
Revised Juvenile Justice Code—Alternative Adjudication Procedure, Risk 
Assessment, Prosecution of a Juvenile as an Adult, Placement Matrix, Good 
Time; Revised Code for Care of Children—Placement in Juvenile Detention 
Facility, Permanent Custody Options; Youth Residential Centers; Senate Sub. 
for HB 2588

Senate Sub. for HB 2588 creates new law and amends existing statutes relating to 
juvenile placement, the Revised Kansas Juvenile Justice Code, and the Revised Kansas Code 
for Care of Children. 

Alternative Adjudication Procedure

The bill creates a new section in the Revised Kansas Juvenile Justice Code establishing 
an alternative adjudication procedure for misdemeanor-level juvenile offenses.

The bill states the Legislature’s findings that certain circumstances may lead to offenses 
by juveniles who are a minimal threat to public safety, and in such cases it would further the 
interests  of  society  and  the  juvenile  to  use  an  adjudication  approach  with  less  formal 
procedures,  appropriate disciplinary sanctions,  and provision of  necessary services.  The bill 
declares its purpose is to provide prosecutors with an alternative means of  adjudication for 
juvenile offenders who are a minimal threat to public safety, for the benefit of the juvenile and 
society.

The bill allows a county or district attorney with jurisdiction over a misdemeanor-level 
offense to designate  the  alleged offender  for  the  alternative adjudication either  through the 
original complaint or by written notice filed with the court and services on the juvenile, juvenile’s 
counsel, and juvenile’s parent or legal guardian within 14 days of filing the complaint. Filing of a 
written application for diversion tolls the running of the 14-day period and resumes upon written 
denial of diversion.

The bill specifies that the Revised Juvenile Justice Code applies in the adjudication, with 
the following exceptions:

● If  the court  determines during the proceeding that there is probable cause to 
believe the child is a child in need of care (CINC), the court shall refer the matter 
to the county or district attorney, who shall file a CINC petition. The court also 
must refer the family to the Department for Children and Families for services. If 
the  court  finds  the  juvenile  should  be  removed  from the  home,  the  court  is 
allowed  to  place  the  juvenile  in  the  temporary  custody  of  the  Secretary  for 
Children and Families or any person willing to accept temporary custody, other 
than the child’s parent. If the CINC case is presided over by a different judge, the 
county  or  district  attorney  is  required  to  notify  the  court  presiding  over  the 
proceeding under this section of pertinent orders in the CINC case;

● The court shall not commit the juvenile to a juvenile correctional facility for the 
offense or for a violation of a term or condition of disposition;
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● The adjudication or violation of the terms and conditions of disposition, including 
placement failure, may not be used against the juvenile in a proceeding for a 
subsequent juvenile or adult offense. “Used against the juvenile” is defined;

● Upon completion of the case and termination of the court’s jurisdiction, the court 
is  required to order the adjudication expunged.  The adjudication shall  not  be 
subject to provisions for retention in court files or law enforcement records, and 
other expungement requirements, limitations, and disclosure provisions shall not 
apply;

● The juvenile shall not be required to register as an offender as a result of the 
adjudication;

● The juvenile shall not be prosecuted as an adult or under extended jurisdiction 
juvenile provisions;

● Limitations on continued out-of-home placement shall not apply; and

● Trial under the alternative adjudication procedure would be to the court, and the 
right to trial by jury shall not apply.

The county or district attorney may withdraw the designation for alternative adjudication 
proceedings at any time prior to the beginning of a hearing at which the court could enter an 
order adjudicating the child as a juvenile offender, by providing notice to the court, the juvenile, 
the juvenile’s attorney and guardian ad litem, if any, and the juvenile’s parent or legal guardian. 
The section then would no longer apply; the case would proceed; and the court would be able to 
grant a continuance upon request.

An adjudication under this procedure is an appealable order under the Code.

Placement in Juvenile Detention Centers

The bill creates new law within the Revised Kansas Code for Care of Children prohibiting 
a child alleged or found to be a child in need of care from being placed in a juvenile detention 
facility, unless such placement is necessary to protect the safety of the child and is authorized 
under certain sections of the Code, or the child is also alleged to be a juvenile offender and 
such placement is authorized by certain provisions within the Revised Kansas Juvenile Justice 
Code.

Youth Residential Centers

The bill  also  creates  new law requiring  the  Secretary of  Corrections  to  take certain 
actions and report those actions to the House Committee on Corrections and Juvenile Justice, 
the Senate Committee on Federal and State Affairs, and the Joint Committee on Corrections 
and Juvenile Justice Oversight by January 15, 2015. The required actions include:
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● Conducting  a  cost  study  analysis  of  all  youth  residential  centers  (YRCs)  for 
juvenile offenders under contract with the Department of Corrections, including 
detailed  analysis  of  allowable  expenses  necessary  to  meet  certain  minimum 
requirements  and  identification  of  costs  associated  with  program  or  other 
expenses that  add value to services  provided to juvenile  offenders by YRCs 
beyond minimum requirements;

● Evaluating program needs within YRCs, comparing these needs with availability, 
and proposing modifications to align availability with needs;

● Developing a fee schedule for youth residential services, including daily payment 
rates for base services and rates for additions to base services;

● Developing a plan for performance-based incentive payment opportunities and a 
plan  for  integration  of  these  payment  opportunities  into  the  fee  schedule 
described above; and

● Developing  a  plan  to  measure  performance  and  evaluate  effectiveness  of 
juvenile offender service providers.

Removal of Secretary for Children and Families as a Permanent Custody Option

The bill amends the Revised Kansas Code for Care of Children to remove the Secretary 
for Children and Families as a permanent custody option upon the relinquishment of parental 
rights.

Amendments to the Revised Juvenile Justice Code

The bill requires that when a pre-sentence investigation and report from a court services 
officer is ordered by a court after adjudication, the report is required to include a summary of the 
results  from a standardized  risk  assessment  tool  or  instrument,  in  addition  to  the  contents 
required  under  existing  law.  The  statute  within  the  Kansas  Criminal  Code  establishing  the 
Correctional Supervision Fund is amended to allow moneys from the Fund to be used for the 
implementation of and training for use of a statewide, mandatory, standardized risk assessment 
tool or instrument for juveniles adjudicated to be juvenile offenders and for juvenile offender 
supervision programs. 

The bill prohibits the prosecution of any juvenile less than 12 years of age as an adult.

The  placement  matrix  category  of  serious  offender  II  is  amended  to  include  only 
offenders adjudicated for an offense which would constitute a nondrug severity level 7, person 
felony with one prior felony adjudication. Under previous law this category also included severity 
levels 8, 9, and 10. The bill places severity levels 8, 9, and 10 within a new category designated 
“serious offender III.” 

The placement matrix options for the category of serious offender III are the same as 
those for serious offender II, except offenders within the category of serious offender III may be 
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committed to a juvenile correctional facility only if the judge conducts a departure hearing and 
finds substantial and compelling reasons to impose a departure sentence. The bill amends the 
placement  matrix  options  for  all  levels  of  chronic  offenders  to  include  the  same departure 
provision.

Finally,  provisions  excluding  juvenile  offenders  serving  minimum-term  placement 
sentences imposed under the placement matrix from the “good time” system are removed.
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