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The regulations before the committee are those proposed for the implementation of the
electronic cigarette taxes as prescribed by K.S.A. 79-3399:

79-3399. Tax on electronic cigarettes imposed; rates; inventory tax. (a) On and
after Juhy-1,-2016, January 1, 2017, a tax is hereby imposed upon the privilege of
selling or dealing in electronic cigarettes in this state by any person engaged in
business as a distributor thereof, at the rate of $.20 per milliliter of consumable
material for electronic cigarettes and a proportionate tax at the like rate on all
fractional parts thereof. For electronic cigarettes in the possession of retail
dealers for which tax has not been paid, tax shall be imposed under this
subsection at the earliest time the retail dealer: (1) Brings or causes to be brought
into this state from without the state electronic cigarettes for sale; (2) makes,
manufactures or fabricates electronic cigarettes in this state for sale in this state;
or (3) sells electronic cigarettes to consumers within this state.

(b) The secretary of revenue shall adopt rules and regulations to implement the
provisions of this section.

The Kansas Legislature enacted imposing the tax effective July 1, 2016 during the 2015
session and subsequently in House Substitute for Senate Bill 149 approved by the Governor May
11, 2016 delayed its implementation 6 months. This law was enacted as part of a conference
committee report and was never separately voted upon by either Chamber (contrary to the joint
rules). Thus the law did not address many issues that the regulation propose to address.
Unfortunately the regulation exceed matters set forth in the statute, such as the definition of
“consumable material.”
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The Notice for the hearing now planned for February 20, 2017 was in the Register
December 22, 2016. However, as of today’s date the regulations are still not available to the
public on the Kansas Dept. of Revenue website, which means there has not been the required 60
days notice.

The difficulty with the department’s definition is that when a 5 ml container of nicotine
liquid AND “other material” is taxed at 20 cents per ml that generates $1.00 in tax. Whereas,
the nicotine therein does not exceed 1/10™ of that volume such that under a proper definition the
tax to be collected would be ten (10) cents.

Thus the legislature should revisit this statute and enact the definitions. Otherwise, where
an agency regulation exceeds the statutory authority of the agency and conflicts with an
applicable statute, the regulation is invalid and void. See Ruddick v. Boeing Co., 263 Kan. 494,
500, 949 P. 2d 1132(1997); Cray v. Kennedy, 230 Kan. 663, 676, 640 P.2d 1219 (1982).

The Economic Impact Statement attached to the December 13, 2016 submission is
wholly inadequate. There is no indication as to the cost to the industry regarding the time and
expense required to comply with the regulations.

The state’s own manual on preparing regulations and related documents ? provides:

The economic impact statement must include the following items:

() A brief description of the proposed regulation and its intended effect;

! Subsequent to the initial statement, minor amendments were made, but they do not cure the defects noted.
2 SEE also: Policy and Procedure Manual, State of Kansas, Sept. 2016 at https://admin.ks.gov/docs/default-

source/Chief-Counsel/reg-manual-final-draft-sept-2016
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(2)(A) Whether or not the proposed regulation is mandated by federal law as a
requirement for participating in or implementing a federally subsidized or assisted
program; and (B) whether or not the proposed regulation exceeds the requirements
of applicable federal law;

(3) a description of the cost, the persons who will bear the cost, and those who will
be affected by the proposed regulation, including the following:

(A) The agency proposing the regulation;

(B) other governmental agencies or units;

(C) “small employers” (see K.S.A. 77-415 and 77-416);

(D) private citizens; and

(E) consumers of the products or services that are the subject of the regulation or
its enforcement; and

(4) a description of any less costly or less intrusive methods that were considered
by the state agency for achieving the stated purpose of the regulation and the
reason that those methods were rejected in favor of the proposed regulation. See
K.S.A. 77-416.

The statement provided does not contain adequate information to meet these criteria,
particularly as it relates to items (3) (C),(D) or (E).

Agencies are advised that:

“ The economic impact statement is often of great interest to parties affected by
the regulation, as well as to the Joint Committee on Administrative Rules and
Regulations. Moreover, the process of evaluating the economic impact of a
proposed regulation may reveal significant policy issues that agencies need to
consider before the regulations are in final form. Therefore, agencies should take
care in developing economic impact statements so that they are as comprehensive
and informative as possible, given data that is available to the agency.

Think broadly when trying to identify potential economic impacts of proposed
regulations. Consider whether or not there are less obvious, indirect economic
impacts or hidden costs. For example, the economic impact of an increase in the
number of continuing education units required for renewal of a license would
clearly involve registration costs for the additional training. However, the increase
in required continuing education is likely to have a number of other less obvious
costs, including travel costs and lost productivity due to time away from work.

R.E. “Tuck” Duncan, Attorney at Law LLC
Attorney for Kansas Vapers Association



While it is preferable to develop dollar estimates of the economic impact,
agencies may not always have adequate data to do so. In those instances, be sure

to describe the nature and anticipated extent of the economic impact.” (Page 9,
Policy Manual)®

It is clear from a review of the statement that in this case the Department ignored this
admonition. For example since the initial announcement of these proposed regulations three (3)
vapers businesses in Kansas have moved to adjoining states and several others have closed.
Those possible consequences are not mentioned in the statement.

We also understand that the Department needs to seek clarifying legislation regarding
enforcement, so we hope the Agency and Industry can work together to resolve these issues.

Thank you for your attention to these matters.

® SEE also: Policy and Procedure Manual, State of Kansas, Sept. 2016 at https://admin.ks.gov/docs/default-
source/Chief-Counsel/reg-manual-final-draft-sept-2016
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