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Chairman Mason and Members of the Committee: 

 

Thank you for the opportunity to provide some information on the Kansas Wage Payment Act (KWPA)1 

and what the Kansas Department of Labor (KDOL) does to assist Kansas workers and employers with their 

rights and responsibilities under the KWPA. 

 

The KWPA requires employers to pay, on regularly scheduled intervals and at least once per month, 

employees the wages the employees earn.2 The KWPA also prohibits employers from withholding, deducting, 

or diverting employee’s wages, except in certain limited circumstances.3 Employers who willfully fail to pay 

wages when due are subject to penalties of up to 100% of the amount of wages owed in addition to the back 

wages.4 

 

Individuals can pursue wage claims through two routes. Most individuals avail themselves of the 

administrative process administered by KDOL. Specifically, K.S.A. 44-322, 44-322a, and K.A.R. 49-21-1, 49-

22-2, and 49-21-3 set forth this procedure. Claims go through a typical administrative process with an initial 

attempt to resolve through education and agreement, an administrative hearing with an initial order if 

unsuccessfully resolved, a final agency order, and an appeal through the Kansas Judicial Review Act.5 Most 

cases are resolved prior to hearing. 

 

Once a final order has been issued, if the amount of the claim is less than $10,000, the Secretary of labor 

shall take assignment of the claim and take such appropriate action to enforce or defend such claim.6 This 

means reasonable attempts at collection including written requests for payment, initiating a civil suit to enforce 

the order, and intercepting amounts owed to the debtor by the State. Wage claimants are charged a nominal fee, 

                                                           
1 K.S.A. 44-313, et seq. 
2 K.S.A. 44-314 
3 K.S.A. 44-319 
4 K.S.A. 44-315 
5 K.S.A. 44-322a 
6 K.S.A. 44-324. Note: If the amount is $10,000 or greater, the Secretary has discretion whether to take assignment. 



up to $25 for this service. If the Secretary successfully obtains a judgment, the court shall award reasonable 

attorney fees.7 Typically, fees that are awarded equal $300.  

 

Alternatively, unpaid workers may assert a claim in civil court for violation of the KWPA. This is done 

either pro se or with the assistance of retained counsel. HB 2461 grants authority to the courts to award costs 

and attorney fees to private attorneys if they prevail in a civil action wage claim. 

 

KDOL is neutral on HB 2461. As stated above, most wage claims are pursued through the 

administrative process. The employment standards division does an outstanding job of educating workers and 

employers of their rights and responsibilities and resolving disputes over unpaid wages. Last year, more than 

$833,000 was collected on behalf of unpaid workers. 

 

Again, thank you for the opportunity to briefly explain the KWPA and the work KDOL does to assist 

workers and employers with their rights and responsibilities under the KWPA. I look forward to answering any 

questions you may have.  

 

Respectfully submitted, 

 

/s/ Justin L. McFarland 

 

Justin L. McFarland 

Deputy General Counsel 

Director of Labor Market Information 

           

 

                                                           
7 Id. 


