
Sentencing and Crimes; HB 2463

HB  2463 amends  statutes  concerning  sentencing  and  crimes.  Specifically,  the  bill 
amends  statutes  governing  the  determination  of  criminal  history  to  add  non-grid  felonies, 
nondrug severity level 5 felonies, and any drug severity level 1 through 4 felonies committed by 
an adult to the list of juvenile adjudications that will decay if the current crime of conviction is 
committed after the offender reaches age 25.

The bill also allows a court to continue or modify conditions of release for or impose a 
120- or 180-day prison sanction on an offender who absconds from supervision, without having 
to first impose a 2- or 3-day jail sanction.

Finally,  the bill  makes a violation or  an aggravated violation of  the Kansas Offender 
Registration Act a person offense if the underlying crime (for which registration is required) is a 
person  crime.  If  the  underlying  crime  is  a  nonperson  crime,  the  registration  offense  is  a 
nonperson crime. If there are multiple underlying crimes, which include both a nonperson crime 
and a person crime that require compliance with the Act, the registration offense is a person 
crime. Previously, a violation or aggravated violation of the Kansas Offender Registration Act 
was a person crime regardless of the designation of the underlying crime.
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