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CONFERENCE COMMITTEE REPORT
MADAM PRESIDENT and MR. SPEAKER: Your committee on conference on Senate
amendments to HB 2696 submits the following report:
The House accedes to all Senate amendments to the bill, and your committee on conference
further agrees to amend the bill as printed with Senate Committee amendments, as follows:
On page 1, following line 5, by inserting:

"New Section 1. (a) There is hereby created in the state treasury, the Kansas highway
patrol staffing and training fund. Moneys credited to the Kansas highway patrol staffing and
training fund shall be used by the highway patrol for increasing employment and retaining
personnel at the highway patrol and for no other purpose. All expenditures from the Kansas
highway patrol staffing and training fund shall be made in accordance with appropriation acts
upon warrants of the director of accounts and reports issued pursuant to vouchers approved by
the superintendent of the highway patrol.

(b) The moneys credited to the fund created in subsection (a) shall be used for the
purposes set forth in this section and for no other governmental purposes. It is the intent of the
legislature that the moneys deposited in this fund shall remain intact and inviolate for the
purposes set forth in this section.

New Sec. 2. In addition to any registration fee prescribed under article 1 of chapter 8 of
the Kansas Statutes Annotated, and amendments thereto, all applicants for vehicle registration
shall pay at the time of registration a nonrefundable Kansas highway patrol staffing and training
surcharge in the amount of $2 for each vehicle being registered.

New Sec. 3. In addition to any registration fee prescribed under article 1 of chapter 8 of
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the Kansas Statutes Annotated, and amendments thereto, all applicants for vehicle registration
shall pay, at the time of registration, a nonrefundable law enforcement training center surcharge
in the amount of $1.25 for each vehicle being registered.

Sec. 4. K.S.A. 2015 Supp. 8-145 is hereby amended to read as follows: 8-145. (a) All
registration and certificates of title fees shall be paid to the county treasurer of the county in
which the applicant for registration resides or has an office or principal place of business within
this state, and the county treasurer shall issue a receipt in triplicate, on blanks furnished by the
division of vehicles, one copy of which shall be filed in the county treasurer's office, one copy
shall be delivered to the applicant and the original copy shall be forwarded to the director of
vehicles.

(b) The county treasurer shall deposit $.75 of each license application, $.75 out of each
application for transfer of license plate and $2 out of each application for a certificate of title,
collected by such treasurer under this act, in a special fund, which fund is hereby appropriated
for the use of the county treasurer in paying for necessary help and expenses incidental to the
administration of duties in accordance with the provisions of this law and extra compensation to
the county treasurer for the services performed in administering the provisions of this act, which
compensation shall be in addition to any other compensation provided by any other law, except
that the county treasurer shall receive as additional compensation for administering the motor
vehicle title and registration laws and fees, a sum computed as follows: The county treasurer,
during the month of December, shall determine the amount to be retained for extra compensation
not to exceed the following amounts each year for calendar year 2006 or any calendar year

thereafter: The sum of $110 per hundred registrations for the first 5,000 registrations; the sum of



-3- cer_ 2016_hb2696 s 4293
$90 per hundred registrations for the second 5,000 registrations; the sum of $5 per hundred for
the third 5,000 registrations; and the sum of $2 per hundred registrations for all registrations
thereafter. In no event, however, shall any county treasurer be entitled to receive more than
$15,000 additional annual compensation.

If more than one person shall hold the office of county treasurer during any one calendar
year, such compensation shall be prorated among such persons in proportion to the number of
weeks served. The total amount of compensation paid the treasurer together with the amounts
expended in paying for other necessary help and expenses incidental to the administration of the
duties of the county treasurer in accordance with the provisions of this act, shall not exceed the
amount deposited in such special fund. Any balance remaining in such fund at the close of any
calendar year shall be withdrawn and credited to the general fund of the county prior to June 1 of
the following calendar year.

(c) The county treasurer shall remit the remainder of all such fees collected, together
with the original copy of all applications, to the secretary of revenue. The secretary of revenue
shall remit all such fees remitted to the state treasurer in accordance with the provisions of
K.S.A. 75-4215, and amendments thereto. Upon receipt of each such remittance, the state
treasurer shall deposit the entire amount in the state treasury to the credit of the state highway
fund, except as provided in subsection (d).

(d) (1) Three dollars and fifty cents of each certificate of title fee collected and remitted
to the secretary of revenue, shall be remitted to the state treasurer who shall credit such $3.50 to
the Kansas highway patrol motor vehicle fund. Three dollars of each certificate of title fee

collected and remitted to the secretary of revenue, shall be remitted to the state treasurer who



-4- cer_ 2016_hb2696 s 4293
shall credit such $3 to the VIPS/CAMA technology hardware fund.

(2) For repossessed vehicles, $3 of each certificate of title fee collected and remitted to
the secretary of revenue, shall be remitted to the state treasurer who shall credit such $3 to the
repossessed certificates of title fee fund.

(3) Three dollars and fifty cents of each reassignment form fee collected and remitted to
the secretary of revenue, shall be remitted to the state treasurer who shall credit such $3.50 to the
Kansas highway patrol motor vehicle fund. Three dollars of each reassignment form fee
collected and remitted to the secretary of revenue, shall be remitted to the state treasurer who
shall credit such $3 to the VIPS/CAMA technology hardware fund.

(4) Until January 1, 2013, $4 of each division of vehicles modernization surcharge
collected and remitted to the secretary of revenue, shall be remitted to the state treasurer who
shall credit such $4 to the division of vehicles modernization fund, on and after January 1, 2013,
the state treasurer shall credit such $4 to the state highway fund.

5) Two dollars of each Kansas highway patrol staffing and training surcharge collected

and remitted to the secretary of revenue, shall be remitted to the state treasurer who shall credit

such $2 to the Kansas highway patrol staffing and training fund.

6) One dollar and twenty-five cents of each law enforcement training center surcharge

collected and remitted to the secretary of revenue. shall be remitted to the state treasurer who

shall credit such $1.25 to the law enforcement training center fund.

Sec. 5. K.S.A. 2015 Supp. 74-5619 is hereby amended to read as follows: 74-5619. (a)
(1) There is hereby created in the state treasury the law enforcement training center fund. All

moneys credited to such fund under the provisions of this act or any other law shall be expended
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only for the purpose and in the manner prescribed by law.

(2) All moneys received for assessments as provided pursuant to K.S.A. 74-5607, and
amendments thereto, shall be remitted to the state treasurer in accordance with the provisions of
K.S.A. 75-4215, and amendments thereto. Upon receipt of each such remittance, the state
treasurer shall deposit the entire amount in the state treasury to the credit of the law enforcement
training center fund.

(b) There is hereby created in the state treasury the Kansas commission on peace
officers' standards and training fund. All moneys credited to such fund under the provisions of
this act or any other law shall be expended only for the purpose of the operation of the
commission to carry out its powers and duties as mandated by law. The director may apply for
and receive public or private grants, gifts and donations of money for the commission. All
moneys received from grants, gifts and donations shall be remitted to the state treasurer in
accordance with the provisions of K.S.A. 75-4215, and amendments thereto. Upon receipt of
each such remittance, the state treasurer shall deposit the entire amount in the state treasury to
the credit of the Kansas commission on peace officers' standards and training fund.

(c) The moneys credited to the funds created in subsections (a) and (b) shall be used for

the purposes set forth in this section and for no other governmental purposes. It is the intent of

the legislature that the moneys deposited in these funds shall remain intact and inviolate for the

purposes set forth in this section.

(d) This section shall be part of and supplemental to the Kansas law enforcement
training act.

Sec. 6. K.S.A. 12-4112 is hereby amended to read as follows: 12-4112. No person shall
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be assessed costs for the administration of justice in any municipal court case, except for:

(a) Witness fees and mileage as set forth in K.S.A. 12-4411, and amendments thereto;

(b) fer—the assessment required by K.S.A.—200+—Supp—206-tald 12-4116, and
amendments thereto;for-thejudietal-branch-edueationfund:

(c) ferthe assessment required by K.S.A. 12-4117, and amendments thereto;fer-thelaw

IS A1P2-4H 7 and-amendments thereto; and

(d) fer-the assessment required by K.S.A. 12-16,119, and amendments thereto;—fer-the

Sec. 7. K.S.A. 2015 Supp. 12-4117 is hereby amended to read as follows: 12-4117. (a)
In each case filed in municipal court other than a nonmoving traffic violation, where there is a
finding of guilty or a plea of guilty, a plea of no contest, forfeiture of bond or a diversion, a sum
in an amount 0f~$26 $22.50 shall be assessed and such assessment shall be credited as follows:

One dollar to the local law enforcement training reimbursement fund established pursuant
to K.S.A. 74-5620, and amendments thereto, $11.50 to the law enforcement training center fund
established pursuant to K.S.A. 74-5619, and amendments thereto,—$2-50_85 to the Kansas
commission on peace officers' standards and training fund established by K.S.A. 74-5619, and
amendments thereto, $2 to the juvenile detention facilities fund established pursuant to K.S.A.
79-4803, and amendments thereto, to be expended for operational costs of facilities for the

detention of juveniles, $.50 to the protection from abuse fund established pursuant to K.S.A. 74-
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7325, and amendments thereto, $.50 to the crime victims assistance fund established pursuant to
K.S.A. 74-7334, and amendments thereto, $1 to the trauma fund established pursuant to K.S.A.
2015 Supp. 75-5670, and amendments thereto, and $1 to the department of corrections forensic
psychologist fund established pursuant to K.S.A. 2015 Supp. 75-52,151, and amendments
thereto.

(b) The judge or clerk of the municipal court shall remit the appropriate assessments
received pursuant to this section to the state treasurer in accordance with the provisions of K.S.A.
75-4215, and amendments thereto. Upon receipt of each such remittance, the state treasurer shall
deposit the entire amount in the state treasury to the credit of the local law enforcement training
reimbursement fund, the law enforcement training center fund, the Kansas commission on peace
officers' standards and training fund, the juvenile detention facilities fund, the crime victims
assistance fund, the trauma fund and the department of corrections forensic psychologist fund as
provided in this section.

(c) For the purpose of determining the amount to be assessed according to this section,
if more than one complaint is filed in the municipal court against one individual arising out of
the same incident, all such complaints shall be considered as one case.";

On page 8, in line 25, before the first "K.S.A." by inserting "K.S.A. 12-4112 and"; also in
line 25, after "Supp." by inserting "8-145, 12-4117,"; also in line 25, after "22-2401a" by
inserting ", 74-5619"; in line 27, by striking "Kansas register" and inserting "statute book";

And by renumbering sections accordingly;

On page 1, in the title, in line 1, after "enforcement;" by inserting "creating the Kansas

highway patrol staffing and training fund; relating to the law enforcement training center fund
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and the commission on peace officers' standards and training fund; vehicle registration fees;
municipal court assessments;" in line 2, after "amending" by inserting "K.S.A. 12-4112 and";
also in line 2, after "Supp." by inserting "8-145, 12-4117,"; also in line 2, after "22-2401a" by
inserting ", 74-5619";

And your committee on conference recommends the adoption of this report.

Conferees on part of Senate

Conferees on part of House



