
Juvenile Crisis Intervention Centers; Amendments to Revised Kansas Code for 
Care of Children; House Sub. for SB 179

House Sub. for SB 179 creates and amends law to establish juvenile crisis intervention 
centers (intervention centers) and procedures for admission of juveniles to such centers. The bill 
also makes additional amendments to the Revised Kansas Code for Care of Children (CINC 
Code) and the Newborn Infant Protection Act (Act) within the CINC Code.

Establishment of Intervention Centers

The bill creates law describing an intervention center as a facility that provides short-
term observation, assessment, treatment, and case planning, and referral for any juvenile who 
is experiencing a mental health crisis and is likely to cause harm to self  or others. The bill 
describes required parameters for  intervention centers in several  areas, including access to 
various  services,  construction  and  environmental  features,  and  policies  and  procedures  for 
operation and staff monitoring for intervention center entrances and exits.

The bill requires intervention centers to provide treatment to juveniles admitted to the 
centers, as appropriate while admitted.

An intervention center may be on the same premises as another licensed facility, but the 
living unit of the intervention center must be maintained in a separate, self-contained unit. An 
intervention center may not be located in a city or county jail or a juvenile detention facility.

A juvenile may be admitted to an intervention center when:

● The head of the center determines the juvenile is in need of treatment and is 
likely to cause harm to self or others;

● A qualified  professional  from a community  mental  health  center  (CMHC)  has 
given  written  authorization  for  the  juvenile  to  be  admitted  to  an  intervention 
center; and

● No other more appropriate treatment services are available and accessible to the 
juvenile at the time of admission.

A juvenile may be admitted to an intervention center for not more than 30 days, and a 
parent with legal custody or a legal guardian of the juvenile can remove the juvenile from the 
center at any time. If the removal could cause the juvenile to become a child in need of care 
pursuant to the CINC Code, the head of the intervention center may report such concerns to the 
Department for Children and Families (DCF) or may request the county or district attorney to 
initiate proceedings under the CINC Code. If  the head of the intervention center determines 
such a request to the county or district attorney is the most appropriate action, the head of the 
intervention center shall make the request and keep the juvenile in the intervention center for an 
additional 24-hour period to initiate the appropriate proceedings.
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Upon a juvenile’s release from an intervention center, the managed care organization 
(MCO), if the juvenile is a Medicaid recipient, and the CMHC serving the area where the juvenile 
is being discharged must be involved with discharge planning. The head of the intervention 
center must give written notice of the date and time of discharge, within seven days prior to 
discharge, to the patient, the MCO (if the juvenile is a Medicaid recipient), the CMHC serving 
the area where the juvenile is being discharged, and the patient’s parent, custodian, or legal 
guardian.

If a juvenile is a Medicaid recipient, upon admission to an intervention center, the bill 
requires the MCO to approve services as recommended by the head of the intervention center. 
Within 14 days after admission, the head of the intervention center must develop a plan of 
treatment for the juvenile in collaboration with the MCO.

The bill does not prohibit the Kansas Department of Health and Environment (KDHE) 
from  administering  or  reimbursing  state  Medicaid  services  to  any  juvenile  admitted  to  an 
intervention center pursuant to the waiver granted under Section 1915(c) of the federal Social 
Security Act, provided that such services are not administered through a managed care delivery 
system, or from reimbursing any state Medicaid services that qualify for reimbursement and that 
are provided to a juvenile admitted to an intervention center. The bill will not impair or otherwise 
affect the validity of any contract in existence on July 1, 2018, between an MCO and KDHE to 
provide state Medicaid services. On or before January 1, 2019, the Secretary of Health and 
Environment  must  submit  to  the  Centers  for  Medicare  and  Medicaid  Services  (CMS)  any 
approval request necessary to implement these provisions. 

On or before January 1, 2019, the Secretary for Children and Families, in consultation 
with the Attorney General, must promulgate rules and regulations to implement the law created 
by the bill.

The Secretary for Children and Families must provide an annual report of information 
regarding outcomes of juveniles admitted into intervention centers to the Joint Committee on 
Corrections and Juvenile Justice Oversight, the House Committee on Corrections and Juvenile 
Justice,  and the Senate Committee on Judiciary.  The bill  requires the report  to include the 
number of admissions and releases and the lengths of stay for juveniles admitted to intervention 
centers;  services provided to admitted juveniles;  needs of  admitted juveniles determined by 
evidence-based assessment; and success and recidivism rates, including information on the 
reduction of involvement of the child welfare system and juvenile justice system.

The Secretary of Corrections may enter into memorandums of  agreement with other 
cabinet agencies to provide funding, not to exceed $2,000,000 annually,  from the Evidence-
based Programs Account of the State General Fund (SGF) or other available appropriations for 
juvenile crisis intervention services.

The  bill  defines  “juvenile”  as  a  person  less  than  18  years  of  age.  It  also  provides 
definitions of  “head of  a  juvenile  crisis  intervention center,”  “likely to  cause harm to self  or 
others,” “treatment,” and “qualified mental health professional.”
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Amendments to Law

The bill amends various statutes to incorporate use of intervention centers.

CINC  Code  amendments. The  bill  amends  the  statute  governing  when  a  law 
enforcement officer (LEO) may take a child into custody to require an LEO to take a child under 
18 years of age into custody when the LEO reasonably believes the child is experiencing a 
mental health crisis and is likely to cause harm to self or others.

The bill amends the statute governing delivery of a child taken into custody by an LEO to 
allow an LEO to deliver a child taken into custody without a court order to an intervention center 
after written authorization by a CMHC. The bill also non-substantively restructures the list of 
delivery alternatives in this section.

The bill requires, when an LEO takes a child into custody because the LEO reasonably 
believes the child is experiencing a mental health crisis and is likely to cause harm to self or 
others,  the LEO place the child in protective custody.  The LEO may deliver  the child to an 
intervention center after written authorization by a CMHC, but the child may not be placed in a 
juvenile detention facility or other secure facility. 

The bill amends the statutes governing ex parte protective custody orders and temporary 
custody orders to allow placement, after written authorization by a CMHC, with an intervention 
center.  The circumstances justifying an entry of a temporary custody order are amended to 
include probable cause to believe the child is experiencing a mental health crisis and is in need 
of treatment. 

Throughout  the  amended  CINC Code  statutes,  the  term “forthwith”  is  replaced  with 
“promptly.”

Juvenile Justice Code amendment. The bill amends the statute in the Revised Kansas 
Juvenile  Justice  Code  governing  taking  juveniles  into  custody  to  allow  an  officer,  when  a 
juvenile cannot be delivered to the juvenile’s parent or custodian, to (in addition to continuing 
options) deliver the juvenile to an intervention center,  if  the juvenile is determined to not be 
detention eligible based on a standardized detention risk assessment tool and is experiencing a 
mental health crisis, after written authorization by a CMHC.

Account amendments. The bill  amends the statute establishing the  Evidence-based 
Programs Account of the SGF to allow expenditures from the account for the development and 
implementation  of  evidence-based  community  programs  and  practices  for  juveniles 
experiencing mental health crises, including intervention centers.

Additional Amendments to CINC Code and the Newborn Infant Protection Act

In addition to the provisions related to juvenile crisis intervention centers, the bill further 
amends the CINC Code and the Newborn Infant Protection Act (Act) within the Code.
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Definitions

The bill amends the following definitions in the CINC Code:

● “Extended out of home placement” specifies removal from the home means from 
the child’s home;

● “Kinship care” changed to “kinship care placement,” means the placement of a 
child in the home of an adult with whom the child or the child’s parent already has 
close emotional ties; and

● “Relative”  removes  language  indicating  the  term does  not  include  the  child’s 
other parent when referring to a relative of a child’s parent. 

Interested Parties

The bill clarifies, in addition to the parties, interested parties also are entitled to notice of 
the time and place of the dispositional hearing. 

Placement of a Child

The term “extended out of home placement” is deleted and replaced in various sections 
in the CINC Code with the specific time frame defined as when a child has been in the custody 
of the Secretary for Children and Families and placed with neither parent for 15 of the most 
recent 22 months beginning 60 days after the date on which the child was removed from the 
child’s  home.  In  continuing law,  this  time frame is  considered when a  court  is  determining 
whether reintegration is a viable alternative and when a court  is  making a determination of 
unfitness.

Permanency Plan

If a child’s permanency plan is either adoption or appointment of a custodian, prior to a 
hearing to consider the termination of  parental  rights,  either or  both parents may relinquish 
parental rights to the child to the Secretary for Children and Families, consent to an adoption, or 
consent to appointment of a permanent custodian with the approval of the guardian ad litem and 
the  acceptance  and  approval  of  the  Secretary.  Prior  law  required  consent  from  both  the 
guardian ad litem and the Secretary for Children and Families for the parental decision.

Adoption

The bill revises adoption provisions to clarify the process for a child in the custody of the 
Secretary for Children and Families to proceed to adoption. If a child is in the custody of the 
Secretary  for  Children  and  Families  and  the  parental  rights  of  both  parents  have  been 
terminated or one parent has had parental rights terminated or has relinquished parental rights 
of the child to the Secretary, adoption may be allowed by persons approved by the Secretary 
and the court. The bill also adds language to specify that, if a child is no longer in the custody of 
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the Secretary for Children and Families, the court is authorized to approve adoption of a child by 
persons who both parents consent to adopt or one parent consents to adopt, if the parental 
rights of the other parent have been terminated. 

Newborn Infant Protection Act

The bill adds language to state the purpose of the Act is to protect newborn children from 
injury  and  death  caused  by  abandonment  by  a  parent  and  to  provide  safe  and  secure 
alternatives to such abandonment. 

Definitions. The following definitions are added and references throughout the Act are 
updated:

● “Non-relinquishing parent” means the biological parent of an infant who does not 
leave the infant with any person specified in accordance with the Act; and 

● “Relinquishing  parent”  means  the  biological  parent  or  person  having  legal 
custody of an infant who leaves the infant with any person in accordance with the 
Act.

The bill changes the defined age of an infant for purposes of the Act from 45 days old or 
younger to 60 days old or younger and states that provisions of the Act will be applicable to 
persons purporting to be an infant’s parent. 

Relinquishment of infant at a facility. An employee of a facility where an infant was left 
is allowed to take physical custody of the child without a court order. References to “person or 
facility” throughout the Act are amended to clarify when provisions are applicable to employees 
of any facility specified in the Act, any facility specified, or both. 

When an infant is delivered to a facility pursuant to the Act that is not a medical care 
facility,  the employee taking physical  custody of the infant must make arrangements for the 
immediate transportation of the infant to the nearest  medical  care facility.  The medical  care 
facility, its employees, agents, and medical staff are required to perform treatment in accordance 
with the prevailing standard of care as necessary to protect the physical health and safety of the 
infant.

Immunity. Provisions  regarding  a  specified  facility’s  civil  and  criminal  immunity  are 
amended to clarify the immunity applied to employees of such facilities. Administrative immunity 
is added for facilities specified in the Act and employees of such facilities. Such immunity does 
not  extend  to  any  acts  or  omissions,  including  negligent  or  intentional  acts  or  omissions, 
occurring after the acceptance of the infant.

Any medical care facility receiving the infant from another facility pursuant to the Act is 
immune from administrative, civil, and criminal liability for treatment performed consistent with 
standards as specified in the Act.

The  bill  also  adds  provisions  providing  immunity  from civil  or  criminal  liability  for  a 
relinquishing parent if the following conditions are met:
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● The relinquishing parent  voluntarily  delivered the infant  safely  to  the physical 
custody of an employee at a facility specified in the Act;

● The infant was no more than 60 days old when delivered by the relinquishing 
parent to the physical custody of an employee at a facility specified in the Act; 
and 

● The infant was not abused or neglected by the relinquishing parent prior to such 
delivery.

Parental rights to relinquished infant. A relinquishing parent’s voluntary delivery of an 
infant in accordance with the Act shall constitute the parent’s implied consent to the adoption of 
the infant and a voluntary relinquishment of such parent’s parental rights.

The bill establishes notice by publication requirements for termination of parental rights 
proceedings initiated after relinquishment of an infant pursuant to the Act. The bill requires a 
non-relinquishing  parent  seeking  to  establish  parental  rights  to  notify  the  court  where  the 
proceeding is filed of the parent’s intentions regarding the infant within 30 days after publication 
of such notice. The court must initiate proceedings to establish parentage if no person notifies 
the court within 30 days. An examination of the putative father registry is required in order to 
determine previous attempts to preserve parental rights to the infant and, if such attempts were 
made, the State must make reasonable efforts to provide notice of the abandonment of the 
infant to such putative father. 

A non-relinquishing parent seeking to preserve parental rights to an infant relinquished 
pursuant to the Act must take necessary steps to establish parentage within 30 days after the 
published  notice  and,  if  the  non-relinquishing  parent  fails  to  do  so,  the  bill  allows  for  the 
termination of such parent’s rights with respect to the child. If a non-relinquishing parent inquires 
at a facility specified in the Act regarding an infant whose custody was relinquished pursuant to 
the Act, such facility must refer the non-relinquishing parent to the DCF and the court exercising 
jurisdiction over the child.

Technical Amendments

The bill  removes outdated terms and language throughout the CINC Code and other 
statutes pertaining to children and minors, clarifies that references to “children in need of care” 
means children in need of care as defined within the Code, updates statutory references, and 
reconciles effective dates.
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