Sailboat Instruction and Safety; HB 2436

HB 2436 amends law relating to boater safety education for operation of a sailboat.
State law requires any person born on or after January 1, 1989, to possess a certificate of
completion of a boater safety course authorized by the Kansas Department of Wildlife, Parks
and Tourism in order to operate a motorboat or sailboat on Kansas public waters without direct
supervision, unless the person is 21 years of age or older. The bill exempts from the
requirement to possess that certificate any individual operating a sailboat that does not have a
motor and has an overall length of 16 feet, 7 inches or less, while that individual is participating
in an instructor-led sailing class.
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