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To: House Commerce, Labor and Economic Development Committee 
 
From: Travis R. Oller, DC 
 Executive Director 
 Kansas Chiropractic Association 
 
Date: February 13, 2020 
 
Subject: HB 2506; Expanding the military spouse and servicemember's expedited 
licensure law to certain other license, certificate or registration applicants. 
 

Neutral Testimony 
 
Chairman Tarwater and other members of this committee thank you for the opportunity 
to present testimony on HB 2506.  
 
I represent the Kansas Chiropractic Association and more than 1,100 licensed Doctors 
of Chiropractic in Kansas who work hard to deliver safe, effective, and affordable care to 
the citizens of Kansas. 
 
HB 2506 would provide two paths to licensure for Doctors of Chiropractic already 
licensed in another state. 
 
The first path would be for providers licensed in states with substantially equivalent 
licensing requirements.  
 
The second path would be for providers licensed in states without substantially 
equivalent licensing requirements. 
 
Providers licensed in states with substantially equivalent requirements are not an issue. 
These providers would be required to show a clean license history and pass a prior 
background check as part of their application packet. These requirements will work to 
protect the citizens of Kansas. 
 
Our concern with this bill regards providers licensed in states without substantially 
equivalent requirements. HB 2506 would require the Kansas Board of Healing Arts to 
issue a temporary permit while the applicant completes the additional requirements for 
licensure in Kansas.  
 
The licensure requirements for the practice of the healing arts in Kansas have been 
carefully crafted over the years to protect the citizens of Kansas. HB 2506 would 
provide for a bypass of these regulations. 
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We offer the following changes to HB 2506 to better protect Kansans. 
 

1. On page 3, lines 11-12, change “10 business days” to “60 business days” 
2. On page 4, line 43, change “10 business days” to “60 business days” 
3. On page 4, line 27, change “shall issue” to “may issue” 

 
In the absence of our recommended changes, we ask the House, Labor and Economic 
Development Committee to add the Kansas Board of Healing Arts to the list of excluded 
licensing bodies. 
 
We understand the importance of this legislation, especially as it relates to professions 
that do not impact the health, safety, and welfare of Kansans; however, we must make 
sure the healthcare providers are adequately trained and ready to serve that citizens of 
Kansas. 
 
We ask that the House Commerce, Labor and Economic Development Committee 
make the above recommended changes to HB 2506. 
 
Travis R. Oller, DC 
Executive Director 
Kansas Chiropractic Association 
  


