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Purpose of Bill: 
 
The purpose of substitute bill for HB 2040 is to enable better enforcement of the Kansas 
Bus Stop sign law (K.S.A. 8-1730 and its attachments.) 
 
Present Status of enforcement: 
 
A national 2017 survey monitoring school bus stop arm passing incidents in 26 states 
found nearly 77,972 vehicles illegally passed 104,468 school buses in just one day!  That 
represents more than 14 million illegal passes nationally in a typical 180-day school year.   
 
About 59.2% of violators pass the bus from the front and 40.8% pass from the rear.  97% 
of violators pass on the driver’s left side and 3% pass on the right.  These direction 
statistics of violators passing extended bus stop signs have been fairly constant for years.  
 
During the April 2017 Kansas school bus stop arm survey, 2,527 bus drivers experienced 
691 violations. That represents 124,380 violations in a 180-day school year in Kansas. 
   
During a Sept. 24, 2015, Wichita school bus drivers counted 330 bus stop violations in 
one day!  KSN television videotaped some of those violations.  This can be seen at 
http://ksn.com/2015/09/24/ksn-investigates-school-bus-safety/.  However, the reporter’s 
statement about the amount of the fine is not accurate.  It is currently $315, not $100.  
 
Later in the school year, KSN continued its investigation and filed this report from 
Garden City.  Note how many officers it takes to run this program for just one bus.  This 
is an issue since the Kansas State Police agency is about 100 officers short of full 
compliment.  http://ksn.com/2015/11/23/khp-tries-new-school-bus-safety-method/. 
 
The latest available information on children getting hit by these violators found that 
73.2% percent of children killed when entering or exiting are under the age of 10.  
However, junior and senior high students were not immune to being hit by a vehicle.  
Those between the age of 10 and 17 years old made up almost 23% of the students killed 
while boarding or exiting a school bus.  These figures have been constant for the past 46 
years.   
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The survey stated that 64% of students are hit getting off the bus near their homes, while 
31% are hit while moving to board a school bus in the morning.  What is interesting is 
that the highest percentage of these accidents (75%) occurred in clear weather.  The 
2015-2016 survey was conducted in the District of Columbia and every state, except 
Mississippi. While the survey in its summary statement overs no detailed solutions, it 
does “point out the continuing need… to increase our efforts to thoroughly inform the 
driving public about the requirements of the school bus stop law,” 
 
On September 4 of 2016, CBS News ran a news lead demonstrating how bus stop sign 
cameras work.  The news story the CBS television station in Austin ran showed three 
students hit by vehicles, two of them within two days for the same Dallas county school 
district. The first two incidents that CBS News showed, the vehicle drivers did not even 
stop after hitting the students.  Fortunately the three students hit were not killed. 
http://www.cbsnews.com/news/school-districts-add-security-cameras-to-school-buses-to-
catch-drivers-illegally-passing-stop-signs/. 
 
I became interested in this issue 9 years ago when I had a middle school student nearly 
hit by a car that ran my stop sign while she was getting off my bus.  That is when I found 
out that there was nothing a bus driver could do about these violations.   
 
In our Riley County School district two years ago, we had a child and her mother that 
nearly got hit when a driver passed a bus stopped on a country road on the right side of 
the bus while children were boarding. The car nearly hit a small kindergarten student and 
her mother. When this driver repeated this again later that same month, the child’s mother 
was watching for it and stepped back in front of the bus with her child in order to be out 
of the way of the car.  Our bus driver had identified the car license number and vehicle 
description the first time. When the second incident happened, our driver was able to 
positively identify the driver of the car.  However, no ticket could be issued due to 
current legal limitations. 
 
This year, we have had two incidences of students nearly being hit by a car when de-
boarding a school bus. Again, nothing could be done by law enforcement. 
 
Under present law in Kansas, if a vehicle passes a school bus with its red 8-ways flashing 
and its stop sign extended out, the driver can fill out a report which can be turned in to 
law enforcement.     However, unless law enforcement actually sees the incident and then 
immediately acts on it, there is nothing the bus driver can do.  I have witnessed law 
enforcement actually observing violations and pulling the offender over on occasion.  
However, there are not enough officers available for this purpose, especially since most 
police departments are in the middle of a shift change when schools dismiss.  This 
present enforcement situation can be dangerous for Kansas children getting on and off the 
bus. 
 
I have received strong support, both verbal and written, from a number to Kansas school 
district transportation directors and officers of the Kansas School Transportation 
Association.  I have also received support from several local and state law enforcement 
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officers.  All are in agreement that the enforcement of the current bus stop sign law needs 
to be strengthened.  They have expressed support for a law similar to this proposed bill.  
 
Summary of Proposed Bill: 
 
The attorneys for the Kansas House have determined that law support currently exists in 
Kansas for the use of bus stop sign cameras on school buses for the purpose of 
identifying vehicles that run bus stop signs. These cameras also confirm that the sign has 
been fully extended when the violation occurs. 
 
First, school districts have the option to enter into a cooperative agreement with a bus 
camera company to install a bus stop sign camera system on the buses of the districts’ 
choice.  There are currently four companies nationally that offer these systems.  Normally 
they do not charge for the systems up front, or for the installation and maintenance of the 
systems. This agreement is done at the same time that the second part below is done. 
 
Second, school districts can enter into a cooperative agreement with law enforcement 
agencies for the disposition of the fines collected.  Typically, part of the fine goes to the 
court and law enforcement, part of the fine goes to the camera company to pay for the 
camera system, and part goes to the school district.  Each part is designed to help cover 
the costs of operating these camera systems, as well as the court and enforcement costs.  
This proposal would be 100% paid for by bus stop sign violators. 
 
Third, the camera system is designed to come on when the stop sign is triggered to 
extend.  The 8-way red lights come on at the same time.  The camera turns off when the 
stop sign is fully retracted and the red lights go off.   
 
Fourth, the camera system is self contained and separate from any other cameras that may 
be on the bus.  It has its own DVR with an SD card, as well as a pair of high resolution IP 
cameras.  It is dependent only on an operational bus stop sign system and that system’s 
electric power runs directly to the bus stop sign camera. Most newer school buses already 
have an access connector for this purpose.  Because of the high resolution of the cameras, 
the images can be stop-framed for identification purposes. 
 
Fifth, the recorded violation is then forwarded to law enforcement by a school district 
transportation official. Law enforcement reviews it to make sure that a violation has 
actually occurred.  If a violation has occurred, law enforcement then delivers or mails a 
ticket for this misdemeanor violation to the owner of the vehicle at the last known 
address.  The owner is determined by the license plate information taken from the video. 
This can be done by the duly appointed school resource officer that works with that 
school district. 
 
Sixth, the law does contain some exceptions.   

   



1. If the owner was not driving the car at the time, the owner has the option to 
present proof of who was actually driving so that the ticket can be redirected to 
the actual offender.   

2. Tickets cannot be issued to car rental agency vehicles or dealership loaner 
vehicles. 

 
Last of all, these violations would be incorporated within the existing Kansas traffic 
violation law.  The already existing initial fine and court cost are not changed, nor are any 
changes made in the already existing methods that a violator has to respond to a traffic 
ticket.  These same options are available with this issued ticket.   
 
This proposed bill does spell out the time table for determining when another violation is 
considered a second or a subsequent violation, as well as the applicable fines for these 
subsequent violations in detail.  Page 10 of the bill under sub-section (h) lists repeated 
offences as follows: 

• Second offence within 5 years – a $750 fine. 
• Third and subsequent offense after two prior convictions within 5 years of last 

previous conviction – a $1,000 fine. 
This provision is necessary since many offenders are repeat offenders who violate the 
stop signs of school buses which travel the same road(s) every school day. One example 
is the driver who nearly hit a kindergartner and her mother in our district.  This driver has 
done this at least three times at the same intersection! 
 
Other States Have Enacted a Similar Law 
 
There are presently 16 states which have a bus stop sign camera law as of 12/31/16.  
They are: 
 
Arkansas, Connecticut, Georgia, Illinois, Maryland, Mississippi, New Jersey, North 
Carolina, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Texas, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia and 
Wyoming.  A law of this type is also being considered in Indiana, Florida and 
Pennsylvania.  
 
Concerns about Lawsuits Addressed 
 
A search made on Lawsuits Today (LawsuitsToday.com), as well as several other 
locations, found information on lawsuits that have occurred in other states related to bus 
stop sign camera laws.  These suits all appear to fall into four (4) categories.  How this 
proposed bill handles these situations that have caused lawsuits in other states is 
demonstrated below. 

• There have been lawsuits filed in Georgia and Mississippi that have been 
triggered by a series of suits related to intersection stop light camera suits.  
Kansas does not have this issue.  There are no tickets in Kansas issued from 
intersection stop light cameras. 

• There are two states where there have been lawsuits filed against local 
municipalities where there is no state law covering this type of infraction.  Both 



suits exist because of the lack of state law to support the local law.  This proposed 
bill removes this lawsuit possibility in Kansas. 

• A local jurisdiction in Texas has been sued, because its bus stop sign law does not 
allow the option of a court trial.  This proposed law gives the accused that option 
in Section 1 8-2118. 

• The last lawsuit situation found has to do with the violator’s privacy.  In this case, 
the law involved is related to the intersection stop light laws in Georgia.  Again, 
Kansas does not have an intersection stop light law. 

 
Since all currently known reasons for opposing this proposed law have been addressed, I 
am asking that this committee approve this bill to be submitted to the full Senate for the 
protection of all Kansas school children. 
 
Thank you for your consideration of this child safety bill. 
 
Frank Clark 
Transportation Director 
USD 378 Riley County Schools 
 


