TO: The Honorable Les Mason, the Honorable Ken Corbet, Ranking Minority
Member Brandon Whipple, and Members of the House Committee on
Commerce, Labor and Economic Development

FROM: Robert Bruchman

RE: House Bill 2038; an Act concerning business entities; relating to fees for certain
filings with the secretary of state; exemptions for certain veterans and current
members of the armed forces.

DATE: January 23, 2017

Chairman Mason, Vice Chairman Corbet, Ranking Minority Member Whipple and Members of
the House Committee on Commerce, Labor and Economic Development:

I am the author of HB 2038 and I appreciate the opportunity to appear today to brief the
Committee and answer questions relating to this bill. HB 2038 would waive the filing fees to
start a new business in the state of Kansas for members of the armed forces and veterans.

This bill is important for a number of reasons. First and foremost, waiving the fees for veterans
is a way to honor those who have served our country and call our state home. This legislation
will give active military members and veterans an extra incentive and encouragement to start
their businesses here in Kansas. By waiving the fees associated with starting a new business, our
state is encouraging soldiers to pursue new ideas, launch new and innovative companies, and
create jobs for themselves and others here in Kansas.

Furthermore, this legislation could provide additional assistance to veterans as they transition to
the private sector that will ultimately benefit all of our state’s citizens. These service men and
women have learned great skills and leadership in the military, which make them well positioned
to start and grow their own businesses. Further, these veteran owned businesses are eligible to
receive SBA training and resources available exclusively to veterans, further positioning them
for success. As a result, this legislation will not only help veterans transition back into civilian
life, but also boost the start-up economy in Kansas as well.

Missouri and Pennsylvania have both passed similar laws exempting veterans, in addition to
active duty military, from paying a filing fee for starting a new business in those states.




The current filing fees collected by the Kansas Secretary of State for forming the following
business entities are: corporation- $90; nonprofit corporation- $20; limited liability company-
$165; limited liability partnership- $165; and limited partnership- $165.

Thank you for the opportunity to appear today. I would be happy to stand for any questions you
may have on the bill.

Respectfully,

Rob Bruchman




48-3601. Certain servicemembers, veterans and dependents deemed residents for purpose of
tuition and fees. (a) A current member of the armed forces of the United States or the member’s spouse
or dependent child who is enrolled or has been accepted for admission at a postsecondary educational
institution as a postsecondary student shall be deemed to be a resident of the state for the purpose of
tuition and fees for attendance at such postsecondary educational institution.

(b) A person is entitled to pay tuition and fees at an institution of higher education at the rates
provided for Kansas residents without regard to the length of time the person has resided in the state if the
person:

(1) (A) Files a letter of intent to establish residence in the state with the postsecondary educational
institution at which the person intends to register; (B) lives in the state while attending the postsecondary
educational institution; and (C) is eligible for benefits under the federal post-9/11 veterans educational
assistance act of 2008, 38 U.S.C. § 3301 et seq., or any other federal law authorizing educational benefits
for veterans; -

(2) (A) is a veteran; (B) was permanently stationed in Kansas during service in the armed forces or
had established residency in Kansas prior to service in the armed forces; and (C) lives in Kansas at the
time of enrollment; or

(3) (A) is the spouse or dependent of a veteran who was permanently stationed in Kansas during such
veteran’s service in the armed forces or had established residency in Kansas prior to service in the armed
forces; and (B) lives in Kansas at the time of enrollment.

(c) As used in this section:

(1) “Armed forces” means the army, navy, marine corps, air force, coast guard, Kansas army or air
national guard or any branch of the military reserves of the United States;

(2) “postsecondary educational institution” means the same as provided in K.S.A. 74-3201b, and
amendments thereto;

(3) “school year 2015-2016” means July 1, 2015 through June 30, 2016; and

(4) “veteran” means a person who has been separated from the armed forces and was honorably
discharged or received a general discharge under honorable conditions.

(d) Any person enrolled in a postsecondary educational institution at any time during school year
2015-2016 who would have been entitled to tuition and fee rates for a Kansas resident pursuant to
subsection (b)(2) or (3) had such subsection been in effect, but who paid more than such tuition and fee
rates for school year 2015-2016 shall be entitled to reimbursement of the difference between any tuition
and fee rates such person paid for school year 2015-2016 and the tuition and fee rate such person would
have paid as a Kansas resident if such subsection had been in effect.

(e) This section shall be part of and supplemental to chapter 48 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, and
amendments thereto.

History: L. 2015, ch. 76, § 3; L. 2016, ch. 21, § 1; July 1.
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KANSAS SECRETARY OF STATE i All information on the articles of organization

Kansas Limited Liability Company i must be complete and accompanied by the
Articles of Organization i correct filing fee or the document will not be

. accepted for filing.
Instructions P 9

Save time and money by filing your articles

Kansas Office of the Secretary of State: : . .
: of organization online at www.sos.ks.gov.

Memorial Hall, 1st Floor (785) 296-4564 i There, you can also stay up-to-date on your
120 S.W. 10th Avenue kssos@sos.ks.gov i organization’s status, annual report due date,
Topeka, KS 66612-1594 WWWw.508.KS.gov i and contact addresses.
O  Filing fee The filing fee for this document is $165.
Payment Please enclose a check or money order payable to the Secretary of State. Articles received

without the appropriate fee will not be accepted for filing. Please do not send cash. NOTICE:
There is a $25 service fee for all checks returned by your financial institution. Also, to
expedite processing, please do not use staples on your documents or to attach checks.

O Company name A word of organization must be included in the name per K.S.A. 17-7673. Permitted words of
organization are “Limited Company”, “Limited Liability Company”, or the abbreviation “L..C.",
“L.L.C.7, “LC" or “LLC". Kansas Statutes can be reviewed at www.kslegislature.org.

O  Resident agent The resident agent is a person or entity that is authorized to accept service of process
(lawsuits) on behalf of the business entity. This does not necessarily mean that the agent
himself/herself is being sued, but that he/she has the authority and responsibility to accept
service of process on behalf of the business.

O Registered office The registered office is the address where the resident agent is located.

0  Mailing address The mailing address is where you would like to receive official mail from the Secretary of
State’s Office.

O  Signature The articles require the signature of any person authorized fo form the limited liability
company.

EXHIBIT

B

K.S.A. 17-7673
Inst. rosnées




KANSAS SECRETARY OF STATE
Kansas Limited Liability Company
Articles of Organization

Kansas Office of the Secretary of State:

Memorial Hall, 1st Floor (785) 296-4564
120 S.W. 10th Avenue kssos@sos.ks.gov :
Topeka, KS 66612-1594 WWW.S08.Ks.gov THIS SPAGE FOR OFFICE USE ONLY,

1.  Name of the limited
liability company

2. Name of resident
agent and address of
registered office in
Kansas
Must be a Kansas street

address. AP.O. Box is
unacceptable.

Name

Strest Address

City State Zip

KS

3. Mailing address

Address will be used to send
official mail from the Secretary
of State's Office. Address

Attention Name

City State Zip Country

5. Effective date 1 Upon filing
Must be within 90 days of filing.

Month Day Year
[ Future effective date:

6. |declare under penalty of perjury pursuant to the laws of the state of Kansas that the foregoing is true and correct,
and | have remitted the required fee.

Signature of Organizer Month Day Year

1/1 Rsneist




