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Brief*

HB 2456 would create and amend law regarding tanning 
facilities and barber schools and colleges. 

The bill would create the Kansas Tanning Facilities Act 
and would prohibit a tanning facility from providing access to 
a tanning device to any individual under 18 years of age. In 
addition to or in place of disciplinary action currently allowed 
under  statute,  the  Board  of  Cosmetology  would  have 
authority to impose fines up to $250 against a tanning facility 
licensee for each violation. The Board of Cosmetology would 
be required to adopt rules and regulations under the Act, no 
later than January 1, 2017.

The bill also would amend the requirements for a barber 
school  or  college to be approved by the Kansas Board of 
Barbering (Board); the qualifications for a person to receive a 
license to practice barbering; the license renewal process for 
a  barber,  instructor,  or  operator  of  a  barber  shop  whose 
license has expired; the disciplinary procedures the Board is 
allowed to follow; and the Board’s duties to include increased 
authority.

The  bill  would  amend  the  requirements  for  a  barber 
school or college to be approved by the Board by changing 
the  required  hours  for  graduation  to  a  minimum  of  1,200 
hours and a maximum of 1,500 hours and by eliminating the 
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period  of  time  an  instructor  must  be  a  licensed  practicing 
barber.

Under  the  bill,  barber  schools  or  colleges  would  be 
allowed to design courses of study for barbers who have not 
renewed their licenses for a period of at least three years, for 
students  who  have  failed  at  least  two  examinations 
conducted by the Board, or for other purposes as prescribed 
by the Board, including courses of study for professionals in 
related industries.

The bill  would  allow a  person to receive  a license to 
practice  barbering  if  such  person  has  been  certified  in  a 
related industry, such as barbering in any branch of the U.S. 
military service, and has completed a course of study in a 
licensed  Kansas  barber  college  or  school  or  has  been  a 
cosmetologist licensed by the Kansas Board of Cosmetology 
and has completed a course of study in a licensed Kansas 
barber college or school.

A barber, instructor, or operator of a barber shop whose 
license has been expired for a period of less than three years 
would be required to file a renewal application with the Board 
for  license  renewal.  A barber,  instructor,  or  operator  of  a 
barber shop whose license has been expired for a period of 
three years or more would be required to file an application 
for  reexamination  with  the  Board  for  license  renewal.  The 
Board would be allowed to issue the new license upon receipt 
of  the  application,  payment  of  fees,  and  passage  of 
reexamination, if applicable.

The Board would be allowed to censure, limit, condition, 
suspend,  revoke  or  refuse  to  issue,  reinstate,  or  renew a 
license  of  any  applicant  or  licensee  upon  proof  that  the 
applicant or licensee violated the provisions set forth in the 
statute  that  would  make a licensee or  applicant  subject  to 
discipline or would disqualify the licensee or applicant from 
practicing barbering. The bill  would  add to the  list  of  such 
provisions  having  been  convicted  of  any  felony  offense  or 
misdemeanor offense of a crime against persons or involving 
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illegal  drugs  as  determined  by  the  Board  in  rules  and 
regulations,  and  the  licensee  or  applicant  for  a  license  is 
unable to demonstrate to the Board’s satisfaction that such 
person  has  been  sufficiently  rehabilitated  to  warrant  the 
public trust. The Board also would have the authority to issue 
up to a $1,000 civil fine against a licensee for a violation of 
such provisions.

The  Board  would  have  the  authority  to  revoke  the 
license  of  any  licensee  who  voluntarily  surrenders  such 
person’s  or  entity’s  license  pending  investigation  of 
misconduct  or  while  charges  of  misconduct  against  the 
licensee are pending or anticipated. 

All  disciplinary  proceedings  would  be  conducted  in 
accordance  with  the  Kansas  Administrative  Procedure  Act. 
Additionally,  all  judicial  review  and  civil  enforcement  of 
agency  actions  would  be  in  accordance  with  the  Kansas 
Judicial Review Act.

The Board would be granted additional authority to issue 
a cease and desist order against any individual, operator, or 
licensee  if  the  Board  determined  that  such  individual, 
operator, or licensee has practiced without a valid license or 
engaged or  attempted to  engage in  any  act  or  practice  in 
violation of  the laws,  or  rules and regulations pertaining to 
barbering. 

Further, the Board would be granted additional authority 
to make an application to any court of competent jurisdiction 
for  an  order  enjoining  any  person  who  has  engaged  or 
attempted to engage in any act or practice in violation of the 
laws, or rules and regulations pertaining to barbering. Upon a 
showing  by  the  Board  that  such  person  has  engaged  or 
attempted to engage in any such act or practice, the Court 
would  be  required  to  issue,  without  bond,  an  injunction, 
restraining order, or such other order as may be appropriate.
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Conference Committee Action

The Conference Committee agreed to the following:

● Delete contents of HB 2456 (contents moved to HB 
2516, for additional information see CCRB on HB 
2516);

● Insert  contents  of  HB  2369  as  passed  by  the 
House, change the rules and regulations authority 
from permissive to mandatory, and insert January 
1,  2017,  as  a  deadline  for  the  Board  of 
Cosmetology to adopt rules and regulations; and

● Insert  contents  of  HB  2471  as  passed  by  the 
House.

Background

[Note:  HB  2456  originally  related  to  the  Interstate 
Medical  Licensure  Compact;  those  provisions  have  been 
addressed in another Conference Committee report. Further 
information  on  provisions  contained  in  this  Conference 
Committee report are described below.]

HB 2369 Background

HB 2369  was  introduced  during  the  2015  Legislative 
Session by the House Committee on Appropriations. At the 
2016  hearing  before  the  House  Committee  on  Health  and 
Human Services, testimony in favor of the bill was provided 
by representatives of the University of Kansas Cancer Center, 
a surgical oncologist and representative of the Commission 
on Cancer, and two private citizens. Representatives of the 
University of Kansas Cancer Center and the Commission on 
Cancer testified that exposure to ultraviolet (UV) light during 
childhood  and  teenage  years  results  in  a  higher  risk  of 
developing skin cancer as an adult, with an increased risk of 
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malignant melanoma when a person utilizes a tanning device 
before the age of 35. Both representatives noted the World 
Health Organization’s International Agency for Research on 
Cancer listed UV radiation and indoor tanning beds as a class 
I  carcinogen.  Both  private  citizens  testified  about  being 
diagnosed with melanoma and stated the use of a tanning 
bed in their youth was a contributing factor to their diagnoses. 

Written only testimony in favor of the bill was provided 
by representatives of  the American Cancer Society Cancer 
Action Network, American College of Surgeons, the Kansas 
Chapter of American Academy of Pediatricians, Kansas City 
Medical  Society,  Kansas  City  Surgical  Society,  Kansas 
Medical Society, Kansas School Nurses Association, Kansas 
Society  of  Eye  Physicians  and  Surgeons,  and  two  private 
citizens. 

Testimony  in  opposition  to  the  bill  was  presented  by 
representatives  of  the  American  Suntanning  Association. 
(One  representative  provided  oral-only  testimony.)  The 
representatives  testified  that  the  legislation  is  unnecessary 
due  to  a  rule  proposed  by  the  U.S.  Food  and  Drug 
Administration (FDA) prohibiting the use of tanning devices in 
salons  by  clients  under  the  age  of  18,  and  neither  this 
legislation nor the proposed federal rule addresses teenage 
access of unsupervised tanning devices at gyms, apartment 
complexes, or in homes. 

Written-only  neutral  testimony  was  provided  by  a 
representative  of  the  Kansas  Department  of  Health  and 
Environment.  The  testimony  provided  data  on  skin  cancer 
and behavioral data of high school students as it relates to 
indoor tanning device use. 

According to the fiscal note prepared by the Division of 
the Budget on HB 2369 during the 2015 Legislative Session, 
the Board indicates additional revenues would be generated 
by the fine established in the bill.  The amount of additional 
revenues  cannot  be  estimated,  as  the  Board  is  unable  to 
estimate the number of violations that would occur if HB 2369 
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were enacted. Any fiscal effect associated with HB 2369 was 
not reflected in The FY 2016 Governor’s Budget Report. 

HB 2471 Background

At the House Committee on Health and Human Services 
hearing on HB 2471, the administrator for the Board testified 
in favor of the bill stating the proposed changes would enable 
the  Board  to  achieve  its  goals  to  effectively  protect  the 
consuming  public  and  effectively  supervise  the  barbering 
industry. There was no other testimony provided. 

According to the fiscal note prepared by the Division of 
the Budget, the Board states enactment of HB 2471 would 
increase  revenues  and  expenditures  for  the  agency. 
Revenues  would  increase  due  to  licensing  for  four  new 
barbering schools, $2,250 in FY 2016 and $4,500 in FY 2017, 
and the expenditures could be paid out of existing resources. 
Any fiscal effect associated with the HB 2471 not reflected in 
The FY 2017 Governor’s Budget Report.
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