
Income and Excise Taxation; House Sub. for SB 149

House Sub. for SB 149 makes several changes in law related to income, sales, and 
electronic cigarette taxes.

The sunset for the angel investor tax credit  program, which offers qualified investors 
transferable state income tax credits of 50 percent, is extended by 5 years, from tax year 2017 
to tax year 2022.

Additional provisions create a new individual income tax checkoff program authorizing 
taxpayers  to  donate  to  local  school  districts  of  their  choice.  Donations  can be made in  an 
amount of $10, $25, $50, or any another amount designated by taxpayers (including the entire 
amount of a given refund). Moneys donated are required to be treated as donations to school 
districts in accordance with KSA 72-8210 and be reported as gifts for purposes of the Kansas 
Uniform Financial and Reporting Act.

Another provision requires placement on the individual income tax form of  a line for 
payment of sales tax on out-of-state and internet purchases where the tax was not previously 
paid (something the Department of Revenue already has been doing administratively for over a 
decade).

A cap on the amount of community improvement district sales taxes that the Department 
of  Revenue  may  retain  to  help  defray  administrative  costs  is  increased  from  $60,000  to 
$200,000.

The bill also provides a temporary sales tax exemption for the Gove County Healthcare 
Endowment  Foundation,  Inc.,  for  the  purpose  of  constructing  and  equipping  an  airport  in 
Quinter,  Kansas.  Additional  language clarifies  this  exemption  also  is  extended  to  qualifying 
purchases made by any contractor hired for that project.  The exemption sunsets on July 1, 
2019.

An  additional  temporary  sales  tax  exemption  exempts  all  sales  of  tangible  personal 
property and services purchased during calendar year 2016 necessary to construct, reconstruct, 
repair, or replace any fence damaged or destroyed by fire occurring during calendar year 2016. 
Sales tax refunds are available for such sales tax paid on and after January 1, 2016, but prior to 
the effective date of the bill if appropriate documentation necessary for such refund is provided 
by the taxpayer.

Finally,  the effective date of a new tax enacted in 2015 on the privilege of selling or 
dealing electronic cigarettes is delayed from July 1, 2016, to January 1, 2017.
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