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Thank you for the opportunity to present testimony on behalf of my mother, who is unable to 

speak for herself. I am here to talk about the shortcomings of the very law that was put in place 

to protect her: to protect her from mistreatment and physical abuse. In the late stages of her 

journey with Alzheimer’s, she was a victim of physical abuse by a CNA at an Alzheimer’s 

nursing facility. She needed a courageous voice for justice. 

 

The elder abuse law was put into place to protect dependent and elderly adults. But, the law 

failed.  It did not protect my mother and it does not protect others from the crimes of physical 

abuse and mistreatment.  

 

In looking at the law, it is very specific in defining charges for fiduciary crimes against 

dependent adults and elder persons and bringing justice to victims. The monetary amounts are 

divided into 7 levels with specific charges included. The law goes into great detail. The 

amendments strengthen this protection.  
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(2) taking the personal property or financial resources of an elder person for the benefit of the 

defendant or another person by taking control, title, use or management of the personal property 

or financial resources of an elder person through:  

(A) Undue influence, coercion, harassment, duress, deception, false representation, false pretense 

or without adequate consideration to such elder person;  

(B) a violation of the Kansas power of attorney act, K.S.A. 58-650 et seq., and amendments 

thereto; or  

(C) a violation of the Kansas uniform trust code, K.S.A. 58a-101 et seq., and amendments 

thereto; or  

(D) a violation of the act for obtaining a guardian or conservator, or both, K.S.A. 59-3050 et 

seq., and amendments thereto; or  

(2)(3) omission or deprivation of treatment, goods or services that are necessary to maintain 

physical or mental health of such elder person.  

(c) Mistreatment of a dependent adult or an elder person as defined in:  

(1) Subsection (a)(1) is a severity level 5, person felony;  

(2) subsection (a)(2) if the aggregate amount of the value of the personal property or financial 

resources is:  

(A) $1,000,000 or more is a severity level 2, person felony;  

(B) at least $250,000 but less than $1,000,000 is a severity level 3, person felony;  

(C) at least $100,000 but less than $250,000 is a severity level 4, person felony;  

(D) at least $25,000 but less than $100,000 is a severity level 5, person felony;  
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(E) at least $1,000 $1,500 but less than $25,000 is a severity level 7, person felony;  

(F) less than $1,000 $1,500 is a class A person misdemeanor, except as provided in subsection 

(c) (b)(2)(G); and  

(G) less than $1,000 $1,500 and committed by a person who has, within five years immediately 

preceding commission of the crime, been convicted of mistreatment of a dependent adult a 

violation of this section two or more times is a severity level 7, person felony; and  

(3) subsection (a)(3) is a severity level 8, person felony.  

 

Does physical abuse and mistreatment not deserve the same level of detail? Does physical abuse 

not carry the same consideration as financial abuse? The law as written falls short in bringing 

justice. The law fell short for my mother for the physical abuse she suffered.  

 

The law states:  

Sec. 2. K.S.A. 2017 Supp. 21-5417 is hereby amended to read as follows: 21-5417. (a) 

Mistreatment of a dependent adult or an elder person is knowingly committing one or more of 

the following acts: (1) Infliction of physical injury, unreasonable confinement or unreasonable 

punishment upon a dependent adult or an elder person;  

(c) Mistreatment of a dependent adult or an elder person as defined in: (1) Subsection (a)(1) is a 

severity level 5, person felony;  

While this law is intended to protect, it has an obvious flaw; the law does not define physical 

injury. The law does not define unreasonable confinement. The law does not define unreasonable 

punishment.  

 

Because of this failure, district attorneys are left to define it for themselves. Because of this 

failure, my mother’s abuser was charged with misdemeanor battery and not a felony, as I believe 

the law was intended. I was told that because my mother did not sustain physical injury, the 

abuse did not qualify as a felony. In addition to not being charged as a felony, I was informed the 

abuser was applying for the diversion program. Completion of a diversion program meant the 

charges would be expunged from her record and she could continue working as a CNA.  

 

With this, my goal became to make sure the caregiver never had the opportunity to work as a 

CNA again working with dependent adults and vulnerable elderly. We went to the media with 

our story. My family and I made multiple calls to the district attorney’s office stating our 

disagreement with the possibility of diversion. Ultimately diversion was not granted, and a court 

date was set in municipal court. Our family needed a courageous voice for justice.  

 

Video 

 

The judge was not allowed to see the video as evidence. He read from the police officer’s written 

account of the video. The judge became angry as he read the account, stating his father passed 

away from Alzheimer’s, and that he did not know what he would have done had he found out his 

father was being abused. He stated he did not understand why this case was in his court, inferring 

the case should have been charged as a felony in district court. The judge sentenced the abuser to 

30 days in jail. 
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The judge became my mother’s and my family’s courageous voice for justice. He recognized the 

failure of the interpretation of the law and made sure the abuser was punished according to his 

ability. Had it not been for this judge there would not have been justice. 

 

With her sentencing, I assumed that she would immediately lose her license as soon as the state 

licensing board was notified of her sentencing. I learned that is not the case. In fact, the judicial 

system is not required to notify licensing boards. I called Kansas Department for Aging and 

Disability Services, and was thanked for giving them the information. It was 6 months before her 

name appeared on the list of CNA’s who lost their license to abuse, mistreatment or exploitation. 

 

You have the opportunity to be a voice for justice. My mother with Alzheimer’s, one of 52,000 

in the state of Kansas not including other dementias and dependent adults, need your voice to 

protect them, to provide justice. I have reviewed summaries of elder abuse laws for each state. 

Most states have detailed descriptions of abuse and the subsequent charges, while many have 

more severe charges in the case of physical abuse. Kansas needs to revise the law to detail the 

levels of abuse, define the charges and specify that diversion is not allowed under any 

circumstance when the elderly are abused. Will you stand with me to be this courageous voice 

for justice?  

 

 

 


