
Scrap Metal Theft Reduction Act; HB 2048

HB  2048 establishes  the  “Scrap  Metal  Theft  Reduction  Act”  (Act)  by  adding  and 
amending law related to scrap metal dealer registration and scrap metal sales. Additionally, the 
bill amends certain criminal provisions related to scrap metal theft. 

Scrap Metal Theft Reduction Act

The bill gives the Attorney General jurisdiction and authority over the implementation, 
administration, and enforcement of the Act, including certain specified powers, and authorizes 
the Attorney General to adopt rules and regulations to implement the Act.

The bill establishes the Scrap Metal Theft Reduction Fee Fund to be administered by the 
Attorney General, which will  be credited with all  fees, charges, or penalties collected by the 
Attorney General under the Act. Expenditures from the Fund will be used for the administration 
of the duties, functions, and operating expenses incurred under the Act.

By July 1, 2016, the Attorney General is required to establish and maintain a database of 
scrap metal sales regulated elsewhere in the Act. Information from this database will be used for 
law enforcement and other purposes necessary to implement and enforce the Act. Information 
in the database will be confidential and released only to law enforcement for authorized uses. 
The information is not a public record or subject to the Kansas Open Records Act.

The  bill  gives  the  Attorney  General  power  to  administer  oaths  and  affirmations, 
subpoena  witnesses  or  matter  (in-state  or  out-of-state),  and  collect  evidence  to  investigate 
possible violations of the Act. The bill specifies how service may be made for these purposes. 
The Attorney General may request a court to order an individual to comply with a subpoena, and 
the bill provides immunity for a person who complies with a court order to provide testimony or 
matter after asserting a privilege against self-incrimination. The Attorney General may apply for, 
and the district court can order injunctive relief action against, the corporate charter or other 
licenses, permits, or certificates of any entity failing or refusing to file any statement or report 
required by the Act, or other relief as may be required against such entities.

On and after January 1, 2016, the bill establishes civil penalties of $100 to $5,000 for 
each violation of the Act by a scrap metal dealer, which can be imposed by the Attorney General 
and will be subject to appeal under the Kansas Judicial Review Act.

On and after January 1, 2016, the bill allows the Attorney General to bring a civil action 
to obtain a declaratory judgment that an act or practice violates the Act; enjoin or restrain any 
person who has violated, is violating, or is likely to violate the Act; recover reasonable expenses 
and investigation fees; or impose any civil penalty authorized by the Act. The court is allowed to 
take these actions without  requiring bond of  the Attorney General.  The Attorney General  is 
allowed to accept a consent judgment, which must be approved by the district court. Violation of 
such consent judgment will be subject to penalties for violation of a court order. Civil penalties of 
up to $5,000 for each violation will be imposed, and willful violation of a court order under the 
Act will incur a civil penalty of up to $10,000 per violation.
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The bill  establishes jurisdiction for Kansas courts over any person who, in-person or 
through an agent or instrumentality, engages in business as a scrap metal dealer as defined in 
the  Act,  and  provides  for  venue  in  Shawnee County  District  Court  or  in  any  other  district 
otherwise authorized by law.

The bill prohibits municipalities from enacting or enforcing any ordinance, resolution, or 
regulation  relating  to  the  implementation,  administration,  and  enforcement  of  the  Act,  and 
declares any such ordinance, resolution, or regulation adopted prior to July 1, 2015, null and 
void. No action or prosecution based upon such ordinance, resolution, or regulation may be 
taken for any violation on or after July 1, 2014.

The bill amends existing statutes related to scrap metal to incorporate them within the 
Act.

Within the scrap metal definitions statute, the bill amends the definitions of “scrap metal 
dealer,” “regulated scrap metal,” “junk vehicle,” “nonferrous metal,” and “vehicle part.” The bill 
removes  definitions  of  “regulated  scrap  metal  yard,”  “ferrous  metal,”  and  “tin,”  and  adds 
definitions of “person” and “attorney general.”

In  the  statute  setting  forth  transaction  requirements  for  scrap  metal  sellers,  the  bill 
makes clarifying amendments to several  requirements. It  moves a requirement for  a signed 
statement by the seller to this statute from the statute setting forth transaction requirements for 
scrap metal buyers. The bill  also amends this section to require a dealer to photograph the 
seller and any regulated items being sold and to keep the photographs with the transaction 
record  and dealer’s  register  of  information.  Dealers  are required to  forward  the  information 
required by this section to the database established by the Act. The bill further amends this 
section  to  remove  exceptions  related  to  transactions  involving  catalytic  converters  and 
prohibitions  on  payment  methods  other  than  prenumbered  checks  or  automated  cash  or 
electronic payment distribution. Exceptions for sellers who are scrap metal dealers are clarified 
and an exception for sellers who are licensed vehicle dealers is added.

In  the  statute  setting  forth  transaction  requirements  for  scrap  metal  buyers,  the  bill 
removes  vehicle  titles  as  acceptable  documents  to  be  provided  by  the  seller  of  a  vehicle 
purchased from an impounding facility or agency (leaving a bill of sale as the only option). The 
bill adds certain vendors to the list of entities for whom sellers must be authorized in order to sell 
restricted scrap metal items and adds “burnt wire” to the list of restricted scrap metal items.

A statute setting forth misdemeanor penalties for the violation of the existing statutes 
described above is repealed.

In the statute governing scrap metal dealer registration, the bill removes or transfers to 
the Attorney General registration requirements involving the board of county commissioners or 
the governing body of a city. The bill requires the Attorney General to establish a system for the 
public to confirm scrap metal dealer registration certificates, but disclosure of information from 
the system shall  not constitute an endorsement of any scrap metal dealer.  The bill  requires 
applicants  to  provide  additional  information  regarding  their  names,  corporate  structure,  and 
location and hours. The list of prior convictions within ten years an applicant must disclose is 
expanded  to  include  all  crimes  involving  property,  poisoning  a  domestic  animal,  perjury, 
compounding  a  crime,  obstructing  legal  process  or  official  duty,  falsely  reporting  a  crime, 
interference with law enforcement,  interference with judicial  process,  or  any crime involving 
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dishonesty or false statement, including similar convictions in other jurisdictions. The bill allows 
the Attorney General to set registration fees of $500 to $1,500 per place of business, and the 
registration period is lowered from ten years to one year, with renewal fees of not more than 
$1,500.  A  provision  making  violation  of  the  registration  provisions  a  class  A  nonperson 
misdemeanor is removed.

Effective  January  1,  2016,  the list  of  disqualifications  for  registration is  expanded to 
include:

● A person who is not a U.S. citizen or legal permanent resident;

● A person who has entered into a diversion agreement for certain crimes; and

● A person who does not own the premises for which a license is sought, unless 
the person has  a written lease for  at  least  three-fourths of  the period of  the 
license.

The disqualifications  statute  is  also  amended with  the  following  provisions,  effective 
January 1, 2016:

● The look-back period for  current  disqualifications involving revocation or  false 
statements on applications is extended from three to ten years. The look-back 
period for the disqualifying crimes is extended from five to ten years, and the bill 
clarifies  that  disqualifying  crimes  include  those  involving  dishonesty  or  false 
statement, or similar convictions in other jurisdictions;

● A disqualifying  provision  for  convictions  within  the  preceding  five  years  of 
violating the existing scrap metal statutes is removed; and

● The bill  allows a criminal  history records check for  applicants for  registration, 
including  fingerprinting  provisions.  An  applicant  disqualified  due  to  criminal 
history record information shall be informed in writing of the decision.

The statute governing registration suspension is amended, effective January 1, 2016, to 
reflect  the  transfer  of  jurisdiction  from  local  authorities  to  the  Attorney  General  and  the 
restructuring of the Act. Nonpayment of a civil penalty after notice that the penalty is more than 
30 days past due is added as a reason for revocation or suspension. A provision for appeal to 
the district court is removed and replaced with a provision for appeal in accordance with rules 
and regulations promulgated by the Attorney General.

Criminal Provisions

The bill amends the statute providing for  prima facie evidence of intent to permanently 
deprive an owner or lessor of possession, use, or benefit of property to clarify the methods by 
which someone giving false identification may obtain control over property and to establish that 
various actions involving the failure to give information or giving of false information required by 
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the Act or transportation or alteration of scrap metal shall be such prima facie evidence under 
the statute in a prosecution for theft involving regulated scrap metal.

The bill amends the statute governing the crime of criminal damage to property to create 
the crime of aggravated criminal damage to property, which is defined as criminal damage to 
property, if the value or amount of damage exceeds $5,000, committed with the intent to obtain 
regulated scrap metal or related items, where the crime is committed on any building, structure, 
residence, facility, site, place, property, vehicle, or infrastructure. The bill sets forth a number of 
specific locations or properties that fall within these categories, and it provides definitions for 
“infrastructure” and “site.” The new crime is a severity level 6, nonperson felony, and a special 
sentencing rule is added to the sentencing grid statute imposing a sentence of presumptive 
imprisonment where an offender has a prior conviction for any nonperson felony.

In  amendments  to  the  criminal  damage  to  property  statute  and  the  authorized 
dispositions statute, the bill sets forth various costs to be included in determining the amount of 
damage to property,  including cost  of  repair  or  replacement;  loss of  production,  crops,  and 
livestock; labor and material costs; and costs of equipment used to abate or repair the damage. 
The bill also makes a reconciling amendment to the authorized dispositions statute and repeals 
a conflicting version of the statute.

The bill enacts new law in the Kansas Code of Criminal Procedure establishing that, at a 
preliminary examination, the business records containing the details of the sales or transactions 
maintained by scrap metal dealers pursuant to the Act may be admitted into evidence as if the 
individuals who made the record and the records custodian had testified in person.
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