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STATE OF KANSAS

________

SENATE CHAMBER

MADAM PRESIDENT:

I move to amend Senate Substitute for HB 2278, as amended by Senate Committee, on page 8, 

following line 33, by inserting:

"Sec. 3. K.S.A. 2016 Supp. 75-7c05 is hereby amended to read as follows: 75-7c05. (a) The 

application for a license pursuant to this act shall be completed, under oath, on a form prescribed by the 

attorney general and shall only include:

(1) (A) Subject to the provisions of subsection (a)(1)(B), the name, address, social security 

number, Kansas driver's license number or Kansas nondriver's license identification number, place and 

date of birth, a photocopy of the applicant's driver's license or nondriver's identification card and a 

photocopy of the applicant's certificate of training course completion; (B) in the case of an applicant 

who presents proof that such person is on active duty with any branch of the armed forces of the United 

States, or is the dependent of such a person, and who does not possess a Kansas driver's license or 

Kansas  nondriver's  license  identification,  the number  of  such  license  or  identification shall  not  be 

required;

(2) a statement that the applicant is in compliance with criteria contained within K.S.A. 2016 

Supp. 75-7c04, and amendments thereto;

(3) a statement that the applicant has been furnished a copy of this act and is knowledgeable 

of its provisions;

(4) a conspicuous warning that the application is executed under oath and that a false answer 

to any question, or the submission of any false document by the applicant, subjects the applicant to 

criminal prosecution under K.S.A. 2016 Supp. 21-5903, and amendments thereto; and
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(5) a statement that the applicant desires a concealed handgun license as a means of lawful 

self-defense.

(b) Except as otherwise provided in subsection (i), the applicant shall submit to the sheriff of 

the county where the applicant resides, during any normal business hours:

(1) A completed application described in subsection (a);

(2) a nonrefundable license fee of $132.50 $75, if the applicant has not previously been issued 

a statewide license or if the applicant's license has permanently expired, which fee shall be in the form 

of two cashier's checks, personal checks  or money orders of $32.50 $25 payable to the sheriff of the 

county where the applicant resides and $100 $50 payable to the attorney general;

(3) if applicable,  a photocopy of the proof of training required by K.S.A. 2016 Supp. 75-

7c04(b)(1), and amendments thereto; and

(4) a full frontal view photograph of the applicant taken within the preceding 30 days.

(c) (1) Except as otherwise provided in subsection (i), the sheriff, upon receipt of the items 

listed in subsection (b), shall provide for the full set of fingerprints of the applicant to be taken and 

forwarded to the attorney general  for purposes of a criminal history records check as provided by 

subsection (d). In addition, the sheriff shall forward to the attorney general the application and the 

portion of the original license fee which is payable to the attorney general. The cost of taking such 

fingerprints shall be included in the portion of the fee retained by the sheriff. Notwithstanding anything 

in  this section to the contrary, an applicant shall not be required to submit fingerprints for a renewal 

application under K.S.A. 2016 Supp. 75-7c08, and amendments thereto.

(2) The sheriff of the applicant's county of residence or the chief law enforcement officer of 

any  law  enforcement  agency,  at  the  sheriff's  or  chief  law  enforcement  officer's  discretion,  may 

participate in the process by submitting a voluntary report to the attorney general containing readily 

discoverable information, corroborated through public records, which, when combined with another 
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enumerated factor, establishes that the applicant poses a significantly greater threat to law enforcement 

or the public at large than the average citizen. Any such voluntary reporting shall be made within 45 

days after the date the sheriff receives the application. Any sheriff or chief law enforcement officer 

submitting a voluntary report shall not incur any civil or criminal liability as the result of the good faith 

submission of such report.

(3) All funds retained by the sheriff pursuant to the provisions of this section shall be credited 

to a special fund of the sheriff's office which shall be used solely for the purpose of administering this 

act.

(d) Each applicant shall be subject to a state and national criminal history records check which 

conforms  to  applicable  federal  standards,  including  an  inquiry  of  the  national  instant  criminal 

background check system for the purpose of verifying the identity of the applicant and whether the 

applicant has been convicted of any crime or has been the subject of any restraining order or any 

mental health related finding that would disqualify the applicant from holding a license under this act. 

The attorney general is authorized to use the information obtained from the state or national criminal 

history record check to determine the applicant's eligibility for such license.

(e) Within 90 days after the date of receipt of the items listed in subsection (b), the attorney 

general shall:

(1) Issue the license and certify the issuance to the department of revenue; or

(2) deny the application based solely on: (A) The report submitted by the sheriff or other chief 

law enforcement officer under subsection (c)(2) for good cause shown therein; or (B) the ground that 

the applicant is disqualified under the criteria listed in K.S.A. 2016 Supp. 75-7c04, and amendments 

thereto. If the attorney general denies the application, the attorney general shall notify the applicant in 

writing, stating the ground for denial and informing the applicant the opportunity for a hearing pursuant 

to the Kansas administrative procedure act.
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(f) Each person issued a license shall pay to the department of revenue a fee for the cost of the 

license which shall be in amounts equal to the fee required pursuant to K.S.A. 8-243 and 8-246, and 

amendments thereto, for replacement of a driver's license.

(g) (1) A person who is a retired law enforcement officer, as defined in K.S.A. 2016 Supp. 21-

5111, and amendments thereto, shall be: (A) Required to pay an original license fee as provided in 

subsection (b)(2), to be forwarded by the sheriff to the attorney general; (B) exempt from the required 

completion  of  a  handgun  safety  and  training  course  if  such  person  was  certified  by  the  Kansas 

commission on peace officer's standards and training, or similar body from another jurisdiction, not 

more than eight years prior to submission of the application; (C) required to pay the license renewal 

fee;  (D) required to pay to the department of revenue the fees required by subsection (f);  and (E) 

required to comply with the criminal history records check requirement of this section.

(2) Proof of retirement as a law enforcement officer shall be required and provided to the 

attorney general in the form of a letter from the agency head, or their designee, of the officer's retiring 

agency that attests to the officer having retired in good standing from that agency as a law enforcement 

officer for reasons other than mental instability and that the officer has a nonforfeitable right to benefits 

under a retirement plan of the agency.

(h) A person who is a corrections officer, a parole officer or a corrections officer employed by 

the federal bureau of prisons, as defined by K.S.A. 75-5202, and amendments thereto, shall be: (1) 

Required to pay an original license fee as provided in subsection (b)(2); (2) exempt from the required 

completion of a handgun safety and training course if such person was issued a certificate of firearms 

training by the department of corrections or the federal bureau of prisons or similar body not more than 

one year prior to submission of the application; (3) required to pay the license renewal fee; (4) required 

to pay to the department of revenue the fees required by subsection (f); and (5) required to comply with 

the criminal history records check requirement of this section.
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(i) A person who presents proof that such person is on active duty with any branch of the 

armed forces of the United States and is stationed at a United States military installation located outside 

this  state,  may submit  by mail  an  application  described  in  subsection  (a)  and  the  other  materials 

required  by subsection  (b)  to  the  sheriff  of  the  county  where  the  applicant  resides.  Provided  the 

applicant is fingerprinted at a United States military installation, the applicant may submit a full set of 

fingerprints of such applicant along with the application. Upon receipt of such items, the sheriff shall 

forward to the attorney general the application and the portion of the original license fee which is 

payable to the attorney general."; 

Also on page 8, in line 34, after "Supp." by inserting "75-7c05,"; 

And by renumbering sections accordingly; 

On page 1, in the title, in line 4, after "Supp." by inserting "75-7c05,"

Senator __________________________


