
Kansas Offender Registration Act; SB 20

SB 20 amends the Kansas Offender Registration Act to:

● Change the effective dates for registration requirements to reflect when various 
types of offenses originally were codified;

● Correct an inaccurate statutory reference to the crime of aggravated incest;

● Specify that persons convicted of involuntary manslaughter while driving under 
the influence are not required to register as this crime inadvertently was included 
when recodification of the criminal code placed the crime within the involuntary 
manslaughter section;

● Clarify registration requirements for  offenders in  the custody of  a  correctional 
facility  and  prior  to  the  offender  being  discharged,  paroled,  furloughed,  or 
released on work or school release;

● Strike language concerning “the duration of registration” that is unnecessary and 
has caused confusion as to how long an offender must register; 

● Provide that registration is complete even when the offender does not remit the 
registration fee, and failure to remit full payment within 15 days of registration is a 
class A misdemeanor or, if within 15 days of the most recent registration 2 or 
more full payments have not been remitted, a severity level 9, person felony; and

● Amend  requirements  for  providing  DNA samples  to  the  Kansas  Bureau  of 
Investigation to align the requirements with current KBI practices.
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