2075 200 075 2075 200 075 20753 Inspection fee & LUST tax
South Dakota/l 280 2 300 280 2 3090 266 2 286 Inspection fee (gasohol E10)
Tennessee /1 /9 250 14 264 240 14 254 250 14 264 Petroleum Tax & Envir, Fee
Texas 200 200 200 200 200 200
Ttah 300 300 300 300 300 300 /4
Vermont /3 121 19.09 31.19 280 40 320 12.1 1909 31.19 Cleanup Fee & Trans.Fee
Virginia/l 162 162 202 202 162 162 /6
Washington 494 494 494 494 494 494 05%privilege tax
West Virginia 205 152 357 205 152 357 205 152 357 Sales tax added to excise
Wisconsin 3092 20 329 309 20 329 302 20 329 Petroleum Insp.Fee
Wyoming 230 I 240 230 1 2490 230 1 240 Ticensetax
Dist. of Columbia 235 235 2353 235 235 235
Federal 183 0.l 184 243 0l 244 130 04 130 LUSTtax



