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House Federal And State Affairs Committee 

Proponent Testimony for HB 2427 
Brenda Dreher Director Health Occupations Credentialing KDADS  
May 16, 2017 
 
Chairman Barker and members of the Committee: 
     
HB 2427 amends the existing statute which requires criminal record checks on employees in 

adult care homes.  The original bill was passed in 1997and and has changed very little since that 

time.   

Currently, there are approximately 8,000 individuals working in the adult care homes licensed by 

KDADS who reside in a state that borders Kansas.   Performing a name-based, Kansas only 

record check under the current statute requirements on any of these individuals is of little to no 

value.  The National Background check would ensure that records of criminal events that 

occurred in other states would be available to be reviewed.  Fingerprint-based background 

checks also ensure that potentially prohibited individuals cannot circumvent employment 

restrictions by changing their name or falsifying information.  

In June of 2010, the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) began accepting 

applications for grants for the purpose of providing funds to States to develop a structured 

system to identify efficient, effective, and economical procedures for adult care homes and 

providers to conduct National fingerprint-based background checks on potential direct access 

employees prior to employment. 

The Kansas Department for Aging and Disability Services (KDADS) applied for a grant in 2015 

and were awarded a grant amount of $ 3,000,000. In addition to the monetary award, the grant 

also provides technical assistance.  CMS’ contractors worked with KDADS and the Kansas 

Bureau of Investigation (KBI) to assess the State’s needs and develop a system.  It is important 

to note that the assessment, development and building of the system is included as part of the 
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grant and is provided at no cost to the state.  Without passing this legislation, the grant will 

expire June 30, 2018.   

Shortly after the grant was awarded the Kansas Department of Health and Environment (KDHE) 

Child Care Licensing Program contacted KDADS to inquire about their usage of the system in 

order to meet federal requirements which become effective September 2017.  Discussions began 

with KDHE, KDADS and the CMS contractors to assess KDHE’s needs in late 2015.   Much of 

the work on the system to meet KDHE’s needs was able to be covered under the scope of the 

grant.  However, other work required specifically by KDHE in order for the system to meet their 

needs is outside the scope of the contract and will be paid for by KDHE.  The Department for 

Children and Families has also expressed interest in using the system.   

The cost of the state and national background check is approximately $47.00 per person. 

Language has been added to the bill to allow KDADS to utilize grant money to subsidize part of 

the $47.00 cost so the actual cost to those facilities licensed by KDADS would be $19.00. 

Through the use of a financial sustainability model developed by the contractors for CMS and 

other states, it is estimated that the national background check system can be self-sustaining as 

long as the user fees go back into the fund to subsidize the cost. 

Additions to K.S.A. 39-970 

• Specific language added in the bill is required by both the FBI and KBI in order to submit 

fingerprint- based record checks.   

• Additional offenses.    

• Addition of waiver process for prohibited individuals requires specific time periods 

prohibited applicant must have passed in addition to fulfillment of all sentencing 

requirements. 

• Added language which authorizes staggered implementation of requirements. 

• Language added which allows other agencies to access the system to submit record 

requests. 

• Authorizes a maintenance fee of $1.00 per request to be collected by the department 

which will assist with the self-sustaining of the system. 


