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Brief*

SB 189 would require any person who practices
veterinary medicine on client-owned animals as a part of the
person’s employment at a school of veterinary medicine in
Kansas to be a licensed veterinarian or possess an
institutional license, beginning July 1, 2016. The fee for an
application for an institutional license would be not less than
$50 nor more than $250. The annual fee for renewal would
be not less than $20 nor more than $100. Both fees would be
established by the Board of Veterinary Examiners (Board).
The bill also would require notices of the expiration of
institutional licenses to be mailed to those holding institutional
licenses and to the school of veterinary medicine not later
than 30 days prior to the license expiration.

In addition, the bill would establish the procedure and
requirements for obtaining an institutional license to practice
veterinary medicine while employed by a school of veterinary
medicine in the state from the Board. The bill would require
the applicant to:

e Have a degree of doctor of veterinary medicine or
its equivalent;

) Have passed the Kansas veterinary legal practice
examination;

° Be a person of good moral character;
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Have paid the license application fee;

Provide proof of employment with a school of
veterinary medicine within Kansas;

Certify that the person understands and agrees the
institutional license is valid only for the practice of
veterinary medicine associated with employment
with the school of veterinary medicine; and

Provide additional information or proof as required
by the Board in rules and regulations.

Further, on and after July 1, 2016, the Kansas Veterinary
Practice Act (Act) would be amended to specifically permit:

The practice of veterinary medicine at a school of

veterinary medicine in Kansas by a person
possessing an institutional license;

Any person, including a member of the faculty, to
give lectures, instructions, or demonstrations at the
school of veterinary medicine or in connection with
continuing education courses, except when it
involves the practice of veterinary medicine on
client-owned animals; or

The temporary practice of veterinary medicine at a
school of veterinary medicine, for a period of 30
days per calendar year, by a person eligible to
obtain a veterinary or institutional license upon
examination and application.

Under the bill, the Board, by rules and regulations,
would be allowed to waive the payment of a renewal fee for
an institutional license during the period when the person is
on active military duty during a time of national emergency for
a period not to exceed three years.
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In addition, the bill would remove the sunset on the
veterinary training program for rural Kansas and allow the
program to continue. Under current law, the program would
sunset on July 1, 2016, and no further program agreements
could be entered after that date.

The bill would require the Dean of the College of
Veterinary Medicine at Kansas State University to submit an
annual report to the Senate Committee on Agriculture and the
House Committee on Agriculture and Natural Resources,
which would include details on the Veterinary Training
Program for Rural Kansas, the Veterinary Diagnostic
Laboratory, the National Bio and Agro-Defense Facility
(NBAF), and other programs of the college.

Further, the bill would require the Animal Health
Commissioner of the Kansas Department of Agriculture
(KDA) to promulgate rules and regulations by December 31,
2015, regarding acceptable forms of euthanasia. The rules
and regulations could be more strict than euthanasia
standards set by the American Veterinary Medical
Association.

Conference Committee Action

The Conference Committee agreed to the House
Committee of the Whole language on the bill, but added a
provision regarding an annual report to the Senate
Committee on Agriculture and House Committee on
Agriculture and Natural Resources regarding various
veterinary programs, the Veterinary Diagnostic Laboratory,
and NBAF. The Committee also amended the language
regarding a ban on carbon monoxide euthanasia of dogs and
cats, by authorizing the Animal Health Commissioner to
promulgate rules and regulations by December 31, 2015.
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Background

The bill was introduced by the Senate Committee on
Agriculture.

At the Senate Committee hearing on the bill, proponents
included representatives of the Board, the KDA, and the
College of Veterinary Medicine at Kansas State University.

The Senate Committee heard testimony that, while
violations of the Act by persons practicing veterinary medicine
at a school of veterinary medicine are limited, the bill would
give authority to the Board to investigate those matters and to
take any appropriate disciplinary action against anyone who
violates the Act. Another conferee explained the Board is
charged to ensure standards of quality care and competency
are maintained as well as to take remedial action against
veterinarians who violate provisions of the Act. The Senate
Committee learned the Board has jurisdiction only of those it
licenses and has no authority over non-licensed
veterinarians.

At the hearing on the bill in the House Agriculture and
Natural Resources Committee, the only conferee was a
proponent representing the KDA. The Committee heard the
bill would give authority to the Board to investigate and to
take any appropriate disciplinary action against anyone who
violates the Act. The Committee also learned the Board is
charged to ensure standards of quality care and competency
are maintained as well as to take remedial action against
veterinarians who violate provisions of the Act. The House
Committee learned the Board has jurisdiction only of those it
licenses and has no authority over non-licensed
veterinarians.

The House Committee on Agriculture and Natural
Resources amended the bill to add the provisions of HB 2364
dealing with the elimination of the sunset on the veterinary
training program for rural Kansas.
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The House Committee of the Whole amended the bill by
adding language prohibiting the use of carbon monoxide
chambers for the purpose of euthanasia of dogs and cats.

The fiscal note on the original bill states the KDA
believes the fiscal effect of the bill on expenditures would be
negligible and would increase fee fund revenue by
approximately $4,995 in both FY 2016 and FY 2017. The
revenue, based on the number of licenses as estimated by
the Board and the Kansas State College of Veterinary
Medicine, includes the following:

Number of Licenses Revenue
Clinicians (41 @ $95) $ 3,895
Interns (7 @ $50) 350
Residents (8 @ $50) 400
2nd Year Residents (7 @ $25) 175
3rd Year Residents (7 @ $25) 175

Total $ 4,995

The fiscal note on HB 2364 (the portion of the bill
dealing with the veterinary training program for rural Kansas)
indicates $400,000 from the State General Fund is
appropriated and expended annually for the program.
Removing the sunset date would extend expenditures for the
program indefinitely. The amount of those expenditures would
be subject to appropriations.
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