
Kansas Amusement Ride Act; House Sub. for SB 70

House Sub. for SB 70, prior to repeal and replacement by passage of House Sub. for 
SB  86,  would  have  enacted law and  amended  the  Kansas  Amusement  Ride  Act  and  the 
Amusement  Ride  Insurance  Act  by  addressing  or  making  changes  related  to  permitting, 
registration, moneys collected, injury reporting, death of patrons, insurance, definitions, qualified 
inspectors, inspections, records, standards, testing, violations, and rule and regulation authority. 
[Note: The provisions of the House Sub. for SB 70 are explained below.]

Permits

The bill prohibits any ride from being operated without a valid annual permit issued by 
the Kansas Department of Labor (Department). Applications for permits are to be made to the 
Secretary of Labor (Secretary). The application is required to include the following:

● The name of the owner and operator;

● The location of the amusement ride, or the location where such ride is stored if 
not in use;

● Proof of insurance; and

● Certification  the  ride  meets  the  applicable  American  Society  for  Testing  and 
Materials (ASTM) International F24 Committee standards.

Additionally,  an  applicant  is  required  to  remit  a  permit  fee  for  each  ride  to  the 
Department. The fees are as follows: 

● Class A permanent ride, $75;

● Class B permanent ride, $100;

● Temporary rides, $30; and 

● Rides owned by a municipality or non-profit entity, $10. 

Registration 

In addition to permitting requirements for each ride, owners are required to register with 
the Department  and pay the following annual registration fees,  determined by ride location, 
regardless of the number of rides owned:

● Rides at a permanent location, $500;
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● Rides at a temporary location, $250; and

● Rides  owned  by  a  municipality  or  non-profit  at  a  permanent  or  temporary 
location, $50.

Amusement Ride Safety Fund

The bill  creates the Amusement Ride Safety Fund (Fund) to be administered by the 
Department.  All  fees  collected  for  permits,  registrations,  or  violations  under  the  Kansas 
Amusement Ride Act are to be deposited in the Fund. The bill requires all expenditures from the 
Fund to be used for administration and enforcement of the Kansas Amusement Ride Act.

Injury Reporting

The bill removes the injury reporting requirements in prior law and, in a new section, 
requires patrons (or their guardians) who become injured while on a ride to report their injuries 
in writing to the park owner or  operator before leaving the premises.  Such required reports 
include:

● The name, address, and phone number of the patron;

● A full description of the incident including injuries and treatment;

● The cause of the injury (if known); and

● The names, addresses, and phone numbers of witnesses.

If a report cannot be filed immediately due to the nature of the injury, the bill requires the 
report be filed as soon as possible.

In addition, owners of rides are required to prominently place signage at the point of 
admission or ticket sale, and in at least two places near each ride. The bill requires such signs 
notify patrons of their duty to report injuries and give instructions on how to contact the owner’s 
representatives if immediate assistance is needed and on how to make an injury report.

Ride owners are required to notify the Department within 72 hours of any serious injury, 
injury  caused by malfunction  or  failure  of  an  amusement  ride,  or  injuries  caused by either 
operator or patron error. If a serious injury occurs, the bill requires the equipment or conditions 
be preserved for  Department investigation,  and the ride is to be immediately removed from 
service until an investigation is completed or deemed unnecessary by the Secretary. Further, if 
an investigation is not commenced within 24 hours after the Department receives notification of 
injury, an investigation will be deemed unnecessary.
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Death of a Patron

In the event of the death of a patron, the bill requires the owner to notify the Department 
as soon as possible by telephone and by written notification within 24 hours of the incident. If 
the death is related to a major malfunction of  a ride,  an investigation is required and must 
commence within 24 hours of  initial  notice of  injury.  No part  of  the  ride  may be moved or 
repaired without written approval of the Secretary. Such provisions are not to be construed to 
hinder emergency response personnel from performing their duties or to prevent elimination of 
obvious  safety  hazards.  Ride  owners  are  required  to  provide  complete  access  to  the 
amusement ride and all related premises for the purposes of investigation and are also required 
to provide all information relating to the cause of injury to the Department.

Liability Insurance

Continuing law requires ride owners to carry liability insurance in order to operate rides, 
and requires such insurance polices be written by companies doing business in Kansas. The bill 
also allows ride owners to hold polices written by a surplus lines insurer. 

Under prior law, these insurance policies must provide at least $1.0 million of coverage. 
The bill requires coverage in an amount not less than $1.0 million per occurrence and requires 
annual aggregate coverage of $2.0 million. The State and any political subdivisions that own 
rides and self-insure or  participate in  a public-entity self-insurance pool  meet  the insurance 
requirement. The bill removes an insurance exemption for a not-for-profit organization organized 
under the laws of Kansas.

Definitions

The definition for “amusement ride” is amended to include all rides and devices specified 
in  the ASTM International  F24 Committee standards,  specifically including boat  rides,  water 
slides, inflatable devices, trampoline courts, and go-karts. In addition, Class A rides are defined 
as rides intended for patrons age 12 and younger, and Class B rides are defined as any ride not 
classified as a Class A ride.

The  definition  for  “home-owned  amusement  ride”  is  amended  to  include  only  rides 
owned by an individual and operated solely within a single county for strictly private use.

The definition for “nondestructive testing” is amended to require testing be conducted in 
accordance with ASTM F747 standards.

The definition for “operator” is amended to include a person supervising the operations 
of a ride, in addition to those persons engaged in or directly controlling the operations of a ride, 
as described in continuing law.

A definition for “water slide” is added and includes slides that are at least 15 feet in 
height and use water to propel the patron through the ride.
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Qualified Inspectors

The  bill  also  amends  the  definition  “qualified  inspector.”  In  order  to  be  considered 
“qualified,” the inspector must:

● Be a licensed professional engineer with at least two years of experience in the 
amusement ride field, including: 

○ At least one year of ride inspection experience under a qualified inspector 
for  a  manufacturer,  government  agency,  amusement  park,  carnival,  or 
insurance company; and 

○ At  least  one  year  practicing  any  combination  of  amusement  ride 
inspection,  design,  fabrication,  installation, maintenance, testing,  repair, 
or operation;

● Provide satisfactory evidence of five years of experience in the amusement ride 
field, a minimum of which must be:

○ Two  years  of  ride  inspection  under  a  qualified  inspector  for  a 
manufacturer,  government  agency,  amusement  park,  carnival,  or 
insurance underwriter; and

○ Remaining experience consisting of any combination of amusement ride 
inspection,  design,  fabrication,  installation, maintenance, testing,  repair, 
or operation; and

● Have received qualified training from a third party, such as:

○ Attainment  of  level  II  certification  from  the  National  Association  of 
Amusement Ride Safety Officials (NAARSO);

○ Attainment  of  level  II  certification  from  the  Amusement  Industry 
Manufacturers and Suppliers International;

○ Attainment of a qualified inspector certification from the Association for 
Challenge Course Technology;

○ Pennsylvania  Department  of  Agriculture–general  qualified  inspector 
status; or

○ Other  similar  qualification  from  another  nationally  recognized 
organization. 

Inspections

Initial Inspections

Each ride is required to have a valid certificate of inspection, signed and dated by the 
inspector  prior  to  operation.  The certificate  of  inspection  is  required to be available  to  any 
person contracting with a ride owner for the operation of the ride. 
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Annual Inspections

The  bill  requires  amusement  rides  be  inspected  by  a  qualified  inspector  every  12 
months. Inspection decals issued by the Department must be posted in plain view on or near 
each ride. The bill requires inspections be paid for by the owner of a ride, or the state agency or 
political subdivision. 

Daily Inspections

Further, the bill requires daily inspections to be conducted and recorded by the operator. 
The bill requires such daily inspections to include inspection of any equipment identified for daily 
inspection by applicable codes or manufacturer recommendations. The Secretary must conduct 
unannounced  inspections  of  rides  at  both  temporary  and  permanent  locations.  A warning 
citation will be issued to an owner or operator for a first violation. 

The bill directs the Secretary to develop an inspection checklist that will be posted on the 
Department website.

The bill removes references to self-inspection, as the bill requires qualified inspectors to 
be employed by third parties.

Records

The bill  requires park owners to maintain records related to construction, repair,  and 
maintenance  of  operations,  and  includes  safety  training  records,  inspection  records, 
maintenance records, and ride operator training activities. Such records must be available to the 
Department at reasonable times, including at the request of the Department during inspections. 
Further, the bill  requires the records be available at the location where the ride or device is 
operated and be maintained for at least three years.

Standards for Construction, Maintenance, Operation, and Repair of Rides

The bill requires rides be constructed, maintained, operated, and repaired in accordance 
with ASTM standards adopted by the ASTM International F24 Committee, as published in the 
ASTM International Standards Volume 15.07.

Nondestructive Testing

The bill  continues requirements for nondestructive testing of rides in accordance with 
either the manufacturer recommendations or in conformance with standards at least equivalent 
to ASTM standards and specifies the ASTM standards adopted by the ASTM International F24 
Committee,  as  published  in  the  ASTM International  Standards  Volume 15.07,  whichever  is 
applicable.
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Violations of the Kansas Amusement Ride Act

Under the provisions of the bill, it is a Class B misdemeanor to operate a ride without a 
valid permit issued by the Secretary. 

The Department is allowed to issue a notice of violation if a ride is out of compliance with 
the  Kansas  Amusement  Ride  Act.  Such  notice  may include  an  order  to  cease  and  desist 
operation of a ride until the violations are corrected. Additionally, within ten business days after a 
notice of a violation is issued, the person issued the notice could request, in writing, an informal 
conference  with  the  Department.  If  no  request  for  an  informal  conference  is  made,  the 
provisions of the notice become final. If the notice of violation is not resolved in the specified 
time frame, the Department is allowed to seek judicial enforcement of the notice of violation, or 
a judicial enforcement order may be issued.

The bill authorizes the Secretary to impose a fine of up to $1,000 for any violation of the 
law. All proceedings regarding violations of the Kansas Amusement Ride Act are subject to the 
Kansas Administrative Procedure Act. Fines will be deposited in the Fund.

Rule and Regulation Authority and ASTM Standards

The  bill  requires  the  Secretary  to  adopt  rules  and  regulations  specifying  nationally 
recognized organizations that issue certifications or other evidence of qualification to inspect 
amusement  rides,  and  to  determine  required  education,  experience,  and  training  at  least 
equivalent to that required for a level II certification from NAARSO as of July 1, 2017. 

Additionally, the bill specifies that all references to the ASTM standards shall be to those 
standards  adopted  by  the  ASTM  International  F24  Committee,  as  published  in  ASTM 
International Standards Volume 15.07, or any later version adopted by the Secretary in rules 
and regulations.
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