
Kansas Tanning Facilities Act; Board of Barbering; HB 2456

HB 2456 creates and amends law regarding tanning facilities and barber schools and 
colleges. 

Kansas Tanning Facilities Act

The bill creates the Kansas Tanning Facilities Act and prohibits a tanning facility from 
providing access to a tanning device to any individual under 18 years of age. In addition to or in 
place  of  disciplinary  action  currently  allowed  under  statute,  the  Board  of  Cosmetology  has 
authority to impose fines up to $250 against a tanning facility licensee for each violation. The 
Board of Cosmetology is required to adopt rules and regulations under the Act, no later than 
January 1, 2017.

Board of Barbering

The bill amends the requirements for a barber school or college to be approved by the 
Kansas Board  of  Barbering  (Board);  the  qualifications  for  a  person  to  receive  a  license  to 
practice barbering; the license renewal process for a barber, instructor, or operator of a barber 
shop whose license has expired; the disciplinary procedures the Board is allowed to follow; and 
the Board’s duties to include increased authority.

The bill amends the requirements for a barber school or college to be approved by the 
Board  by  changing  the  required hours  for  graduation  to  a  minimum of  1,200 hours  and a 
maximum of 1,500 hours and eliminates the period of time an instructor must be a licensed 
practicing barber.

Under the bill, barber schools or colleges can design courses of study for barbers who 
have not renewed their licenses for a period of at least three years, for students who have failed 
at least two examinations conducted by the Board, or for other purposes as prescribed by the 
Board, including courses of study for professionals in related industries.

The bill allows a person to receive a license to practice barbering if such person has 
been certified in a related industry, such as barbering in any branch of the U.S. military service, 
and has completed a course of study in a licensed Kansas barber college or school or has been 
a cosmetologist licensed by the Kansas Board of Cosmetology and has completed a course of 
study in a licensed Kansas barber college or school.

A barber, instructor, or operator of a barber shop whose license has been expired for a 
period of less than three years is required to file a renewal application with the Board for license 
renewal. A barber, instructor, or operator of a barber shop whose license has been expired for a 
period of three years or more is required to file an application for reexamination with the Board 
for  license  renewal.  The  Board  is  allowed  to  issue  the  new  license  upon  receipt  of  the 
application, payment of fees, and passage of reexamination, if applicable.

The Board may censure, limit, condition, suspend, or revoke or refuse to issue, reinstate, 
or renew a license of any applicant or licensee upon proof the applicant or licensee violated the 
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provisions set  forth  in  the statute that  make a licensee or  applicant  subject  to  discipline or 
disqualify the licensee or applicant from practicing barbering. The bill adds to the list of such 
provisions having been convicted of  any felony offense or  misdemeanor offense of  a crime 
against persons or involving illegal drugs as determined by the Board in rules and regulations, 
and the licensee or applicant for a license is unable to demonstrate to the Board’s satisfaction 
that such person has been sufficiently rehabilitated to warrant the public trust. The Board also 
has the authority to issue a civil fine of up to a $1,000 against a licensee for a violation of such 
provisions.

The  Board  has  the  authority  to  revoke  the  license  of  any  licensee  who  voluntarily 
surrenders  such  person’s  or  entity’s  license  pending  investigation  of  misconduct  or  while 
charges of misconduct against the licensee are pending or anticipated.

All  disciplinary  proceedings  will  be  conducted  in  accordance  with  the  Kansas 
Administrative Procedure Act. Additionally, all judicial review and civil enforcement of agency 
actions will be in accordance with the Kansas Judicial Review Act.

The Board is granted additional authority to issue a cease and desist order against any 
individual,  operator,  or  licensee  if  the  Board  determined  that  such  individual,  operator,  or 
licensee has practiced without a valid license or engaged or attempted to engage in any act or 
practice in violation of the statutes or rules and regulations pertaining to barbering.

Further, the Board is granted additional authority to make an application to any court of 
competent  jurisdiction for  an order  enjoining any person who has engaged or  attempted to 
engage in any act or practice in violation of the statutes or rules and regulations pertaining to 
barbering. Upon a showing by the Board that such person has engaged or attempted to engage 
in  any  such  act  or  practice,  the  Court  is  required  to  issue,  without  bond,  an  injunction, 
restraining order, or such other order as may be appropriate.
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