
February 13, 2020 
 
 
 
Rep. John Barker, Chairman 
Kansas House Federal and State Affairs Committee 
RE:  Testimony in opposition to HB 2563 
 
Dear Representative Barker: 
 
Thank you for this opportunity to address this committee. I am Tara  
Nolen, Past-President of the Tobacco Free Kansas Coalition. I am here 
today representing the TFKC Board of Directors, policy committee and 
TFKCs nearly 300 members to oppose HB 2563 because it includes an 
inadequate flavor ban – the bill bans only  e-cigarette flavors with an 
exemption for menthol.   
 
Tobacco control and public health advocates recognize that the best 
way to protect youth from getting started using e-cigarettes, cigarettes 
or other tobacco products is to ban all flavors for all products. TFKC  
specifically and strongly opposes the exemption for menthol flavor in  
HB 2563.   
 
A menthol exemption will not adequately protect Kansas children and 
youth from initiating use of e-cigarettes because youth smokers are 
more likely to use menthol cigarettes than any other age group. Over 
half (54 percent) of youth smokers ages 12-17 use menthol cigarettes, 
compared to less than one-third of smokers ages 35 and older.1 
 

Menthol is a chemical compound that numbs the throat, reducing the 
harshness of smoking, thereby making menthol, both cigarettes and  
e-cigarettes more appealing to youth who are initiating tobacco use.2   
By masking the harshness with cooling menthol flavor, the tobacco  
industry makes it easier for beginners –primarily children – to try these 
products and then become addicted to them.  
 
Data from the government’s Population Assessment of Tobacco and 
Health (PATH) study confirms that youth menthol smokers are more 
likely to perceive menthol cigarettes as easier to smoke than regular 
cigarettes.3 
 
Despite TFKCs strong opposition to an e-cigarette only flavor ban with a 
menthol exemption, there are aspects of HB2563 that are very  
important to a robust T21 policy for Kansas that will complement the 
federal Tobacco 21 legislation passed at the end of 2019.  
 
TFKC supports the increase in the tobacco retail license fee from $25 
every two years to $100 every two years. This increase is important 
since the $25 fee has not changed since 1972 and no longer functionally 
funds enforcement.   



However, the Kansas Department of Revenue estimates that full enforcement of T21 would take an 
increase to $150 every two years. We encourage the Committee to consider increasing the tobacco 
retail license fee to $150 every two years to ensure enforcement agencies have the resources they 
need to enforce this law. 
 

TFKC supports that HB 2563 removes penalties for youth purchase, use and possession. The current 
Kansas statute now in effect includes penalties for youth purchase, use and possession of cigarettes 
and tobacco products (PUP). Rather than treat children as the wrongdoers, youth access laws should 
focus on limiting access to tobacco products. Sanctions against retailers are more easily and  
systematically enforced. It also makes more sense and it’s more effective to conduct compliance 
checks for retailers, who are fewer in number compared to youth and whose locations are both  
known and constant.  
 

In the areas of enforcement and decreased access of youth to tobacco products, HB 2563 includes  
an increase in compliance checks from one controlled buy per year to two buys annually. With this  
increase in efforts to secure compliance among retailers, it is important to consider increasing the  
tobacco retail license fee to $150 every two years as mentioned earlier. 
 

HB 2563 – Kansas’ Tobacco 21 legislation - includes provisions that will reduce the number of youth 
and young adults who start smoking; reduce smoking-caused deaths; and immediately improve the 
health of adolescents, young adults and young mothers who would be deterred from smoking. It will 
increase funding for enforcement and increase controlled buys to compel compliance among retailers.  
 

It does not however, address the most significant issue – the need for a comprehensive flavor  
prohibition.  The evidence is clear – children and youth use menthol flavored e-cigarettes, cigarettes 
and other tobacco products more than any other group. The exemption of menthol flavor included  
in HB 2563 is not a small compromise - it is a significant and harmful concession that puts children  
and youth at risk for a lifetime addiction. By including a ban on flavoring only on e-cigarettes and  
exempting menthol flavor from that prohibition, Kansas is missing the opportunity to do its very best 
to protect children and youth from the harmful impacts of tobacco use. 
 

Thank you for this opportunity. 
 
 
 
 

 
1 U.S. Federal Trade Commission (FTC), Cigarette Report for 2018, 2019, https://www.ftc.gov/system/files/documents/reports/federal-
tradecommission-cigarette-report-2018-smokeless-tobacco-report-2018/p114508cigarettereport2018.pdf [data for top 5 manufacturers only].; 
2 FDA. Preliminary Scientific Evaluation of the Possible Public Health Effects of Menthol versus Nonmenthol Cigarettes (2013)  
3 Cohn, AM, et al., “Menthol Smoking Patterns and Smoking Perceptions Among Youth: Findings from the Population Assessment of Tobacco and 
Health Study,” American Journal of Preventive Medicine, 56(4): e107-e116, 2019. 


