
Mistreatment of a Dependent Adult or Elder Person—Definitions, Penalties, 
Defense; Sureties and Appearance Bonds—Unlawful Sexual Relations, Own 
Recognizance Bonds, Felony Disqualification, Out-of-State Sureties; Kansas 
RICO Act—Culpability, Racketeering Activity Crimes; Attorney General—
Appellate Costs; SB 256

SB 256 amends  law related to  mistreatment  of  a  dependent  adult  or  elder  person, 
sureties and appearance bonds, the Kansas Racketeer Influenced and Corrupt Organization 
(RICO) Act, and costs of appellate representation by the Attorney General.

Mistreatment of a Dependent Adult or Elder Person

The bill amends the statute governing the crime of mistreatment of a dependent adult by:

● Rewriting  the  means  of  committing  the  crime  that  involves  taking  unfair 
advantage  of  a  dependent  adult’s  resources  so  that  the  means  involve  the 
wrongful taking of personal property or financial resources of a dependent adult 
for the benefit of the defendant or another person by taking control, title, use, or 
management  of  personal  property  or  financial  resources  through  various 
prohibited techniques or influences or without adequate consideration, through a 
violation  of  the  Kansas  Power  of  Attorney  Act,  or  through  a  violation  of  the 
Kansas Uniform Trust Code; 

● Creating the crime “mistreatment of an elder person,” which could be committed 
by  any  of  the  means  by  which  mistreatment  of  a  dependent  adult  may  be 
committed, except for infliction of physical injury, unreasonable confinement, or 
unreasonable punishment;

● Defining “elder person,” as a person 70 years of age or older;

● Establishing the same tiered penalties for mistreatment of an elder person as 
exist for mistreatment of a dependent adult, with the following exceptions with 
regard to taking the personal property or financial resources of an elder person:

○ Taking  of  property  or  resources  valued  at  least  $5,000  but  less  than 
$25,000 is a severity level 7, person felony;

○ Taking  of  property  or  resources  valued  less  than  $5,000  is  a  class  A 
person  misdemeanor,  unless  the  offender  has  been  convicted  of  the 
same crime two or more times within the previous five years, in which 
case is a severity level 7, person felony (The comparable penalties for 
mistreatment of a dependent adult are a severity level 7, person felony for 
values  of  at  least  $1,000  but  less  than  $25,000  and  a  class  A 
misdemeanor  for  values  less  than  $1,000,  or  severity  level  7,  person 
felony if the same previous conviction provision is met.);
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● Establishing an affirmative defense to prosecution for the taking of property or 
resources from a dependent adult or elder person that the property or resources 
were given as a gift  consistent  with  a pattern of  gift  giving  before the victim 
became vulnerable, that the property or resources were conferred as a gift to the 
benefit  of  a  person  or  class  of  persons  and  was  reasonable  under  the 
circumstances, or that a court approved the transaction; and

● Defining “adequate consideration.”

Sureties and Appearance Bonds

The bill  amends the crime of  unlawful  sexual  relations  by adding a provision  which 
prohibits a surety or an employee of a surety from engaging in sexual relations with a person at 
least 16 years of age who is the subject of a surety or bail bond agreement with such surety 
when the offender knows the person is the subject of such surety or bail bond agreement. This 
provision will be a severity level 5, person felony.

The bill amends bail provisions for certain drug offenses that require at least $50,000 
cash or surety to allow any person arrested and charged for these offenses to be released upon 
the person’s own recognizance if the court determines, on the record, that the defendant is not 
likely to reoffend, the court imposes pretrial supervision, or the defendant agrees to participate 
in a licensed or  certified drug treatment program. The bill  amends similar  bail  provisions in 
criminal street gang and RICO statutes to allow release upon the person’s own recognizance if 
the court determines, on the record, that the defendant is not likely to reoffend, an appropriate 
intensive pretrial supervision program is available, and the defendant agrees to comply with the 
mandate of such pretrial supervision.

The bill prohibits a person convicted of any felony in the person’s lifetime from acting as 
a surety or as an agent of a surety. Formerly, only a person convicted of a person felony within 
the past ten years fell under this prohibition.

The bill requires an out-of-state surety or agent of a surety to contract with a Kansas 
surety  or  agent  of  a  surety  before  attempting  to  apprehend  a  person  in  Kansas  and  be 
accompanied by the Kansas surety or agent during the apprehension.

The  bill  also  updates  agency  references  to  reflect  current  agency  authority  and 
responsibilities. 

RICO

The bill amends statutes in the Kansas RICO Act to specify the culpability requirement 
for a violation of the RICO Act is “recklessly.” A person covered by the RICO Act will not violate 
the Act itself through the collection of an unlawful debt if the person did not participate in the 
illegal activity creating the debt. 

The bill also amends the RICO Act definitions statute to update the names of certain 
crimes  listed  under  “racketeering  activity”  and  to  add  the  crime  of  commercial  sexual 
exploitation of a child to this list.
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Attorney General Appellate Costs

The bill amends the statute allowing the Attorney General to invoke the assistance of 
county or district attorneys on criminal appeals to allow the reasonable costs of representation 
by the Attorney General  to be paid by the board of  county commissioners from the county 
general fund, pursuant to an agreement with the Attorney General, changed from allowing only 
the payment of the costs of assistance provided by the county’s county or district attorney. The 
Attorney General is allowed to publish a schedule of costs for services provided by the Attorney 
General, not to exceed the statutory rate of compensation for attorneys appointed to represent 
indigent  persons  (currently  $80  per  hour).  The  Attorney  General  is  allowed  to  enter  into 
agreements  with  county  or  district  attorneys  for  the  payment  of  such  costs,  which  could 
supersede the schedule of  costs.  The bill  directs any moneys paid to the Attorney General 
under this section to the Criminal Appeals Cost Fund, created by the bill. The Attorney General 
is permitted to use this fund to represent the interests of the state in criminal appeals and post-
conviction proceedings.
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