
State Bidding Process; Revised Definitions; HB 2356

HB 2356 revises provisions of the State’s bidding process as it relates to the definitions 
of “certified business” and “individual with a disability.” Under prior law, most contracts were 
awarded to the lowest responsible bidder. However, a contract may be awarded to a certified 
business (or a disabled veteran business) whose bid is not more than 10 percent greater than 
the lowest competitive bid. A certified business must conduct most of its operations in Kansas, 
have at least 10 percent of its workforce be individuals who have disabilities, contribute at least 
75 percent of their health insurance premium costs, and not pay a subminimum wage, which is 
allowable under federal law. The Department of Administration certifies businesses every three 
years instead of annually.

An individual is certified as having a disability by either the Kansas Department for Aging 
and Disability Services (KDADS) or the Kansas Department for Children and Families (DCF), 
using  the  disability  standards  established  by  the  U.S.  Social  Security  Administration  as 
determined by the Kansas Disability Determination Services within DCF. Under previous law, 
KDADS certified disability using a clinical assessment.
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