
Insurance Code Amendments—ASD Coverage; Termination of Certain Coverage, 
Notice of; Financial Examinations; State High Risk Pool; Surplus Lines 
Insurance; SLIMPACT; HB 2352

HB 2352 makes several amendments to the Insurance Code. Among the amendments, 
the bill makes changes to the definitions of “large employer” and “small employer” in the law 
requiring  insurance  coverage  for  Autism  Spectrum  Disorders  (ASD);  updates  provisions 
associated with the mailing of notice of termination of certain insurance coverage and financial 
examinations of certain insurance companies; repeals 2011 law authorizing the state to join the 
Surplus  Lines  Insurance  Multi-State  Compliance  Compact  (SLIMPACT);  and  simplifies  the 
calculation of gross premiums for surplus lines insurance. 

ASD Coverage—Amendments to 2014 Law 

The bill amends “large employer” to increase the number of employees from at least 51 
to at least 101 employees. The limit on the number of employees of a “small employer” changes 
from a limit of 50 to a limit of 100 employees. (“Small” and “large” employers are terms used in 
connection with group health benefit plans and the ASD coverage requirement.)

Mailing Notice of Termination of Insurance Coverage 

The bill amends a provision in the Kansas Automobile Injury Reparations Act to provide 
insurance companies the option to mail notice of motor vehicle liability insurance termination by 
any other mail  tracking method currently used,  approved, or  accepted by the United States 
Postal Service (USPS).

Under  continuing  law,  automobile  liability  insurance  companies  are  prohibited  from 
terminating policies or renewals, except in the instance of nonpayment or at the request from 
the policyholder,  until  at  least  30  days  after  mailing  a  notice  of  termination  by  certified  or 
registered mail,  or USPS certificate of mailing. The bill  expands the options associated with 
providing notice of termination.

Financial Examinations of Certain Insurance Companies and the Kansas Uninsurable 
Health Insurance Plan 

The bill  amends provisions in the Insurance Code pertaining to permissible fees and 
expenses associated with certain financial examinations and the frequency rate of a financial 
examination of the plan administrator for the Kansas Uninsurable Health Insurance Plan Act (an 
act governing the State High Risk Pool).

Outside Consulting Fees and Expenses

The bill  increases for  certain  insurance companies,  from $100,000 to  $500,000,  the 
maximum amount allowed for the collective total of  payment of outside consulting and data 
processing fees associated with the financial examination of an insurance company or society 
or its subsidiaries and the pro rata amount to fund the purchase of examination equipment and 
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computer software. Those companies subject to this consulting fee and equipment purchase 
limitation are those with $200 million or more in gross premiums, both direct and assumed, in 
the prior calendar year. 

Kansas Uninsurable Health Insurance Plan Act—Amendments

The bill  amends the Kansas Uninsurable Health Insurance Plan Act  to decrease the 
frequency of the required examination period of the financial status of the Plan, from at least 
once every three years to at least once every five years. By law, the Insurance Commissioner 
(Commissioner) is required to transmit a copy of these examination results to the Legislature by 
February 1 of the year following the year in which the examination occurred.

Surplus Lines Insurance; Surplus Lines Insurance Multi-State Compliance Compact 

The bill  creates  new definitions  and  amends  existing  requirements  in  the  Insurance 
Code pertaining to the regulation of excess lines insurance (also referred to by the term “surplus 
lines insurance”). Additionally,  the bill will repeal SLIMPACT. The State of Kansas became a 
member of the Compact via the enactment of 2011 HB 2076. 

Definitions

The bill  creates new definitions to be applicable to provisions in the Insurance Code 
relating to the regulation of excess lines insurance coverage. Among the defined terms are:

● Exempt commercial purchaser – any person purchasing commercial insurance 
that, at the time of placement, meets the following requirements: 

○ Employs  or  retains  a  qualified  risk  manager  to  negotiate  insurance 
coverage; 

○ Has  paid  aggregate  nationwide  commercial  property  and  casualty 
insurance premiums in excess of $100,000 in the immediately preceding 
12 months; and 

○ Does one of the following:

– Possesses a net worth in excess of $20,040,000, except that this 
amount  would  be  adjusted  every  five  years  by  rules  and 
regulations  of  the Commissioner  to  account  for  the percentage 
change in the Consumer Price Index;

– Generates  annual  revenues  in  excess  of  $55,100,000  (this 
amount  also  would  be  adjusted  every  five  years  as  detailed 
above);

– Employs more than 500 full-time or full-time-equivalent employees 
per insured entity or is a member of an affiliated group employing 
more than 1,000 employees in the aggregate;

Kansas Legislative Research Department 2 2015 Summary of Legislation



– Is a not-for-profit  organization or public entity generating annual 
budgeted expenditures of at least $33,060,000 (this amount also 
would be adjusted every five years as previously detailed); or

– Is a municipality with a population in excess of 50,000 persons;

● Home state – as the term applies to an insured:

○ The state in which an insured maintains its principal place of business or, 
in the case of an individual, the individual’s principal residence; or

○ If 100 percent of the insured risk is located out of the state (its principal 
place  of  business),  the  state  to  which  the  greatest  percentage  of  the 
insured’s taxable premium for that insurance contract is allocated;

● Non-admitted insurer – an insurer that is not authorized or admitted to transact 
the business of insurance under the law of the home state (this term would not 
include a risk retention group, as defined in 15 USC § 3901(a)(4)); and

● Surplus lines insurance – insurance procured by a surplus lines licensee from a 
surplus lines insurer or other non-admitted insurer as permitted under the law of 
the home state. The term also would mean excess lines insurance as may be 
defined by applicable state law.

Gross Premiums for Surplus Lines Insurance—Calculation of Payment to Commissioner

The bill simplifies the computation method of surplus lines premium provided in current 
law by instead specifying licensed agents must collect and pay to the Commissioner a tax of 6.0 
percent  on  the  total  gross  premiums charged,  less  any  return  premiums,  for  surplus  lines 
insurance transacted by the licensee pursuant to the license for insureds whose home state is 
Kansas.  (The  calculation  in  current  law  recognizes  multi-state  premiums  and  separately 
accounts for a tax rate of 6.0 percent for Kansas’ risks and exposures and a remittance, for risks 
located  outside  of  the  state,  equal  to  the  tax  rate  and  fees  assessed  in  other  states  and 
jurisdictions.)

Signed Affidavit or Statement of Diligent Search—Exempt Commercial Producer

The bill exempts a surplus lines producer seeking to place non-admitted insurance for an 
exempt  commercial  purchaser  from  filing  a  sworn  affidavit  or  statement  with  the  Kansas 
Insurance Department, if the surplus lines producer has disclosed to the exempt commercial 
producer that such insurance may or may not be available from the admitted market and the 
exempt commercial producer has subsequently requested in writing the surplus lines producer 
procure or place such insurance from a non-admitted insurer.

Under current law, a statement must be filed annually and specify that,  after diligent 
effort, the agent has been unable to secure the amount of insurance required to protect the 
property, person, or firm described in the agent’s affidavit or statement from loss or damage in 
regularly admitted companies.
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Rules and Regulations Authority—Insurance Commissioner

The bill  permits the Commissioner to adopt rules and regulations as are reasonable, 
necessary,  and incidental  to the enforcement and administration of the provisions governing 
excess lines insurance. Any such rules and regulations must be adopted no later than January 
1, 2017.

Effective Dates

The changes relating to ASD coverage will take effect and be in force from and after 
January 1,  2016,  and its publication in  the statute book.  The changes to law and new law 
governing  surplus  lines  insurance  will  be  effective  on and  after  January 1,  2016.  All  other 
provisions of the bill are effective as of July 1, 2015. 
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