
Civil Asset Forfeiture; Kansas Asset Seizure and Forfeiture Repository; HB 2459

HB 2459 creates and amends law related to civil asset forfeiture.

Creation of Kansas Asset Seizure and Forfeiture Repository and Related Reporting 
Requirements

The bill creates a new section within the Kansas Standard Asset Seizure and Forfeiture 
Act (SASFA) requiring the Kansas Bureau of Investigation (KBI) to establish, on or before July 
1, 2019, the Kansas Asset Seizure and Forfeiture Repository (Repository),  which will  gather 
information  concerning  each  seizure  for  forfeiture  made  by  a  seizing  agency  pursuant  to 
SASFA. The information gathered will include, but not be limited to:

● The name of the seizing agency or name of the lead agency if part of a multi-
jurisdictional task force and any applicable agency or district court case numbers 
for the seizure;

● The county where and date and time the seizure occurred, a description of the 
initiating law enforcement activity leading to the seizure, and the specific location 
where the seizure occurred;

● Descriptions of the type of property and contraband seized and the estimated 
values of the property and contraband;

● Whether criminal charges were filed for an offense related to the forfeiture and 
court and case number information of such charges;

● A description of the final disposition of the forfeiture action, including any claim or 
exemption asserted under SASFA;

● Whether the forfeiture was transferred to the federal government for disposition; 

● Total cost of the forfeiture action, including attorney fees; and

● Total  amount  of  proceeds  from  the  forfeiture  action,  specifying  the  amount 
received by the seizing agency and the amount received by any other agency or 
person.

The bill requires the KBI to maintain the Repository and an associated public website 
and requires the KBI to promulgate rules and regulations before July 1, 2019, to implement the 
new section.

On and after July 1, 2019, each seizing agency must report the specified information 
concerning each seizure for forfeiture to the Repository, with the prosecuting attorney submitting 
information to the seizing agency within 30 days after the final disposition of the forfeiture, and 
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the seizing agency submitting the required information to the Repository within 60 days after the 
final disposition of the forfeiture. 

On or before February 1 of each year, beginning in 2020, each law enforcement agency 
(agency) must annually compile and submit a forfeiture fund report  to the Repository.  If  the 
agency is a state agency, the report must include the agency’s state forfeiture fund balance on 
January  1  and  December  31  of  the  preceding  calendar  year  and  the  total  amount  of  the 
deposits and a listing, by category, of expenditures during the preceding calendar year. If the 
agency is a city or county agency, the report must include the agency’s special law enforcement 
trust fund balance on January 1 and December 31 of the preceding calendar year and the total 
amount of deposits and a listing, by category, of expenditures during the preceding calendar 
year.

The reports for each agency must separate and account for deposits and expenditures 
from proceeds from forfeiture credited to the agency’s  fund pursuant  to  the SASFA section 
governing  disposition  of  forfeited  property,  deposits  and  expenditures  from  proceeds  from 
forfeiture  actions  under  federal  law,  and  amounts  held  by  the  agency  related  to  pending 
forfeiture actions under SASFA.

 On March 1 of each year, beginning in 2020, the KBI must determine whether each 
agency’s financial report matches the agency’s seizing report. If the agency has not submitted 
the required financial report, or if the agency’s financial report does not substantially match the 
agency’s seizing report, the KBI must notify the agency of the difference in reports. If the agency 
does not correct the reporting error within 30 days, the KBI must send the agency and the 
county or district attorney for the county where the agency is located a certified letter notifying 
the agency it is out of compliance. Upon receipt of the letter, no forfeiture proceedings may be 
filed on property seized by the agency. Once the agency has achieved compliance with the 
reporting requirements,  the KBI must  send the agency and the county or district  attorney a 
certified letter  notifying the agency it  is  in  compliance and forfeiture proceeding filings may 
continue under SASFA. Each year, on or before April 15, the KBI must report to the Legislature 
any  agencies  in  the  state  that  have  failed  to  come  into  compliance  with  the  reporting 
requirements for the agencies’ funds.

The  bill  amends  the  Kansas  Open  Records  Act  to  provide,  except  for  requests  of 
summary  data  compiled  from  information  submitted  by  multiple  agencies  or  as  otherwise 
provided  by law,  requests  for  records  submitted  to  the  Repository  shall  be  directed  to  the 
agency from which the records originated.

Amendments to SASFA Sections

The bill amends multiple sections of SASFA.

Exemptions

The statute governing exemptions is amended to require a common carrier be an actual 
consenting party or privy to a violation of SASFA before the carrier’s conveyance is subject to 
forfeiture, rather than allowing forfeiture upon the appearance of consent or being privy to a 
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violation. This statute is also amended to clarify a reference to owners or interest holders who 
acquire the property after the conduct giving rise to forfeiture. 

Seizure of Property—County or District Attorney and Attorney General Requirements

The bill amends the statute governing the seizure of property to clarify that the county or 
district attorney has 14 days to accept or decline a written request for forfeiture from a local or 
state agency. For those cases where the county or district attorney approves another attorney to 
represent  a local agency in the forfeiture proceeding, the bill  prohibits the county or  district 
attorney from approving an attorney with whom the county or district attorney has a direct or 
indirect financial interest. Similarly, for state agencies, the Attorney General is prohibited from 
approving an attorney with whom the Attorney General has a direct or indirect financial interest. 
A county or district attorney and the Attorney General are prohibited from requesting or receiving 
any referral fee or personal financial benefit from any proceeding under the SASFA.

Commencement of Forfeiture Proceedings—Service of Notice

The  statute  governing  commencement  of  forfeiture  proceedings  is  amended  by 
specifying that the various types of service of the required notice are to be accomplished and 
are effective pursuant to the Code of Civil Procedure. The bill extends the circumstances under 
which service by publication is allowed, to include where service by certified mail was attempted 
but was not effective. 

The  bill  requires  an  affidavit  describing  the  essential  facts  supporting  forfeiture  and 
copies of Judicial Council forms for petitioning for recognition of an exemption and for making a 
claim be included with the notice.

Recognition of Exemption

The statute governing recognition of exemption is amended to require, rather than allow, 
the plaintiff’s  attorney to make an opportunity to file  a petition for  recognition of  exemption 
available, and to require the plaintiff’s attorney to acknowledge this opportunity in the notice of 
pending forfeiture.

The time provided for an owner of or interested holder in the property to file a claim or a 
petition for recognition of exemption is extended from 30 days to 60 days, and the bill states that 
such claims or petitions must “substantially comply” with the requirements for claims. The time 
for the plaintiff’s attorney to provide the seizing agency and the petitioning party with a written 
recognition of exemption and statement of nonexempt interests in response to each petitioning 
party is reduced from 120 days to 90 days after the effective date of the notice of pending 
forfeiture.

The time provided for an owner of or interest holder in any property declared nonexempt 
to file a claim is extended from 30 days to 60 days after the effective date of the notice of the 
recognition of exemptions and statement of nonexempt interests.
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The time before the recognition of  exemption  and statement  of  nonexempt  interests 
becomes final if no claims are filed is extended from 30 days to 60 days, in keeping with the 
time extensions described above.

Claims; In Rem Proceedings

The sections governing claims and in rem proceedings are amended to extend the time 
provided for an owner or interest holder in property to file a claim or answer from 30 days to 60 
days.  Attestation requirements that the claim or answer and all  supporting documents be in 
affidavit form, signed under oath, and sworn to by the affiant are removed, leaving only the 
requirement that the claim or answer be signed by the claimant  under penalty of perjury.  A 
possible penalty of making a false writing is removed.

The bill removes requirements that the claim or answer set forth the date, the identity of 
the transferor, and a detailed description of the circumstances of the claimant’s acquisition of an 
interest in the property; the specific provision of SASFA relied on in asserting the property is not 
subject to forfeiture; all essential facts supporting each assertion; and the specific relief sought. 
It adds a requirement that the claim or answer include a detailed description of when and how 
the claimant obtained an interest in the property. 

The bill specifies substantial compliance with the claim or answer requirements shall be 
deemed  sufficient  and  adds  a  provision  allowing  the  right  against  self-incrimination  to  be 
asserted in a claim or answer. If the right is asserted, the court may, at its discretion, draw an 
adverse inference from the assertion against the claimant, but the adverse inference may not, 
by itself, be the basis of a judgment against the claimant. 

The bill amends the section governing claims by removing a prohibition against granting 
an extension of time to file a claim except for good cause.

The bill further amends the section governing in rem proceedings to remove provisions 
governing discovery and a requirement the court hold a hearing on the claim within 60 days 
after service of the petition. 

Time to File a Claim in In Personam Proceedings

The statute governing in personam proceedings is amended to extend the time in which 
an owner  of  or  interest  holder  in  property  that  has  been forfeited  and whose claim is  not 
precluded may file a claim from 30 days to 60 days after initial notice of pending forfeiture or 
after notice following the entry of an order of forfeiture, whichever is earlier.

Rebuttable Presumptions and Elements

The  bill  amends  the  section  governing  judicial  proceedings  to  remove  a  rebuttable 
presumption that certain items found in close proximity to contraband or an instrumentality of 
conduct giving rise to forfeiture are the proceeds of conduct giving rise to forfeiture or were used 
or intended to be used to facilitate the conduct. 
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A rebuttable  presumption  that  property  is  subject  to  forfeiture  if  the  seizing  agency 
establishes three elements is amended to remove the presumption and instead state that the 
totality of the circumstances shall determine if the property of a person is subject to seizure, 
while the elements in continuing law are changed to non-exclusive factors to be considered and 
a fourth factor (proximity to contraband or an instrumentality giving rise to forfeiture) is added.

The bill  removes a rebuttable presumption that  property in  or  upon which controlled 
substances are located at the time of seizure was being used or intended for use to facilitate an 
act giving rise to forfeiture.

A provision preventing a defendant convicted in a criminal proceeding from denying the 
essential allegations of the criminal offense in a later forfeiture proceeding is changed to prevent 
the defendant from denying the elements of the criminal offense. 

A provision allowing only the plaintiff’s attorney to file a motion to stay discovery against 
the  criminal  defendant  and  seizing  agency  in  civil  proceedings  during  a  related  criminal 
proceeding is amended to remove the language limiting filing to the plaintiff’s attorney. 

Disposition of Forfeited Property

The  statute  governing  disposition  of  forfeited  property  is  amended  to  specify  an 
exclusive  list  of  12  special,  additional  law enforcement  purposes  for  which  proceeds  from 
forfeiture may be used. The bill requires moneys in the funds containing forfeiture proceeds to 
be separated and accounted for  in a manner that allows accurate tracking and reporting of 
deposits  and  expenditures  of  proceeds  from forfeiture  credited  to  the  fund,  proceeds  from 
pending forfeiture actions under SASFA, and proceeds from forfeiture actions under federal law. 

Continuing reporting requirements are moved within this section and a sunset date for 
these requirements of July 1, 2019, is added in light of the bill’s new reporting requirements.
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