
Kansas Amusement Ride Act; House Sub. for SB 307 

House Sub. for SB 307 amends the Kansas Amusement Ride Act.

Definitions

“Limited-use amusement ride” means an amusement ride that is owned and operated by 
a nonprofit, community-based organization and is operated for less than 20 days a year, at only 
one location each year.

“Registered agritourism activity” has the same meaning as it  does in the Agritourism 
Promotion Act (KSA 2017 Supp. 32-1430 et seq.).

“Amusement ride” specifically excludes:

● Antique amusement rides;

● Limited-use amusement rides;

● Registered agritourism activities;

● Any ride commonly known as a hayrack ride, in which patrons sit in a wagon or 
cart that is then pulled by horses or a tractor or other motor vehicle;

● Any ride commonly known as a barrel train, which has a series of handmade cars 
fashioned from barrels that are connected and pulled by a tractor or other motor 
vehicle; and

● Amusement rides owned by an individual  and operated solely within a single 
county for strictly private use.

The definition of “amusement ride” is amended to remove language including all rides 
and devices in American Society for Testing and Materials (ASTM) International F24 Committee 
Standards.

“Antique amusement  ride”  means an amusement  ride,  as  defined in  continuing law, 
manufactured prior to January 1, 1930.

“Water slide” means a slide that is at least 35 feet in height and uses water to propel the 
patron through the ride. The bill requires an attendant to be stationed at each water slide 15 or 
more feet in height.

[Note: Water slides under 30 feet in height will not be subject to the requirements of the 
Amusement Ride Act. However, all slides 15 feet or more in height will still be required to have 
an attendant stationed at the slide while in operation.]
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The definition of “qualified inspector,” as it relates to acceptable training requirements, is 
changed from Level  II  National  Association  of  Amusement  Ride Safety  Officials  (NAARSO) 
certification to Level I  NAARSO certification. References to the Pennsylvania Department of 
Agriculture general qualified inspector status are also removed from the definition. The definition 
specifies any inspector of inflatable devices that are rented on a regular basis and erected at 
temporary locations must provide evidence of:

● Five years of experience working with inflatable devices; and

● Qualified  training  from  a  third  party,  such  as  advanced  inflatable  safety 
operations certification from the Safe Inflatable Operators Training Organization, 
or other similar qualification from another nationally recognized institution.

Finally, the definition of “serious injury” includes injury or illness that requires immediate 
admission and overnight hospitalization and observation by a licensed physician. Previously, the 
definition included injuries or illnesses requiring immediate medical treatment.

Antique Amusement Rides, Limited-use Amusement Rides, and Registered Agritourism 
Activities

Permits

The  bill  provides  that  an  antique  amusement  ride,  limited-use  amusement  ride,  or 
registered agritourism activity could not be operated in Kansas without a valid permit issued by 
the Department of Labor (Department). The owner of such a ride will be required to apply to the 
Department for a permit  in such form and manner as prescribed by the Secretary of Labor 
(Secretary). The bill requires the application to include:

● The name of the owner and operator of the ride;

● The location of the ride or the location where the ride is stored when not in use;

● A valid certificate of inspection; and

● Proof of insurance.

Once an application is approved, the permit fee received, and a permit issued for the 
antique  amusement  ride,  limited-use amusement  ride,  or  registered agritourism activity,  the 
permit will be valid for one year from the date of issuance. 

Permit Fees

The bill requires applicants for operating permits for antique amusement rides, limited-
use amusement rides, or registered agritourism activities to pay permit fees according to the 
following schedule:
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● At a permanent location:

○ $75 for rides designed for patrons less than 42 inches tall; and

○ $100 for rides designed for patrons more than 42 inches tall;

● At a temporary location, $30; and

● Owned  or  operated  by  a  municipality  or  nonprofit  entity  at  a  permanent  or 
temporary location, $10.

Permit  fees  will  be  returned  to  applicants  if  their  applications  are  denied  by  the 
Department.  Permit  fees collected by the Secretary will  be credited to the Amusement Ride 
Safety Fund.

Registration

The  bill  requires  each  antique  amusement  ride,  limited-use  amusement  ride,  or 
registered  agritourism  activity  to  be  registered  with  the  Department  prior  to  operation. 
Registration will be in such form and manner as prescribed by the Secretary and will require 
payment of a registration fee of $50.

The registration fee will be an annual fee paid by the owner, regardless of the number of 
rides owned by such owner. Registration fees collected by the Secretary will be credited to the 
Amusement Ride Safety Fund.

Insurance Requirements

The owner or operator of any antique amusement ride, limited-use amusement ride, or 
registered agritourism activity  is  required  to  provide  for  coverage  of  at  least  $750,000  per 
occurrence with a $1,000,000 annual aggregate. Continuing law states owners and operators of 
amusement rides are required to provide for coverage of at least $1,000,000 per occurrence 
with a $2,000,000 annual aggregate, or self-insure or participate in a public entity self-insurance 
pool, if the owner is the State or any subdivision of the State; the bill clarifies this requirement.

General Provisions

Inflatables

The bill states no inflatable device rented on a regular basis and erected at a temporary 
location may be operated in the state unless the operator had been trained by a person who has 
attained a  basic  inflatable  safety  operations  certification  from the  Safe  Inflatable  Operators 
Training Organization.
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Permit Applications, Amusement Rides

The bill specifies permit applications for amusement rides manufactured before July 1, 
2018, must include certification that the ride qualifies as service proven, as that term is used in 
applicable ASTM International F24 Committee Standards.

For rides manufactured on and after July 1, 2018, the bill requires permit applications to 
include  certification  that  the  ride  meets  applicable  ASTM  International  F24  Committee 
Standards pertaining to ride maintenance and operation.

The  bill  also  includes  antique  amusement  rides,  limited-use  amusement  rides,  and 
registered agritourism activities in provisions of the Kansas Amusement Ride Act not otherwise 
modified by the bill.

Serious Injury

The bill specifies, upon notification of serious injury, the Department must acknowledge 
receipt of the notice and determine whether an investigation is necessary.
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