
Tax Provisions—Court of Tax Appeals; Property Tax Valuation; Delinquent 
Property Taxes; House Sub. for SB 231

House  Sub.  for  SB  231  makes  a  number  of  changes  in  the  power,  duties,  and 
functions of  the State Court  of  Tax Appeals  (COTA),  especially  with  regard to property tax 
valuation appeals; renames that body the State Board of Tax Appeals (BOTA); makes several 
changes with respect to how property may be valued for taxation purposes; and lowers the 
interest rate on delinquent property taxes.

Changes in COTA/BOTA Procedures

A requirement that final orders regarding property tax cases be rendered in writing and 
served within 120 days after matters have been finally submitted is replaced with a provision 
requiring a written summary decision be rendered and served within 14 days. Extensions from 
this deadline can continue to be granted pursuant to the written consent of all parties or for good 
cause shown. An aggrieved party, within 14 days of having received the summary decision, can 
request a full and complete BOTA opinion within 90 days. Failure of BOTA to comply with the 
14-day or 90-day requirements, absent agreement by the parties or good cause shown, results 
in all filing fees being returned to the taxpayer.

Aggrieved persons have the right to appeal final orders of BOTA to a district court or the 
Kansas Court of Appeals, rather than only to the Court of Appeals. Any appeal made to a district 
court will be a de novo trial. All such appeals to district courts will be conducted by the court with 
jurisdiction in which the property is located; or, if the property in question is located in multiple 
counties, the appellants have the option of choosing which district court will hear the appeal. A 
requirement  that  bonds be given of  up  to 125 percent  of  taxes  assessed when reviews of 
property tax cases are being sought is repealed.

A new provision stipulates that one member of BOTA be a licensed and certified general 
real property appraiser. Additional language limits to 90 days after the expiration of members’ 
terms the maximum amount of time they could continue to serve.

A requirement that those appeals decided by COTA (BOTA) deemed to be “of sufficient 
importance” be published is replaced with a new mandate that all appeals be made available to 
the public and published on the body’s website within 30 days. A monthly report on all appeals 
decided,  as  well  as  all  of  those  that  have  not  yet  been  decided  and  are  beyond  the new 
statutory deadlines, is required to be made available to the public and transmitted to all 165 
members of the Kansas Legislature.

An additional provision declares legislative intent that all proceedings in front of BOTA be 
conducted  in  a  fair  and  impartial  manner,  and  that  all  taxpayers  be  entitled  to  a  neutral 
interpretation of state tax laws. BOTA is prohibited from deciding cases based upon arguments 
concerning the shifting of tax burdens or upon revenue losses or gains.

Relative to the cases in the small claims division, the chief hearing officer is prohibited 
from appointing any persons employed by BOTA as hearing officers. The maximum amount of 
appraised valuation above which cases cannot be considered in the small claims division is 
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increased from $2 million to $3 million. Additional language clarifies that notices of appeal to the 
small claims division can be signed by either taxpayers or their authorized representatives.

In cases involving leased commercial and industrial property, taxpayers bear the burden 
of  proof  unless  they have  furnished  county appraisers  with  complete  income and  expense 
statements for the property, within 30 calendar days on forms regularly maintained by taxpayers 
in the ordinary course of  business for  the three years prior  to the appeal year  in question. 
Single-property appraisals  involving leased commercial  and industrial  property submitted by 
taxpayers with an effective date of January 1 are deemed to return the burden of proof to county 
appraisers.

The salaries of members and the chief hearing officer who are newly appointed after 
June 30, 2014, will be set at the same amounts paid to administrative law judges until such time 
as the continuing education requirements have been met, at which point the salaries will be 
$2,465 less per year than amounts paid to a Chief Judge of the district court. (The current COTA 
Chief  Judge receives the salary equal  to that  of  a district  court’s Chief  Judge;  other COTA 
judges and the chief hearing officer receive salaries $2,465 per year below that level.)

Additional provisions prohibit BOTA from determining who may sign appeals forms, who 
may  represent  taxpayers,  what  constitutes  the  unauthorized  practice  of  law,  and  whether 
contingency fee agreements are a violation of public policy.  BOTA further is prohibited from 
impeding any agreement or settlement between a county and a taxpayer.

Relative to cases involving residential  real  estate and commercial  and industrial  real 
property,  appraisals  made  by  counties  are  required  to  be  released  through  the  discovery 
process  to  taxpayers  or  their  representatives.  Taxpayers  in  such  cases  submitting  single-
property appraisals with an effective date of January 1 that have been conducted by certified 
general real property appraisers and for which valuations are less than the amounts determined 
by the county mass appraisals are entitled to have the qualifying single-property appraisals 
accepted into evidence at BOTA.

New language stipulates filing fees can no longer be charged to taxpayers who have 
filed appeals  for  a previous year  that  have not  been decided under the new statutory time 
deadlines, to taxpayers filing in most cases involving single-family residential property, and for 
cases of not-for-profit organizations with property valued at less than $100,000. An additional 
provision exempts municipalities and political subdivisions from all filing fees.

A statutory requirement that a request for reconsideration of final COTA orders be filed 
before seeking judicial review is eliminated.

Property Tax Valuation System Changes

A requirement that appraisals be performed in accordance with certain standards of the 
Appraisal Foundation in effect as of March 1, 1992, is amended such that the specific date is 
repealed, effectively requiring all appraisals to be performed prospectively in accordance with 
that Foundation’s most current standards.

The bill prohibits county appraisers from increasing the valuation for two years for certain 
real  property that  has had its value reduced by a final  determination made pursuant  to the 
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valuation appeals process, unless substantial and compelling reasons have been documented 
by the appraisers. “Substantial and compelling reasons” are defined generally either to include a 
change in  the use of  the property or  to include situations involving substantial  additions or 
improvements  to  the  property.  Additions  or  improvements  defined  as  substantial  include 
expansions or enlargements of the physical occupancy of the property or renovations of existing 
structures or improvements. Specifically excluded from the additions and improvements that can 
be considered substantial (and therefore be construed as a substantial and compelling reason 
to  increase  valuation)  are  maintenance  or  repair  of  existing  structures,  equipment  or 
improvements on that  property,  and reconstruction  or  replacement  of  existing  equipment  or 
components  of  any  existing  structures  or  improvements.  (The  law  had  prohibited  county 
appraisers from increasing certain valuations that have been reduced for one year absent the 
determination of substantial and compelling reasons, which had not been defined.)

Delinquent Property Tax Interest Rate Change

The interest rate for delinquent property taxes is reduced by 2.0 percent. The rate had 
been as otherwise determined statutorily by KSA 2013 Supp. 79-2968, plus 2.0 percent; the 
additional 2.0 percent is eliminated by the bill. (The property tax delinquency rate determined for 
tax year 2013, which was 6.0 percent, would have been 4.0 percent if this provision had been in 
effect for that tax year.)

Renaming

The bill replaces numerous statutory references to COTA with references to BOTA.
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