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NEUTRAL TESTIMONY HB 2456 Case Length Limits  
 

Mr. Chairman and this honorable committee, thank you for extending the opportunity to 
present testimony on HB 2456.  I am Chris Esquibel and I am the current President for the Kansas 
Association of Court Services Officers (KACSO) and a Court Service Officer in the 29th Judicial District in 
Wyandotte County.  I am here today as a Court Services Officer (CSO) and as a member of KACSO, which 
currently represents over 350 officers across Kansas.   

 
HB 2456 deals with when and how long a juvenile can be placed on probation for a crime.  We 

agree with the new changes when an individual abscond and a warrant is issued, but we still see some 
issues with when an individual’s case length terms starts.  

 
 An issue we see with HB 2456 is case length limits shall apply upon disposition or 15 days after 

adjudication, whichever is sooner, unless the juvenile fails to appear for such juvenile’s dispositional 
hearing.  As Court Services Officers, our primary duties are to give recommendations to the court and to 
protect the community through supervision.  As HB 2456 is written it does not allow us to properly serve 
the court, juvenile and the community.  Before a juvenile can have a disposition, by statute they must 
undergo an assessment of their risks and needs.  In many districts the court requires a Pre-Sentence 
Investigation Report, which gives recommendations to the court regarding supervision conditions 
specific to the juvenile.  The way HB 2456 is written the crucial assessment and report process risks 
being shortchanged in a rush to get to disposition within 15 days.  In the alternative, if court services is 
allowed time to give full measure to the pre-disposition process by cutting into the case term length, the 



court and the juvenile lose valuable supervision and programming time.  Factoring the effect of the 
Earned Discharge Credit now allowed it could be considerably less time. We believe a significantly 
shortened term of supervision would create a problem for the juvenile and would be a safety concern in 
the community. 

 The rush to disposition in HB 2456 causes a great strain on some juveniles and their families.   
We deal with large number of juveniles who come from single family homes or live with other 
guardians, who would require more than a couple of weeks’ notice to request time off from their jobs. 
Many do not have transportation and must work around other family members’ schedules to get to 
hearings and court related appointments.   We also deal with parents or guardians who feel their 
juvenile’s situation is not a priority and therefore do not take them to the required appointments.  This 
further narrows the timeframe for completing the YLS assessment and hinders our ability to develop 
proper recommendation for these juveniles and, moreover, for the safety of our communities.   

Another issue is evaluations that may be required before disposition.  Frequently the court or 
the juvenile’s attorney will request evaluations for sex offenders, substance abusers or juveniles with 
mental health concerns, so that the Court can determine the proper disposition for that juvenile.  Those 
same issues listed above apply to evaluations, along with the service provider trying to squeeze them in 
before the 15 days and before their YLS and PSI appointments.  As a CSO we do not want to send a sex 
offender into the community without a recommendation for treatment because we had to rush the 
disposition just to get them on supervision because the case length has started.  

There are many issues that can delay a disposition in a 15 day window.  We are asking to amend 
the time frame to 30 days or disposition hearing whatever comes first.  This would all the CSOs more 
time to fully assess the juvenile and develop proper recommendations for them, which should ensure 
better protection for the community, which is a goal we all share.  
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