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Brief*

SB  310  would  make  amendments  to  the  Kansas 
Amusement Ride Act (Act).

[Note: Language identical to this conference committee 
agreement, except for the effective date and a reference to 
antique amusement rides added for consistency, was already 
passed by both chambers in the conference committee report 
on SB 307.]

Definitions

“Limited-use  amusement  ride”  would  mean  an 
amusement ride that is owned and operated by a nonprofit, 
community-based  organization,  is  operated  for  less  than 
either 20 days or 160 hours per year, and is operated at only 
one location each year.

“Registered agritourism activity”  would have the same 
meaning as it  does in  the Agritourism Promotion Act  (KSA 
2017 Supp. 32-1430 et seq.).

“Amusement ride” would specifically exclude:

● Antique amusement rides;

● Limited-use amusement rides;
____________________
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● Registered agritourism activities;

● Any ride  commonly known as a  hayrack  ride,  in 
which patrons sit  in a wagon or cart  that is  then 
pulled by horses or a tractor or other motor vehicle;

● Any ride commonly known as a barrel train, which 
has  a  series  of  handmade  cars  fashioned  from 
barrels that are connected and pulled by a tractor 
or other motor vehicle; and

● Amusement  rides  owned  by  an  individual  and 
operated  solely  within  a  single  county for  strictly 
private use.

The  definition  of  “amusement  ride”  would  also  be 
amended to remove language including all rides and devices 
in  American  Society  for  Testing  and  Materials  (ASTM) 
International F24 Committee Standards.

“Antique amusement ride” would mean an amusement 
ride, as defined in current law, manufactured prior to January 
1, 1930.

“Water slide” would mean a slide that is at least 35 feet 
in height and uses water to propel the patron through the ride. 

The  definition  of  “qualified  inspector,”  as  it  relates  to 
acceptable  training  requirements,  would  be  changed  from 
Level  II  National  Association  of  Amusement  Ride  Safety 
Officials  (NAARSO)  certification  to  Level  I  NAARSO 
certification. References to the Pennsylvania Department of 
Agriculture general  qualified inspector status would also be 
removed from the definition. The definition would specify that 
any  inspector  of  inflatable  devices  that  are  rented  on  a 
regular  basis  and erected at  temporary locations would be 
required to provide evidence of:

● Five  years  of  experience  working  with  inflatable 
devices; and
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● Qualified  training  from  a  third  party,  such  as 
advanced inflatable  safety  operations  certification 
from  the  Safe  Inflatable  Operators  Training 
Organization,  or  other  similar  qualification  from 
another nationally recognized institution.

Finally,  “serious  injury”  would  include  injury  or  illness 
that  requires  immediate  admission  and  overnight 
hospitalization and observation by a licensed physician. The 
current  definition  includes  injuries  or  illnesses  requiring 
immediate medial treatment.

Antique Amusement Rides, Limited-use Amusement 
Rides, Registered Agritourism Activities

Permits

The bill would provide that an antique amusement ride, 
limited-use amusement ride, or registered agritourism activity 
could not be operated in Kansas without a valid permit issued 
by the Department of Labor (Department). The owner of such 
a ride would be required to apply to the Department  for  a 
permit  in  such  form  and  manner  as  prescribed  by  the 
Secretary  of  Labor  (Secretary).  The  application  would  be 
required to include:

● The name of owner and operator of the ride;

● The location of ride or location ride is stored when 
not in use;

● A valid certificate of inspection; and

● Proof of insurance.

Once  an  application  was  approved,  the  permit  fee 
received, and a permit was issued for the antique amusement 
ride,  limited-use amusement  ride,  or  registered agritourism 
activity, the permit would be valid for one year from the date 
of issuance.
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Permit Fees

Applicants for operating permits for antique amusement 
rides,  limited-use  amusement  rides,  and  registered 
agritourism activities would be required to pay a permit fee of 
$50.

Permit  fees  would  be  returned  to  applicants  if  their 
applications  were  denied  by  the  Department.  Permit  fees 
collected  by  the  Secretary  would  be  credited  to  the 
Amusement Ride Safety Fund.

Registration

The bill  would  require  each  antique  amusement  ride, 
limited-use amusement ride, or registered agritourism activity 
be  registered  with  the  Department  prior  to  operation. 
Registration would be in such form and manner as prescribed 
by the Secretary and require payment of a registration fee of 
$50.

The registration fee would be an annual fee paid by the 
owner,  regardless  of  the  number  of  rides  owned  by  such 
owner. Registration fees collected by the Secretary would be 
credited to the Amusement Ride Safety Fund.

Insurance Requirements

The owner or operator of any antique amusement ride, 
limited-use amusement ride, or registered agritourism activity 
would  be  required  to  provide  for  coverage  of  at  least 
$750,000  per  occurrence  with  a  $1,000,000  annual 
aggregate.  Continuing  law states  owners  and  operators  of 
amusement rides are required to provide for coverage of at 
least  $1,000,000 per  occurrence with a $2,000,000 annual 
aggregate, or self-insure or participate in a public entity self-
insurance pool, if the owner is the State or any subdivision of 
the State; the bill would clarify this requirement.
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General Provisions

Inflatables

The bill would state that no inflatable device rented on a 
regular basis and erected at a temporary location could be 
operated in the state unless the operator had been trained by 
a person who has attained a basic inflatable safety operations 
certification  from  the  Safe  Inflatable  Operators  Training 
Organization  or  other  similar  qualification  from  another 
nationally recognized institution.

Slide Attendants

The bill  would require an attendant  to be stationed at 
each slide that uses water to propel the patron through the 
ride, and that is 15 feet or more in height.

Permit Applications, Amusement Rides

The  bill  would  specify  that  permit  applications  for 
amusement rides manufactured before July 1,  2018,  would 
have to include certification that the ride qualifies as service 
proven, as that term is used in applicable ASTM International 
F24 Committee Standards.

For rides manufactured on and after July 1, 2018, permit 
applications would have to include certification that the ride 
meets  applicable  ASTM  International  F24  Committee 
Standards pertaining to ride maintenance and operation.

The bill  would  also  include antique amusement  rides, 
limited-use  amusement  rides,  and  registered  agritourism 
activities in provisions of the Act not otherwise modified by 
the bill.
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Serious Injury

The bill would specify that, upon notification of serious 
injury, the Department must acknowledge receipt of the notice 
and determine whether an investigation is necessary.

The  bill  would  be  in  effect  upon  publication  in  the 
Kansas Register.

Conference Committee Action

As  it  entered  the  Conference  Committee,  SB  310 
contained  provisions  regarding  the  crime  of  escape  from 
custody.

The  Conference  Committee  agreed  to  remove  the 
provisions regarding the crime of escape from custody and to 
place those provisions into HB 2458.

The Conference Committee further agreed to insert the 
contents  of  SB  307  as  contained  in  the  Conference 
Committee Report adopted by both the House and Senate, 
and to modify those contents by:

● Changing  the  effective  date  such  that  the 
provisions  are  effective  upon  publication  in  the 
Kansas Register; and

● Adding  antique  amusement  rides  to  a  provision 
regarding  safety  instruction  posting to  be 
consistent with other provisions in the bill.

[Note: No substantive changes were made by the Conference 
Committee.]
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Background

The bill contains the provisions of SB 307 as contained 
in the Conference Committee Report adopted by the House 
and Senate. Background information for SB 307 follows.

SB 307

The bill  was  introduced by the  Senate  Committee  on 
Ways and Means. 

Senate Action

In the Senate Committee on Federal and State Affairs 
hearing,  Senator  Billinger,  as  well  as  representatives  of 
Gary’s  Berries,  the  Kansas  League  of  Municipalities,  the 
Kansas  Recreation  and  Park  Association,  the  National 
Christmas Tree Association, the Sheridan County Amusement 
Company,  Sky Zone,  and  the  Wallace  County  Amusement 
Association,  testified  in  favor  of  the  bill.  Written-only 
testimony in support of the bill was provided by the cities of 
Lenexa, Manhattan, Olathe, and Prairie Village; the Kansas 
Association  of  Counties;  the  Kansas  State  Alliance  of 
YMCAs; the Travel Industry Association; and a private citizen.

A representative from the Department provided neutral 
testimony. No other testimony was provided.

The Senate Committee amended provisions related to 
hayrack rides, barrel trains, water slides, inflatable devices, 
and notification of serious injury.

The Senate Committee of the Whole amended the bill to 
remove provisions stating a qualified inspector would not be 
held  liable  for  any  personal  injury  or  property  damage 
resulting  from  duties  required  by  the  Act.  The  Senate 
Committee also removed language relating to court costs and 
attorney fees that could be awarded to qualified inspectors 
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who prevail in any action or proceeding brought against them 
for  acts  or  omissions  while  engaged  in  discharge  of  the 
inspector’s  duties.  [Note:  The  Conference  Committee 
retained these amendments.]

House Action

In the House Committee on Federal  and State Affairs 
hearing,  proponent  testimony  was  presented  by  Senator 
Billinger, Representative Adam Smith, and representatives of 
the Kansas Association of Counties,  the Kansas Christmas 
Tree Growers Association, the Kansas Recreation and Park 
Association, and the League of Kansas Municipalities.

Written-only  proponent  testimony  was  provided  by 
Representative Pittman, the City of Olathe, the Kansas State 
Alliance  of  YMCAs,  the  Sheridan  County  Amusement 
Company,  Inc.,  and  the  Travel  Industry  Association  of 
Kansas. Neutral testimony was presented by the Amusement 
Ride Coordinator, Kansas Department of Labor.

No other testimony was provided.

The House Committee amended the bill by replacing all 
references to “home-owned” amusement rides with the term 
“limited-use”  amusement rides.  The House Committee also 
amended the term for which permits and registration fees are 
valid for limited-use amusement rides; specified recognized 
organizations  for  inflatable  device  inspection  certification; 
specified inflatable  device  training  for  customers;  amended 
the definition of water slide; and created a provision requiring 
lifeguard presence at water slides 15 feet or more in height. 
The House Committee placed the amended contents into a 
substitute bill. 

The  House  Committee  of  the  Whole  amended  the 
substitute  bill  by  specifying  that  an  attendant  must  be 
stationed at water slides 15 feet or more in height, defining 
“antique  amusement  ride,”  and  subjecting  antique 
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amusement  rides  to  the  same requirements as limited-use 
rides  and  registered  agritourism  activities.  [Note:  The 
Conference Committee retained these amendments.]

Fiscal Note

According to the fiscal note prepared by the Division of 
the  Budget  on  SB  307,  as  introduced,  the  Department 
indicates enactment of the bill would have no fiscal effect on 
the agency. A fiscal note on House Sub. for SB 307 was not 
available at the time the Conference Committee took action 
on SB 310.

amusement rides; Kansas Amusement Ride Act; antique amusement ride; limited-
use amusement rides; agritourism
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